Thanks Thanks:  15
Likes Likes:  109
Page 13 of 15 FirstFirst ... 3456789101112131415 LastLast

Re: AFL Game Day Round 2, 2019 - Hawthorn V Western Bulldogs at the MCG

This might be obvious but I took my boy out for a kick after the game and surprised how wet & slippery it was - didn’t feel much come down in the lower level of the Ponsford.

The last ten minutes was the most ridiculous period of footy I reckon I’ve seen live. Umpiring had a huge influence but we were good for the win all the same. Should’ve been 8 goals to 2 at half time.

Rapt to see Lewis Young put in a shift at senior level

Funny day

2. Likes Yankee Hotel Foxtrot liked this post

I love beating Essendon but beating the Hawks is a bit special given how good they have been for a long while

This is the sort of football we are capable of. It's not about who isn't playing or how many games any one has played it's about heart, soul and playing out the full game and today we did more than enough.
    Very proud of the boys

I'm a bit happy for BAD as well as he was going today with a Hawks mate
    Stunned - what a win. Best win since GF

I was sitting surrounded by members of Kennedy Club, the only Bulldog. They whinged the whole game about the free kicks.

I can't believe that last quarter.

Always interesting reading these threads after the game..

Said to my mate at 3/4 time the rules favour us and we were kicking to the scoring end. Didn't expect what we did, but bloody stoked and just shows you can't write a team off in the modern game.

Stunned - what a win. Best win since GF

I was sitting surrounded by members of Kennedy Club, the only Bulldog. They whinged the whole game about the free kicks.

I can't believe that last quarter.
    I love that feeling.

6. Likes bornadog, merantau, Testekill liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog4life View Post
    I love that feeling.
    I didn't say much, but snickered under my breath

They have short memories. I remember back in the glory days the superstar frees they got.

9. Likes merantau, HOSE B ROMERO, Testekill liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Vred View Post
    I won’t lie, I stopped watching at the end of the third until my missus walked in halfway though the fourth going “your heart must be pounding it’s so close”

I had no idea how we did it, I’ll need to watch the replay.. but damn, we won!
    Haha. Me too. I ran out of my medication Friday and without it I feel shite so at 3/4 time thought I'd go get it cos the game wasnt making me feel better. Thought we'd finish game well but not make it, too far behind. Haha. Have read this thread now for a great evening watching the last quarter. Could see in the first quarter wjen Libba made some errors that he hated it and knew he as litmus paper for the team would put in a good 4 q effort. I'm a libbalubber.

11. Likes josie liked this post

They were handed so many wins on a silver platter with a side serve of lobster medallions during those years, I am quite happy to rub their collective entitled Jeff kennet noses into a stinking cesspit of brutal karma.
    Quote Originally Posted by G-Mo77 View Post
    They have short memories. I remember back in the glory days the superstar frees they got.

13. Thanks HOSE B ROMERO thanked for this post
    Likes bornadog, Twodogs, merantau, Eastdog, Testekill liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Ghost Dog View Post
    Dogs by 30 points
    First Goal will be Bont I would say.
    Called the Gowers Silicy show!
    Our midfield to trouble Hawthorn's for pressure with Libba champing at the bit to prove himself.
    McEvoy might win the taps but just have to shark them.
    Sicily is a pest and would love Billy Gowers to drag him into a spat, so Naughton can do his work.
    Well done to me. Superior footy predictions.
    But Ghost Dog, you said 30 points.
    Yes, well 11 points off is two kicks.
    Sloppy Ghost Dog. Accuracy please.

15. Thanks Testekill thanked for this post

Character building stuff. What did Bevo say to our boys at 3/4 time?

Libba you are a gun. I have been critical of Wallis but boy he was good today. And Caleb Daniel - you little ripper for all 4 quarters. Schache is finding his groove. Talk of Dickson’s demise a bit premature. Macrae can kick a snap!

If English starts holding those marks - like wow!!

Great to win without Bonti starring.

And how good were Dureya and Suckling and Lloyd?

And we saw some great delivery and composure from young Bailey and Young too.

Time to watch the replay so I can pick my player awards.....

That was a great Bulldog win. The Bulldog spirit is alive and well. What a comeback!

While I love playing at Marvel our home ground the MCG is just as great particularly when we win.

18. Likes josie liked this post

For sure the call on Sicily was marginal..........DON'T CARE.
    The number of times we've been on the receiving end of improbable comebacks, replete with line-ball decisions... this was a long overdue Karma bus stopping at our station.

Schache/Naughton are an exciting duo - Round 1 it was Naughton, Round 2 it was Schache. They are great foils for each other - both mobile, with Naughton better in pack situations and Schache better on the lead. Exciting.

Libba was huge, really got us over the line IMO.

Impressed by Duryea who had some good moments in tough situations. Caleb was sublime, but very frustrating seeing him get caught one out against KPPs - not his fault.

We got a bit lucky I felt, having said that it was a great win and we dominated for 3 quarters.

Any idea who Henderson was playing on? I'm guessing it rotated but he was nearly the difference at one stage.

Quote Originally Posted by Ghost Dog View Post
    Well done to me. Superior footy predictions.
    But Ghost Dog, you said 30 points.
    Yes, well 11 points off is two kicks.
    Sloppy Ghost Dog. Accuracy please.
    Get a room for yourself!
    Great call. Did you feel it or think it?