Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Re: If you could hire us another Specialist Coach who would it be?

My choice would be James Hird - has done it all, premierships, Brownlow Medal etc etc his knowledge and a bit of the Sheedyesque in him, he would be good.

Quote Originally Posted by BulldogBelle View Post
    My choice would be James Hird - has done it all, premierships, Brownlow Medal etc etc his knowledge and a bit of the Sheedyesque in him, he would be good.
    Probably my choice too. He's arguably the most idolised name in football, especially over the last five or so years. Players look up to him, particularly the younger ones, I think he's a voice that they'd all listen to. Genuine superstar on and off the field, you'd find it impossible to find a bad word about the way he goes about things.

Seems a fairly clear 'speaker' too, I wonder if he'll get into coaching.

Granty would be OK to teach a few of the young KPP's too. He was always fantastic at positioning himself, and among many other things, I'm sure he could certainly help players like Tiller, Grant, Boumann & O'Shea.

Quote Originally Posted by The Bulldogs Bite View Post
    Probably my choice too. He's arguably the most idolised name in football, especially over the last five or so years. Players look up to him, particularly the younger ones, I think he's a voice that they'd all listen to. Genuine superstar on and off the field, you'd find it impossible to find a bad word about the way he goes about things.
    Yes, Hird he is very well respected as you said the players always looked up to him - I have always said he is to Essendon what Chris Grant is to the Dogs. Both great footballers and role model types. I still remember Hird speaking via video link on Grant's testimonial the respect and mateship he showed for Grant was unbelievable.

I'd go the opposite way - I'd look at a bloke who had absolutely no natural talent who got the best out of himself. Premierships are generally won by your worst 5 blokes on the paddock, not the best 5. A non-champion honest trier would perhaps inspire the guys without the natural attributes to work harder, find ways of competing with different opponents & generally instil the moingrel instinct that evens up a contest where the talent ios one-sided.

Guys like Clarkson & Laidley seem to be working class sort of players - and with all due respect, Archer never struck me as the type with much natural talent. He is as North as the sun is hot, but if this is a wish list he'd be top for mine.

I'd go the opposite way - I'd look at a bloke who had absolutely no natural talent who got the best out of himself. Premierships are generally won by your worst 5 blokes on the paddock, not the best 5. A non-champion honest trier would perhaps inspire the guys without the natural attributes to work harder, find ways of competing with different opponents & generally instil the mongrel instinct that evens up a contest where the talent is one-sided.

Guys like Clarkson & Laidley seem to be working class sort of players - and with all due respect, Archer never struck me as the type with much natural talent. He is as North as the sun is hot, but if this is a wish list he'd be top for mine.
    Sounds like you have described Peter Dean.

So everyone is rattling off names of players they admire, great, but what role are these guys going to do?

Is Archer going to be "Shinboner Spirit" coach?

James Hird to teach them how to get their head in the paper?

I'd probably just want to bring back Brian Royal - he's had so much experience now he would just have to be an enormous benefit to any club

Quote Originally Posted by Sockeye Salmon View Post
    So everyone is rattling off names of players they admire, great, but what role are these guys going to do?

Is Archer going to be "Shinboner Spirit" coach?

James Hird to teach them how to get their head in the paper?
    I would keep it really simple - find the best junior coach I could get and just spend more - more - more time with the players in their first 3 years. I would also setup two mentor groups where the 4-6 year players are allocated one of the kids to mentor, and are in turn mentored by one of the 100+ gamers.

I am continually fascinated by what people think a 300-gamer can teach a draftee...the 300-gamer wont be able to remember what it was like to know nothing, they just do. You need the players a level down who still dont function totally on instinct to help the new boys who dont have any instincts (yet).

Reminds me of my league debut. "Just play your natural game". No worries coach...now, what exactly is my natural game again, and, remind me - where do I have to stand in the forward line zone for opposition kickouts, and when you say I have to play high at half-forward, what exactly does that mean and remind me again about the natural game part?

Id like to see paul hudson back at the club, Not really sure why, but i reckon he could teach a few guys a thing or two.

Reminds me of my league debut. "Just play your natural game". No worries coach...now, what exactly is my natural game again, and, remind me - where do I have to stand in the forward line zone for opposition kickouts, and when you say I have to play high at half-forward, what exactly does that mean and remind me again about the natural game part?
    I got a similar speech. "Just play your natural game. And if you get in Steve's (our gun forward) way I'll drag you in a minute".

First time I was within 30 yards of him I shit myself and bolted back to the wing.

Quote Originally Posted by aker39 View Post
    Darren also went to some bulldogs games when he it did not clash with his umpiring.

They are both footy tragics.

Darren would have ask much knowledge of AFL footy as anyone on this board.
    I was talking to his wife today and after asking how she thought the Dogs would go this year she mentioned that Darren had been offered a Gold family pass. At the time I thought she meant the AFL had made the offer but on reflection it might have been the club. I think they were considering going to the game on Friday but the time didn't suit them.

Quote Originally Posted by The Coon Dog View Post
    Mark Riccuitto. Just loved the way he went about it.
    same, I see a bit of him in Griffen..........

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.