https://www.theroar.com.au/2019/08/2...s-fan-al-tivy/

When I started this supporter series there was only one person I knew I would interview, and the rest I’d figured out along the way.
This individual is Al Tivy – plumber by trade, Western Bulldogs fanatic all day ’round.

I finally get a chance to have a chat with Al during a family dinner while he’s visiting Perth. I’m here as much for the roast dinner as I am for the interview. The drinks are in abundance but it’s the gravy that’s most free flowing.

Gifted into my family through a marriage later in life, Al is the only person who supports a Victorian team and is still invited inside our homes. In fact, he instituted our highly contested family footy tipping with upwards of 40 members at one point.

Having been born just six days after Footscray’s first VFL premiership in 1954, you could almost say that Al has supported the Bulldogs since the womb.

He tells me that his parents only loosely followed the footy, so it was through his local primary school that his love of the Doggies blossomed. Back in the ‘old days’ schools were given VFL tickets to share among students. He was always keen for the tickets and has recollection of being down at the formerly named Western Oval with his schoolmates, but he’s a little bit fuzzy on the details.

I come to discover that most of Al’s memories around this time are fuzzy. To be fair, he does have a few years on him. When I ask one particularly ‘historical’ question he looks at me incredulously and says, “How am I going to remember sh*t like that?!” He does, however, remember wearing John Schultz’s number.