Likes Likes:  6

Ladder predictor

With the season just about to start what are your predictions for how the ladder might look at the end of the season?

My bottom 8 would be

18 - West Coast
    17 - North Melbourne
    16 - Hawthorn
    15 - Richmond
    14 - Essendon
    13 - Geelong
    12 - Gold Coast
    11 - Fremantle

Re: Ladder predictor

With the season just about to start what are your predictions for how the ladder might look at the end of the season?

My bottom 8 would be

18 - West Coast
    17 - North Melbourne
    16 - Hawthorn
    15 - Richmond
    14 - Essendon
    13 - Geelong
    12 - Gold Coast
    11 - Fremantle
    Funny you start with a bottom 8 and go from last down . I had to read it a few times to realise West Coast wasn?t 9t, I read on a phone and had enlarged it , the numbers to the left were missing .

This sort of fits into this thread.
    I think I want to punch both Adam Cooney and Brenton Sanderson
    By the way is all the Sydney love justified?

SEN's 2024 AFL season predictions

Garry Lyon

Premiers: Brisbane
    Runners-up: GWS
    Wooden spoon: West Coast
    Brownlow: Tom Green (GWS)
    Coleman: Max King (STK)
    Rising Star: George Wardlaw (NM)
    Breakout player: Sam Darcy (WB)
    Biggest improver: Adelaide
    Biggest slider: Port Adelaide

Tim Watson

Runners-up: Sydney
    Brownlow: Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
    Coleman: Nick Larkey (NM)
    Rising Star: Sam Darcy (WB)
    Breakout player: Liam Henry (STK)
    Biggest slider: Melbourne

Luke Hodge

Premiers: Sydney
    Runners-up: Brisbane
    Rising Star: Harley Reid (WCE) or Ryley Sanders (WB)
    Breakout player: N/A
    Biggest improver: Sydney
    Biggest slider: St Kilda

Dwayne Russell

Runners-up: Collingwood
    Brownlow: Nick Daicos (COL)
    Coleman: Charlie Curnow (CAR)
    Rising Star: Harley Reid (WCE)
    Breakout player: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (WB)
    Biggest slider: GWS

Andy Maher

Brownlow: Max Gawn (MEL)
    Breakout player: Jesse Motlop (CAR)
    Biggest improver: GWS
    Biggest slider: Sydney

Andrew Gaze

Premiers: Collingwood
    Coleman: Mitch Lewis (HAW)
    Rising Star: Nick Watson (HAW)
    Breakout player: Josh Weddle (HAW)
    Biggest improver: Hawthorn
    Biggest slider: Carlton

Malcolm Blight

Premiers: Port Adelaide
    Brownlow: Lachie Neale (BRI) & Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
    Breakout player: Jason Horne-Francis (PA)
    Biggest improver: Port Adelaide
    Biggest slider: Collingwood (Premiers to third)

Mark Bickley

Rising Star: Jed Walter (GCS)
    Breakout player: Riley Thilthorpe (ADE)
    Biggest improver: Gold Coast

Paul Hasleby

Runners-up: Melbourne
    Brownlow: Sam Walsh (CAR)
    Rising Star: Colby McKercher (NM)
    Breakout player: Jye Amiss (FRE)

Adam Cooney

Runners-up: Carlton
    Biggest improver: Essendon

Campbell Brown

Coleman: Oscar Allen (WCE)
    Rising Star: Caleb Windsor (MEL)
    Breakout player: Zac Fisher (NM)
    Biggest slider: Sydney

Josh Jenkins

Brownlow: Jordan Dawson (ADE)
    Rising Star: Daniel Curtin (ADE)
    Breakout player: Mitch Owens (STK)

Brenton Sanderson

Breakout player: Finn Callaghan (GWS)
    Biggest slider: Western Bulldogs

Liam Pickering

Coleman: Jeremy Cameron (GEE)
    Breakout player: Joel Amartey (SYD)
    Biggest improver: Geelong

Daniel Menzel

Brownlow: Tom Green and Errol Gulden
    Coleman: Nick Larkey
    Rising Star: Ryley Sanders
    Breakout player: Hayden Young
    Biggest slider: Essendon

Scott Cummings

Wooden spoon: North Melbourne
    Coleman: Oscar Allen (WCE)
    Breakout player: Logan McDonald (SYD)

Continued

Julian De Stoop

Brownlow: Marcus Bontempelli (WBD)
    Coleman: Jesse Hogan (GWS)
    Rising Star: Ryley Sanders (WBD)
    Breakout player: Sam Darcy (WBD)
    Biggest improver: Western Bulldogs

Gareth Hall

Coleman: Joe Daniher (BRI)
    Breakout player: Cam Rayner (BRI)
    Biggest slider: Carlton

Cam Luke

Breakout player: Jacob Van Rooyen (MEL)

Tim Gossage

Wooden spoon: Richmond
    Brownlow: Errol Gulden (SYD)
    Breakout player: Ed Allen (COL)

Ashley Browne

Rising Star: Ryley Sanders (WB)
    Biggest improver: Fremantle

David Wildy

Premiers: GWS

Sam Hargreaves

Brownlow: Lachie Neale (BRI)
    Breakout player: Tom De Koning (CAR)

Brett Phillips

Brownlow: Zak Butters (PA)
    Breakout player: Jaspa Fletcher (BRI)

John Donohoe

Runners-up: Port Adelaide
    Breakout player: Mattaes Phillipou (STK)

Jordan Kounelis

Breakout player: Ollie Hollands (CAR)

Miles Pfitzner

Breakout player: Tom De Koning (CAR)

Cam Luke

Coleman Medal: Charlie Curnow (CAR)
    Breakout player: Jacob Van Rooyen (MEL)

Adam White

Coleman Medal: Charlie Curnow (CAR)
    Rising Star: Sam Darcy (WB)
    Breakout player: Angus Sheldrick (SYD)

SEN.com.au Predictions

Andrew Slevison

Breakout player: Jaspa Fletcher (BRI)
    Biggest slider: Port Adelaide (but they'll still make the 8)

Nic Negrepontis

Terence Lattanzio

Breakout player: Jye Amiss (FRE)

Seb Mottram

Brownlow: Christian Petracca (MEL)
    Breakout player: Braeden Campbell (SYD)
    Biggest slider: Collingwood

Lachlan Geleit

Coleman: Jeremy Cameron (GEE)

Jack Makeham

Breakout player: Josh Gibcus (RIC)

Hugh Fitzpatrick

Breakout player: Lachie Sullivan (COL)

Zac Sharpe

Brownlow: Clayton Oliver (MEL)
    Coleman: Aaron Naughton (WBD)
    Breakout player: Thomson Dow (RIC)
    Biggest improver: Western Bulldogs
    Biggest slider: GWS

Ladder i'll go

Brisbane
    Collingwood
    Melbourne
    GWS
    Carlton
    Adelaide
    Sydney
    Bulldogs
    ---------
    Port Adelaide
    Gold Coast
    Geelong
    St.Kilda
    Fremantle
    Richmond
    Essendon
    Hawthorn
    North Melbourne
    West Coast

6. Likes GVGjr liked this post

The Guardian has a go, with reasons

Part one - AFL 2024 predicted ladder part one: Bulldogs could win the flag? or get the spoon

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/20...-get-the-spoon

18th ? West Coast
    Jonathan Horn

?Higher floor, lower ceiling? is my sense heading into 2024, but it?s a particularly difficult season to assess. I reckon all but the bottom three listed teams could challenge for finals. I may well be miles off when it comes to Sydney and Adelaide, and the Western Bulldogs could be premiers or wooden spooners for all I know.

So here goes another hiding to nothing: Part one of Guardian Australia?s 2024 AFL ladder predictor.

?This will pass,? Adam Simpson said following yet another trouncing last year. He somehow kept his cool, his hair, and his job. Injuries, pandemics, strength and conditioning problems, less than committed players, poor list management and more injuries have all conspired against him. But in 2024 he has a crop of talented, big-bodied kids. The hype around Harley Reid, however, is completely insane, with more column inches devoted to him than to the Mayor of Perth.

2023 was an improvement for the Kangas. They lost 14 games by 45 points or more in 2022, which they reduced to six last year. That?s still dreadful, mind you. North lost nearly 1500 games of experience in the off-season and may be without Jy Simpkin for an extended period after Jimmy Webster?s savage hit at the weekend.

Alastair Clarkson will be buoyed by the 17 first round picks on his list, several of whom are exquisitely skilled and completely untapped. His problems will be down back. They?re going to have a lot of goals kicked on them. But it promises to be a wild ride for North fans.

16th ? Hawthorn

The Hawks beat some really good teams last year ? Collingwood, Brisbane, St Kilda and the Western Bulldogs. But like most young lists, they mixed their form. As a player, Sam Mitchell played a patient game. He waited, watched and pounced. He?s similar as a coach. Every one of his utterances can loosely be translated as ?I know what I?m doing.?

Mitchell has had some rotten luck over summer. They desperately needed another key defender and were delighted with James Blanck?s progress. But he tore his ACL minutes after Changkuoth Jiath broke down again. ?If there were five players I could least afford to lose, I just lost two of them,? the coach told Nathan Buckley.

15th ? Richmond

Richmond has been in gentle recession for several years now. There were some scrapbook memories last year - Trent Cotchin?s 300th, his valedictory game with Jack Riewoldt, the greatest hits parade against Geelong and the Hawthorn comeback. But it was a frustrating season. Tom Lynch and Josh Gibcus were hobbled and Damien Hardwick couldn?t get out of the place quickly enough.

The messaging now is more cautious, more realistic. ?Look we?re always going to be big and dangerous but this is no longer some last ditch Dimma throw at the stumps,? is the crux of it. The question marks heading into 2024 include Lynch?s right foot and the gap between their top and bottom six.

14th ? Essendon

A ?bunch of spuds? Hardwick called them. That?s harsh. Essendon?s young players show glimpses. They have good summers. They have good fortnights. But they haven?t yet proven themselves to be long haul footballers. They ran aground following the bye last year. They won three of their last ten. They fell apart against the generationally bad West Coast and North, and lost by a combined 33 goals in the final fortnight. The GWS game was a degustation. The Collingwood game was over in a matter of minutes.

The first two months of 2024 look particularly tough ? both Adelaide sides away, Sydney away and Collingwood at the MCG, as well as St Kilda and the Bulldogs at the Docklands.

13th ? Sydney

A difficult team to assess. There?s a lot of people spruiking the Swans, but I?m not convinced their recent form stacks up. They left too many games on the table last year, coughed up too many three-quarter time leads, and came up short against the very best. They were fortunate to get the four points against Adelaide and won the North Melbourne game courtesy of a clerical error. Their captain spent the best part of summer in a sling after some Mad Monday high jinks, and Luke Parker and Taylor Adams will both miss the opening month. For a team that struggled at the coalface last year, that will hurt.

Get a daily roundup of the latest sports news, features and comment from our Australian sports desk
    Privacy Notice: Newsletters may contain info about charities, online ads, and content funded by outside parties. For more information see our Privacy Policy. We use Google reCaptcha to protect our website and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

12th ? Gold Coast

For Hardwick, the Suns? list was the clincher. Sure there was the money, the long contract, the chance to get out of the Melbourne fishbowl and start afresh with a new suntan and a new club. But he loved the list. ?A great new bunch of toys,? he called them. There?s potential, but not a lot of evidence. Year after year, these players have turned up their toes when it matters. They let down their previous coach. They?ve never been a team you?d trust with your life, or even your money. They?ve never been a team willing to dig in and slog through winter. Hardwick?s style demands total buy-in and trust, two qualities that have so far eluded this group.

11th ? Adelaide

The Crows were the league?s highest scoring team in 2023. They won both Showdowns and twice ran the eventual premiers to the wire. They played some of their best football in the matches they lost. But they only won two of 10 on the road. In the end, despite the wretched decisions, the near misses, the big scores, and the jolly romps, they still weren?t good enough.

Adelaide are great to watch, and have high expectations. They?ll get a lot more marquee games than usual. But to me, they still look a bit light on down back and one-paced through the middle. I think Matthew Nicks is on the right track, and they?re definitely a team for the future, but I see them treading water this year.

10th ? Western Bulldogs

I think we miss the point with the Bulldogs. We expect too much of them. Maybe they expect too much of themselves. They?re a riddle, certainly, a tease, no doubt. But ultimately, in quarters, in games, in months, and in seasons, they loom and drop away. Just when you?ve given up on them, they drag you back in. When they?re really humming, when Bont and Libba have full control, they can tease you into thinking they?re the best team in the competition. But too often, they?re exposed by their bottom six, and stand revealed against the very best.

Ninth ? Geelong

Pretty much nothing went right for Geelong last year. They conceded two more goals a game than in 2022, which is very un-Chris Scott like. At various times, his entire starting back six were unavailable. The second Collingwood game summed up their season ? patches of brilliance, moments of madness and ultimately well short of the standard. Gary Rohan knocking out his teammate and their most important player pretty much summed it up. As always, you take the good with the bad with Gary, even when he?s knocking you unconscious.

I really like their young kids coming through however, and originally had them as my sneaky bolter for 2024. But I?ve been spooked by the injury to Cam Guthrie, sustained in the first eight seconds of the scratchiest of scratch matches.

The Guardian part 2

Bizarrely high finish for Freo IMO

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/20...-giant-killers

AFL 2024 predicted ladder part two: Collingwood can win… if they’re Giant killers

Eighth – Carlton
    Jonathan Horn

“Robbie Williams just posted your column about Michael Voss with a poo emoji,” my partner told me last September. Excuse me? I really need a new line of work. Robbie hasn’t had a decent song since She’s the One but he had a point: Voss and his Blues made mugs of so many of us.

For about 20 minutes last September, the prospect of a Collingwood-Carlton grand final, and everything that entails for our society, was very much in play. The atmosphere resembled an early 80s fixture at Princes Park. But then the fever subsided, the red cordial ran out, and the Lions went to work. Carlton had the crowd, double the inside 50s and the smell of history about them. Brisbane had Keidean “Kiddy” Coleman, his gimlet eye, pencil moustache, cobalt blue boots and lethal left boot.

The Blues have to ride that wave again now. After a tough opening assignment against the Lions, their draw opens up for several months. But keeping Sam Walsh and Jacob Weitering on the park will be the key to their season.

No one left the MCG on grand final day with anything but admiration for the Lions. So many non-MCG tenants have turned up their toes at the big dance. A slip here, a questionable advantage call there, and it was snatched away from them.

Chris Fagan says the same things every September. We’ll get better each year. We’ll fix the problems. We’ll take “learnings”. We’ll fail our way to success. Every year, it feels like the rest of us say: this is their best chance. They’re always competitive. They’re always hard to toss at the Gabba. And they improve year on year. Five years in a row now, they’ve won more than 14 games. They’ve won 42 of their past 47 at the Gabba, and all 13 last year. I reckon they’re due for a slight correction, but they deserve another shot at it.

Sixth – Melbourne

Melbourne has had six months of what-ifs. What if Caleb Marchbank had filed his fingernails. What if they’d lowered their eyes against Collingwood. What if Angus Brayshaw hadn’t been knocked out cold. What if Clayton Oliver wasn’t in disarray. What if they’d kicked straight.

They let the Oliver story get out of control. Rather than take a hose to the fire, the strategy seemed to be to stand in front of it spraying the word “culture” dozens of times. In football, the word has been pulverised, made redundant. It’s the new “learnings”.

Goodwin calls them a blue-collar team. They defend from the high ground. They patrol and gobble. They contest like angry ants. But their connection with their forwards needs tidying up. There’s too many blasters in that midfield. Get that right and keep Gawn in one piece, and this remarkably consistent side can challenge again.

Fifth – Fremantle

In the summer of 2022-23, I had St Kilda as my bolter, and pencilled them in for the double chance. I then saw them in a practice match that was honestly the worst game of football I have watched. The Saints won, but I relegated them about eight ladder positions.

Which brings me to Fremantle, who I’ve been toying with all summer. They were dreadful in their practice match against Port Adelaide, with tedious, creeping ball movement and limited forward options. Christ, I thought, nothing has changed.

I’m holding firm, however, perhaps foolishly. The Dockers had four players in the Under 22 team of the year, the most of any club, including Luke Jackson and Jye Amiss, who both sat out the practice match. They were smashed around the ball too often last year, but have altered their midfield mix. The talent is there but they need to change the way they move the ball. If they can’t, Justin Longmuir will be the coach under the most pressure.

Fourth – St Kilda

Ross Lyon squeezed every drop of ability out of the Saints last year, but the elimination final was an abrupt end – and a reality check. It was sixth versus seventh but they were in different leagues. The Giants went into hyperdrive and St Kilda stood revealed.

The Saints are watertight down back, conceding less points than anyone last year, including the highly rated Melbourne and Collingwood backlines. But it’s a pretty plain, one-paced midfield and Lyon knows it. They were the 15th most potent team, which has been the story of his career.

Lyon didn’t have much to work with however, with Tim Membrey and Max King playing together just twice. Now those two are fit and healthy he has an abundance of speed and good ball users off half back. The second season is often a sweet spot for Lyon-coached teams, and he’ll be hoping this list can finally emerge from footy’s middle class.

Third – Port Adelaide

Whenever I look at Port Adelaide, I think of those pre-2022 Chris Scott teams that were always in the mix, but were never quite good enough, of seasons that showed immense promise, but went up in September smoke in about a quarter of an hour.

There’s sometimes this assumption that Port is an older team, and this is their last shot at a flag. But they were actually the youngest of the eight sides in the first round of finals and were beaten by two outstanding teams. They were ruined by injuries and backline woes, but it was the midfield that let them down.

Port have recruited well and seem to have a really good draw for the first couple of months. They’ll have a crack midfield, but their challenge will be to stop the leaking down back.

Second – Collingwood

In this competition, you’re always vulnerable. Geelong won two finals by a combined 23 goals and were miles off the pace the following year. And this Collingwood team still has holes and vulnerabilities.

There’s always hate for Collingwood. For all the loyalty and lunacy they inspire, there’s double that amount wishing them to fall in a heap. OK, well done, your coach is a gem, your team is great to watch, you got your flag, now go and be a cursed club again for a few more decades thanks very much.

The Magpies were never going to do a Hawthorn at the end of 2008 and waddle back to training. Nick Daicos doesn’t exactly present as the kind of young man to go on a summer bender and let himself go to suet. “Save room for more tattoos,” Craig McRae told his players at the best and fairest. One is never enough. They want more. It’s like a drug. The question remains – how long can they continue this highwire act?

Premiers – GWS

In 2023, Adam Kingsley took a few months to get his preferred style up and going, and to adapt to the stresses of the job. But the season is long, and it suited a list like theirs. They locked in their style. You could see them coming from the back of the field, picking off stragglers, one by one. By September, their nostrils were flared. They were exactly the sort of team you didn’t want to draw.

The Giants are still filthy they let the preliminary final slip. They sprayed a lot of kicks, missed some very gettable chances, were well beaten at stoppages and copped some interesting umpiring. Kingsley spent his first pre-season teaching the playing list and his assistants. This time around, they’ve backed their list in. They haven’t topped up. They’re confident and ready to take the next step and I’m inclined to agree.

That is the worst ladder prediction I've ever seen! Saints top 4? Lions not top 4!

Is it a joke one?

Are we being too aspirational on here thinking we have a great chance of finals when so many media “experts” are tipping us to finish between 10th and 12th on the ladder?

Quote Originally Posted by meenies View Post
    Are we being too aspirational on here thinking we have a great chance of finals when so many media “experts” are tipping us to finish between 10th and 12th on the ladder?
    Frankly we watch our team more closely than the experts who admit to not watching every match (you'd think that'd be a minimum standard but oh well) and we know there's talent on the list BUT the experts are also right to be weary based on our finish to the 2023 season.

When they throw in Keath to play round one, they are guessing

I know things are never as good as they seem or as bad as they seem but…

I can only see us winning five more games for the year - Hawks, Tigers, North (twice), Adelaide (Adelaide).

Losses are - Saints, Dockers (twice), GWS (twice), Swans (twice), Pies, Lions, Power, Carlton, Geelong, Melbourne.

I know things are never as good as they seem or as bad as they seem but…

I can only see us winning five more games for the year - Hawks, Tigers, North (twice), Adelaide (Adelaide).

Losses are - Saints, Dockers (twice), GWS (twice), Swans (twice), Pies, Lions, Power, Carlton, Geelong, Melbourne.

Trade isn't looking so good right now......

16. Likes Grantysghost liked this post