Thanks Thanks:  8
Likes Likes:  136
Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415 LastLast

Re: Why are the Demons still so piss weak in 2018?

They haven't beaten anyone in the top 9 all season and yet have a percentage over 130. They know how to beat up on the weaklings but always fall short of the mark against the better teams.
    They remind me of our 05-10 sides. Great home & away scoring power but an inch short in the big games

They haven't beaten anyone in the top 9 all season and yet have a percentage over 130. They know how to beat up on the weaklings but always fall short of the mark against the better teams.

If you look up Flat Track Bully in the dictionary they just have a picture of the Melbourne squad. It used to be a picture of Matthew Hayden but he learned how to use his feet to spinners so they had to find something else. Luckily MFC came along.

3. Likes Dry Rot liked this post

Titus O'Reily

@TitusOReily
    2d2 days ago
    More
    Melbourne have kept their missing finals hopes alive with a stunning display at the MCG. #AFLDeesSwans

5. Likes bulldogtragic liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog4life View Post
    Titus O'Reily

@TitusOReily
    2d2 days ago
    More
    Melbourne have kept their missing finals hopes alive with a stunning display at the MCG. #AFLDeesSwans
    Titus is always at his best when Melbourne lose the plot. My personal favourite was:

@TitusOReily
    1:05 AM - 12 Aug 2018

The only time Melbourne didn’t miss today was when they thrust a dagger into my heart. #AFLDeesSwans
    Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell

Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath

And we all found heaven - 2016 Premiers!

Deep down somewhere I like to think it has something to do with Gaddy Lyon.

Don't go changing Dees.

8. Likes Twodogs, Ghost Dog liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Rocket Science View Post
    Deep down somewhere I like to think it has something to do with Gaddy Lyon.

Don't go changing Dees.
    I have a few mates/acquaintances that are long term Melbourne supporters and I would be happy for them if Melbourne achieved some success.

However, I wish no success to be associated with that former Melbourne captain.

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog Joe View Post
    I have a few mates/acquaintances that are long term Melbourne supporters and I would be happy for them if Melbourne achieved some success.

However, I wish no success to be associated with that former Melbourne captain.
    I thought about that for a bit and I can't think of one Melbourne supporter I know. In fact I reckon that the kid who lived around the corner (I think his name was Glen) who was Harvey Merrigan's cousin is the last Melbourne supporter I knew.

Well I do know a few and I don't even ski.

12. Likes Twodogs liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog Joe View Post
    Well I do know a few and I don't even ski.
    My uncle and his kids are Melbourne supporters.

I have absolutely no idea how the son of post WW2 Polish immigrants turned factory workers living in Fawkner ended up barracking for Melbourne. He doesn't ski either!
    Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell

Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath

And we all found heaven - 2016 Premiers!

14. Likes Dry Rot liked this post

For whatever reason, I've ended up with 4 of my closest mates being Melbourne supporters - and these are blokes who grew up in the West or North West, and are certainly no skiing types!

The group messages going around when Melbourne are faltering, have been highly amusing. A real love/hate relationship with their club.

Mildly satisfying if they miss the finals again, even though I do enjoy watching them play at times but given the help they have had along the way from the AFL and the Garry Lyon flog factor, it's amusing to see them consistently choke.

I would hate to be a Melbourne supporter. On talent and promise they actually should be Top 4 and in contention, but this thread title sums them up - piss weak and in danger of missing the 8 again.

Terry Wallace says it’s a curse from sacking the best coach they ever had back in the 60s,they need an exorcism apparently.

18. Likes Dry Rot liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by ledge View Post
    Terry Wallace says it’s a curse from sacking the best coach they ever had back in the 60s,they need an exorcism apparently.

A link to an article a mate of mine wrote that talks about that very incident, https://australianfootball.com/artic...e%2Bpupil/2874

Dees are 0-5 with a percentage of 66.67% against the top 8.

So not only are they not top 8 standard, but they can't even squeeze in despite never having to play them.

After we did it in 2016 I think Melbourne think they just have to make the eight and they will cruise through 4 finals and win a flag.