Likes Likes:  5

Club fortunes synchronised with personal fortunes.

Anyone else find that your personal fortunes follow the team's?
    Funny about that and a bit of a challenge to discuss.
    Good week when we win but now I am exploring personal low points after what I think is a self inflicted tragedy for our club.

Seriously low but learning heaps.
    Footscray Football Republic.

2. Likes 1eyedog liked this post

Re: Club fortunes synchronised with personal fortunes.

Quote Originally Posted by BornInDroopSt'54 View Post
    Good week when we win but now I am exploring personal low points after what I think is a self inflicted tragedy for our club.

Hoping you're doing OK mate.

BIDS, take care mate. If you ever want a chat happy to have one with you.

Take care mate. Fortunes will turn around soon.

I used to do that BIDS, however post 2016 (covid not included that was an emotional sh1t show) I've found I can appreciate the game as much as the "winning". If we are beaten, and an opposition player really stands out I can enjoy that. Elliot Yeo and Tim Kelly are good examples from the WCE game.

I think lowering expectations is a good practise, so you can separate the self with the game. I'm also finding myself thinking. well it all starts again next year a lot these days too.

Take care mate - DM if you want to chat happy to do so.

It is depressing not being in the finals and all the harder when all the footy talk is about upcoming games.

Just have to stay strong and look forward to trading and drafting - well that is what I do.

Take care BIDS

Take care mate.

In the past I've pinned too much personal joy on the results of the team. I was only this morning thinking "well, I wish we were in the finals but I still can't wait for the finals to start!".

Hope things spin 180 for you mate.

It's actually quite fascinating how sports fans moods are so affected by results of their sports teams. Like something that doesn't really impact our lives at all. It's also something that I've tried to grapple. Something I have no control over and doesn't change my life should not have so much influence over my mood.

It's sometimes not easy but 2016 certainly helped. Ultimately the results of the Bulldogs means nothing in the grand scheme of things and I always try to keep that in mind when we've had a bad loss. Try to enjoy the ride. The ups and downs of it all. If 2016 taught us anything, it's that the highs are much more enjoyable because of the lows. But in the end, it's just a game for us fans.

Definitely take care BIDS.

I definitely resonate. However, whenever we have a bad loss or are not going well I just tell myself to focus on what I can actually control. I love the club and love the roller coaster of emotions it takes us all on. Revel in the good times, but remind myself when things are not going well that I can’t really impact the result. I put more energy into the things that I can control. Model https://discoveryinaction.com.au/cir...le-of-control/

Just a mind game I play with myself, but it helps.

Yeah 100% especially tonight because the first final is on. Gut wrenching really and very difficult to get over. Actually I think as supporters we just move through it as best we can rather than get over it and we look forward to the trade period, the draft and preseason and we build hope and belief around that and the promise of greener pastures for all of us in 2024.

I actually got really down when my u/12 side lost a Prelim last week after leading in the 3QT so it is a very natural feeling you're experiencing at the moment. Both Bont and Adz have asked us to stick fat and that's exactly what I'll do. We know we under-achieved but I believe the club is 100% confident this will turn around in 2024.

I'm expecting big things.