Thanks Thanks:  17
Likes Likes:  104
Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast

Re: Welcome to the Westernbulldogs Ryan Gardner

Kelvin Templeton was an unbelievably good mark. He'd take 15-20 contested marks a week at his peak.
    Would love to have seen KT play. Clearly woofers who saw him in full flight hold him as best or one of best they have seen play. Unfortunately I not follow footy much before the late ‘90’s.

2. Likes Twodogs, Eastdog liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Rocket Science View Post
    Long live the enforcer, they're all but extinct now even at NHL level.

Not sure who'd be our bad cop on the beat but we can make do with sick burns from Libba whenever some knob transgresses.

Out of curiosity SOS, who've you skated with as a player?
    I've been playing with the Sharks IHC for the past 7 seasons, mostly in the thirds. Social leagues mid week is good too, find your yourself trying to keep up with blokes who have played in the AIHL or for the national squad at some point. The worst is the young fellas who are guns coming through though! Too quick for me.

Quote Originally Posted by josie View Post
    Would love to have seen KT play. Clearly woofers who saw him in full flight hold him as best or one of best they have seen play. Unfortunately I not follow footy much before the late ‘90’s.
    Yeah as a younger woofer it is good to hear from woofers who watched these guys go around just describe how good they were. Would have been great to have watched Doug Hawkins go around.

Quote Originally Posted by Eastdog View Post
    Yeah as a younger woofer it is good to hear from woofers who watched these guys go around just describe how good they were. Would have been great to have watched Doug Hawkins go around.
    I might give this a crack in the next week.
    My top 10 players from last century and the reasons why. Perhaps Twodogs and a few others could as well

KT would be right up there along with Bernie Quinlan, Brad Hardie and a few others

6. Thanks Eastdog thanked for this post

Kelvin Templeton was an unbelievably good mark. He'd take 15-20 contested marks a week at his peak.
    I'll take "Things that never happened" for $500 Alex.

8. Likes jeemak, hujsh, EasternWest liked this post

I think we can allow TD some artistic license when it comes to KT!

When KT kicked 15.9 v Saints, most of those were marks - well 16 marks to be exact

I might give this a crack in the next week.
    My top 10 players from last century and the reasons why. Perhaps Twodogs and a few others could as well

KT would be right up there along with Bernie Quinlan, Brad Hardie and a few others
    Yep I'm in.

At his best, easily.

When KT kicked 15.9 v Saints, most of those were marks - well 16 marks to be exact
    Yet AFtables only has him down for 16 that day.

The umpires were quite liberal with their interpretation of a mark that day I believe.

You be the judge...

"I'll give him a hug before the first bounce and then I'll run into my pack and give them orders to rip him apart."

14. Likes bornadog liked this post

Crazy scenes with the crowd rushing the field.....and I don't reckon they'd let a police horse onto an AFL ground any more.

16. Likes SquirrelGrip liked this post

Crazy scenes with the crowd rushing the field.....and I don't reckon they'd let a police horse onto an AFL ground any more.
    Not just the crowd. One of the first on the scene is Don McKenzie the Footscray coach. He was there to tell KT that if he kicks the goal we break the record. No pressure son!

The police horse was easy enough to avoid. Only an idiot is going to run in front of a horse or a tank. But it happened at the end of every game I sent to until the late 80s/early 90s. Maybe not before the siren but as soon as the siren blew. If we were going to win it was nothing for the crowd to be waiting just the other side of the boundary line from time on in the last quarter.

It was a big thing to be first to put your foot in the middle of the ground.

Mocca Dunstan has 36 touches and kicked 7 goals 3 from midfield. And was a distant second best on the field.

Quote Originally Posted by Webby View Post
    Mocca Dunstan has 36 touches and kicked 7 goals 3 from midfield. And was a distant second best on the field.
    He and KT both had 7 goals at 3/4 time. Don McKenzie told the players to help Templeton get 10 and Dunstan said "don't I get the chance to kick 10 too?" Sorry Mocca.

Not just the crowd. One of the first on the scene is Don McKenzie the Footscray coach. He was there to tell KT that if he kicks the goal we break the record. No pressure son!

The police horse was easy enough to avoid. Only an idiot is going to run in front of a horse or a tank. But it happened at the end of every game I sent to until the late 80s/early 90s. Maybe not before the siren but as soon as the siren blew. If we were going to win it was nothing for the crowd to be waiting just the other side of the boundary line from time on in the last quarter.

It was a big thing to be first to put your foot in the middle of the ground.
    A mate of mine growing up used to take his footy boots to Waverly which was a five minute walk away and don them to make sure he had enough traction to try and win the race to the centre of the ground.

21. Likes Twodogs liked this post