Thanks Thanks:  10
Likes Likes:  27
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Re: Welcome to the Bulldogs - Ben Cavarra

Quote Originally Posted by Doc26 View Post
    If you didn’t manage to listen to Ben’s chat with Sam McClure on SEN last night please do yourself a favour.
    It was one of the better interviews I’ve heard on sports radio.

Ben Cavarra Post Draft Interview
    He's a very self aware player who has never accepted that he wouldn't or couldn't make it. He's not going to take this opportunity for granted and piss away his chance to make this a career for himself over the next few years.

Given how we've seen players drop their intensity in the last 2 years it's highly refreshing to hear someone so grateful for a chance and knowing now that he's in he will go his hardest.

Seems to be a common theme with players we've selected. A hunger to succeed, a thirst to do their best and as important as anything else all of them bringing in a skill set or trait that's needed within the playing list.

I'm not sure if this is a non negotiable by Austin, Power (I've been looking for a reason to link those names) the list management team or Bevo for that matter but I want players coming into the club where you feel confident that they will work hard every day and it's very likely we've done that this year.

I'd encourage everyone to have a listen to a well grounded and professional player who's just arrived at our club.
    Thanks Doc for posting the link.

2. Likes BornInDroopSt'54, Go_Dogs liked this post

Anyone finding on the clubs site that Cavarra's highlights aren't playing? Every other video works fine for me.

4. Likes kruder, WBFC4FFC liked this post

Do we see him getting games early?
    Seasoned body and he will have a chance to impress with the pre season stuff.

Anyone finding on the clubs site that Cavarra's highlights aren't playing? Every other video works fine for me.
    Same here

7. Thanks hujsh thanked for this post

Don't think it's working for anyone but it's probably his TAC highlights that we posted on twitter.

This is probably the most relevant highlights package though

9. Thanks hujsh thanked for this post

Quote Originally Posted by Hotdog60 View Post
    Do we see him getting games early?
    Seasoned body and he will have a chance to impress with the pre season stuff.
    I reckon he's a good chance. I'm strangely most excited about this recruit.

So our forward line will be Schache, Boyd, Gowers, Loyd, Wallis and one of Cavarra, Dickson or Picken?

Quote Originally Posted by Doc26 View Post
    With so much negativity and privileged behaviour spoken about, Ben could not have articulated better the essence of what the draft period means, and moreso what this game means for us outside the fluff and noise.

For me, this ~13 minutes should be bottled and opened whenever we’re looking for some inspiration, or for those connected more closely to the game, simply needing a reminder of the privilege that it brings.
    Well done to Ben . An inspiration story of persistence and growth . Small foward with good goal sense and he has some attributes like agility and speed which are elite. In that age group of 22 year+ where we need them to come through and start cementing games

Good pickup and I hope he can smash it and play a heap of games in 2019.

Uncanny or just sheer serendipitous every time I see williamstown on footy his name always comes up on the highlights . I hope it’s meant to be !

Power comments on players coming through our develoPment program is a good sign and reward for all those involved

Welcome to the Dogs Ben!

Fantastic interview with Sam Maclure.
    Sounds like a great person. Would be stoked to see him do really well.

14. Likes Eastdog liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Dry Rot View Post
    I reckon he's a good chance. I'm strangely most excited about this recruit.

So our forward line will be Schache, Boyd, Gowers, Loyd, Wallis and one of Cavarra, Dickson or Picken?

He's your sort of player DR. He's as hard as a cat's head.

16. Likes Dry Rot liked this post

He is a family friend of a work mate. Good guy from what I'm told.

What a great interview. What a well rounded young man. We really have gone down the path of finding young men who have a desire to succeed. The no DH policy.

He's a guy like Gowers who may from the start fill a key role in our developing forward line

I wonder how many senior games Cavarra can play for us in 2019? I like the fact that we have identified a positional need and were able to find someone who is also a quality addition to the playing list. After being overlooked for so long Cavarra will have no lack of motivation to succeed. He's going to have a lot of competition for a senior spot but i just have a feeling that he will be given some chances early on.

If Cavarra gets his chance he is likely to seize the moment and give his best. It would be great to see a professional effort with a few opportunistic goals with
    a dynamic presence at the fall of the ball. Hopefully the others honour his efforts to create space.