Thanks Thanks:  4
Likes Likes:  14
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Footy arrogance

Re: Footy arrogance

Not yet mention as arrogant - Jeremy Cameron. Jake Stringer is supremely arrogant.

Conversely some players really catch you off-guard with their humility. Gia a notable one.

Is it Roos or his disciples? I agree he receives more credits for things in progress than completed but I don't find him to be genuinely arrogant. If others are talking him up I don't necessarily hold that against him.
    I agree with HD, can't stand the bloke. Others also believe him as well, that is how convincing he is. It also goes right back to when he played as well.

Just to clarify the thread isn't about who you hate or despise and it's more around identifying the more arrogant types that have clearly crossed the line between confidence and arrogance.
    For example Robo talks up Brereton like he is a god but I don't blame Brereton for that.

Has Roos actually crossed that line with self promoting or talking up his achievements?
    He may have but I can't recall it.

I went to a small bucks day (5 people) and Blake Caracella was one of them. He's fond of himself to say the least.

Quote Originally Posted by EasternWest View Post
    I went to a small bucks day (5 people) and Blake Caracella was one of them. He's fond of himself to say the least.
    You can't crease a man's shirt EW.

What about his former team mate Matthew Lloyd?

Right proper arrogant knob.

And Gary Lyon doesn't know as much about footy as he thinks.

Had a mate of an uncle who was the head of a Fitzroy Coiteree group .
    Reckons Roos is one of the most arrogant people he’d ever met .

Nathan Brown has always come across as full of himself.

You can't crease a man's shirt EW.
    Ha ha ha I can't believe you remember that Jee. That's gold.

Quote Originally Posted by Remi Moses View Post
    How good a player was Roos?

From my interactions, Matthew Lloyd was a genuinely nice bloke and someone I really enjoyed spending time with.

I have to agree - I THOUGHT he would be an arrogant so-and-so but I really liked him...being stuck on a tour bus with someone for a few weeks tends to bring out their worst as well I would have thought!

12. Thanks Dry Rot thanked for this post
    Likes Mofra, Max469 liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Remi Moses View Post
    That may be so BUT...when I was spending time with him he was the ex-senior coach of the Swans and still had really good knowledge and personal interest about some of the kids in the Swans academy (which at the time included Dunkley, Mills etc) and I guess I was impressed in the way he was doing his job/way he cared about people...doesn't mean he isn't arrogant of course, but.

From my interactions, Matthew Lloyd was a genuinely nice bloke and someone I really enjoyed spending time with.

I have to agree - I THOUGHT he would be an arrogant so-and-so but I really liked him...being stuck on a tour bus with someone for a few weeks tends to bring out their worst as well I would have thought!
    Thanks for that. Fair enough.

I was secretly a big Lucas fan. But let's not turn this into a past Bombers players thread.

Amazing - I had someone else tell me a very similar story once - it was at the races - Ive played other sports against him and he was/is an utter flog - basically hogged it so his team couldnt win - took all the low percentage plays, and had no understanding thats what you were allowing him to do - basically letting his ego consume him.

Roosy is a flog in my eyes - he just loves himself too much - oozes arrogance - he won one flag, but I bet the more modest footy people at the Swans did a lot of the shielded his massive ego from the player in order to get them there - I'll concede he has some coaching ability, but ultimately his ego stops him for being able to work with a group for too long.

Garry Lyon and lots of the other sunday and former thursday footy show flunkies have drunk far too much of their own bathwater

Roos blamed Melbourne supporters for the form of be the team at a presser not long after he took over there. A fundamental lack of ability to accept blame (because you are so good, it couldn't possibly anything you are doing that is going wrong) is a huge mark of arrogance I reckon.

17. Likes Testekill liked this post