Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  9
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Re: Biggest scandals for each club?

Quote Originally Posted by Jeanette54 View Post
    If (much) older Bulldogs are to be believed there was an in-house scandal involving a certain player and another player's wife. Time frame the 1950's. I am to young to remember, but have heard it from several sources. Can't vouch for the authenticity.
    Wasn't this (allegedly) why the 1954 team didn't stay together?

There's also a similar story about two players in the early 2000's, one of whom was a 7 time best and fairest.
    It's one of the reasons. A champion player left the club in his prime and in a huff because of it. His departure would have been a major blow. Allegedly.

Yes I heard that too from pretty good authority.

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog4life View Post
    Yes I heard that too from pretty good authority.

Bobby Davis would have said that that situation was "fair dinkum unbelievable"

One out of the Box

5. Likes Twodogs liked this post

Up until it petered out.

7. Likes Bulldog4life liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog4life View Post
    Correct on both fronts.
    Why so coy? I think we're talking Ian Stewart NOT Bobby Skilton.
    As the story goes he was in drag, behind the wheel of a car in Flinders Lane? when he was approached by a policeman. I heard that he took off in a hurry and dragged the policeman across the Elizabeth St? intersection.
    I just don't know what happened after that.

Quote Originally Posted by Jeanette54 View Post
    If (much) older Bulldogs are to be believed there was an in-house scandal involving a certain player and another player's wife. Time frame the 1950's. I am to young to remember, but have heard it from several sources. Can't vouch for the authenticity.
    Didn't this happen in the late 90's also? Something to do with a migraine?

Quote Originally Posted by merantau View Post
    Why so coy? I think we're talking Ian Stewart NOT Bobby Skilton.
    As the story goes he was in drag, behind the wheel of a car in Flinders Lane? when he was approached by a policeman. I heard that he took off in a hurry and dragged the policeman across the Elizabeth St? intersection.
    I just don't know what happened after that.

It's why he quit as coach wasn't it? We have come a long way in 40 years.

Sure have. He could saddle up and get a game in AFLW these days.

That generation of Tasmanian football, Royce Hart is the best player I have seen, Stewart, Baldock, Crosswell, Verdun Howe and players of that quality. I can remember Darryl Baldock running around the boundary before the game bouncing a footy with each hand

Yes, they were players out of the top drawer. Throw in Bull Richardson too. An early exponent of creative, attacking handball. Big mistake not to have a team from Tassie.

and Peter Hudson

That's the one I couldn't think of. I knew there was one more. And Richo's old man.

Bob and Barry Pascoe were from Tassie I believe. Bob was at North and Barry was at St.Kilda from memory.

Who's our best Tasmanian! Simon Atkins? Steve McPherson? Alan Rait?