Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  8
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Re: Club Songs - AFL changing

New version does sound colder somehow. Difference between digital and analogue maybe?

2. Likes SonofScray liked this post

I might be one of the rare ones but i was thinking guitar or something would have replaced the trumpets etc.
    don't think they have updated it as such just maybe gone to digital.

Quote Originally Posted by ledge View Post
    I might be one of the rare ones but i was thinking guitar or something would have replaced the trumpets etc.
    don't think they have updated it as such just maybe gone to digital.
    I think the sound that really makes the classic Fable singers versions are the brass.

Geez G-mo, couldn't disagree more. I just love hearing all the original club songs rather than any pop/rock music at the footy.

And if they even consider scrapping the banners.........

Didn't mind this, much less of a car crash than the AFLW song

Quote Originally Posted by HOSE B ROMERO View Post
    Geez G-mo, couldn't disagree more. I just love hearing all the original club songs rather than any pop/rock music at the footy.

And if they even consider scrapping the banners.........

Back in the late 90s during the time we were playing our home games at Optus I was sitting with a mate waiting for the players to come out and the PA was playing doof-doof music! My mate leans over and says "I must have missed out on the free eccys they were handing out at the gate."

8. Likes bornadog, Eastdog liked this post

I don't get all the fuss and furore. Ours is only marginally different, and if we hear it lots it means we're winning. The clubs had the option of declining, most didn't.

Quote Originally Posted by boydogs View Post
    Didn't mind this, much less of a car crash than the AFLW song
    AFLW song is sung woefully

Yeah hard to tell if there's even a difference. Parts where I think it might be different could just be me looking for differences

Listening.

Listening.
    The other definition: to examine (a matter) and consider what action to take. Inspect ect

14. Thanks Twodogs thanked for this post

The club has announced we will keep the original version

16. Likes Doc26, hujsh, Twodogs liked this post

The club has announced we will keep the original version
    And burn every recording of the new version with petrol and fire?

Kane Cornes has ranked the AFL club songs.

Elite: Richmond, North Melbourne, GWS, Western Bulldogs.

Sub Elite
    : Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon.

Advanced
    : Brisbane, Hawthorn, Melbourne, West Coast.

Good
    : Sydney, St Kilda, Geelong.

Poor
    : Port Adelaide, Adelaide, Gold Coast.

Rotten
    : Fremantle.

Do you think he has got it right?

Swans is elite I reckon-there is a line about "shake the thunder down from the sky" that I have always liked, and it has a banjo in the middle 8!

Has Kane ever actually heard the cow *!*!*!*!ers theme song?

Hearts to hearts and hands to hands,
    Beneath the Blue and White we stand, we shout,
    God bless our native land North Melbourne, North Melbourne.
    Out we come, out we come,
    Out we come to play,
    We train so hard, we play the game,
    We must win every day.
    Lots of fun, heaps of fun, enjoy yourself today,
    North Melbourne's boys are hard to beat,
    When they come out to play.
    So join in the chorus and sing it one and all,
    Join in the chorus; North Melbourne's on the ball.
    Good old North Melbourne, they're champions you'll agree,
    North Melbourne is the team that plays to win for you and me!