Thanks Thanks:  246
Likes Likes:  1,440
Page 56 of 137 FirstFirst ... 6464748495051525354555657585960616263646566106 ... LastLast

Re: Welcome to the Bulldogs: Bailey Smith

Quote Originally Posted by EasternWest View Post
    Ha ha ha.

I don't want to delve to far into it, but I can tell you're in the same page as me. The war on drugs is a farce, there's actually no war because wars end.

It's time to accept drugs are real. If you want to make an impact on the effect they're having in the community then behave like grown ups around the issue.

I can tell you from first hand boots on the ground experience that if it's a war, the war is lost.

I just wanted to be clear I wasn't a pearl clutching big L Liberal. I'm a raging socialist. Come at me bro.
    It is an interesting discussion. Maybe not for a footy forum, but totally agree with where you are coming from.

As for Bailey will reserve any judgement until the situation is fully investigated.

2. Likes EasternWest liked this post

Innocent until proven otherwise.
    Agree let this play out before we all judge and condemn.

Unless this is photoshopped who cares whether he used or not. He's a contracted AFL listed player for the Bulldogs effectively stating to his 300k followers that drugs are cool. The implications are huge. Won't see him for many many weeks I'd assume. Bye bye sponsorships and lifestyle. Prolly the best thing that could happen to him honestly.

Has he signed that contract yet?
    Bingo!

I have a different opinion to many regarding drug use but the overriding thought at the moment is that I hope he gets the support and whatever.
    But this is part of the issue. What if it isn't a problem and he doesn't need counseling?

What if he uses "sugar" like you and I have a beer?

6. Likes hujsh liked this post

The Age is reporting the photo was taken late last year when Smith was on his mental health break away from the club.

Seconded.

Do you deliver to Uluru?
    Is Kyabram on your way home?

Quote Originally Posted by chef View Post
    Is Kyabram on your way home?

10. Thanks chef thanked for this post
    Likes Grantysghost liked this post

Also let's be honest this is crap viewing, but it's clearly not the worst photo Smith has been involved in.

Yes, yes he does.

Maccas is worse than taking drugs

13. Likes Grantysghost liked this post

But this is part of the issue. What if it isn't a problem and he doesn't need counseling?

What if he uses "sugar" like you and I have a beer?
    He will still need some support given the focus it has. I dare say he will need some counseling as well.

Sure, but I don't think that's what you were referring to originally.

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog4life View Post
    Bingo!
    Nah reckon he was on the gear during his break. Might have been the reason why he left. Sort stuff out. He can come out and say yes I was away from the club and did some things I'm not proud of but I've moved on from that difficult period and healed. That should do it.

17. Likes bornadog liked this post

It might be a damning image but for me it's not quite evidence at the moment.

I have a different opinion to many regarding drug use but the overriding thought at the moment is that I hope he gets the support and whatever counseling he needs if this actually an issue. I'm confident the club will be a huge support for him.
    At the moment footy is a somewhat secondary consideration as far as I'm concerned.

Whatever happens I hope he gets back to the basics because despite his tremendous talent at times he does appear to be getting ahead of himself.

I caught up with a number of ex colleagues last night for a meal and we mainly talked about footy (It's a super coach draft league group) and the colleague who has Smith in his team was talking positively about how good of a player Smith was and that the world was his oyster. It goes to show that things can change quickly in life.
    Sure, but I don't think that's what you were referring to originally.
    Lets put the original post back up.
    If it is an issue for him, he will need support. I suspect that even if it isn't an issue he will need some support and/or counseling.

19. Likes Scorlibo liked this post

Lets put the original post back up.
    If it is an issue for him, he will need support. I suspect that even if it isn't an issue he will need some support and/or counseling.
    Nah reckon he was on the gear during his break. Might have been the reason why he left. Sort stuff out. He can come out and say yes I was away from the club and did some things I'm not proud of but I've moved on from that difficult period and healed. That should do it.
    My guess is 1eye is correct and he got support in that period he was away. If he needs more support, the club will give it to him.

21. Likes Bullies, 1eyedog liked this post

So is mental health break now a standard AFL euphemism for I’ve gone a bit hard on the gear and I need to be somewhere I can rehab / am unlikely to get tested?