Thanks Thanks:  159
Likes Likes:  1,293
Page 63 of 118 FirstFirst ... 13535455565758596061626364656667686970717273113 ... LastLast

Thread: Essendon

Re: Essendon

Beating Chris Scott in a GF would be the ultimate and probably the only thing that would compare to the heights of 2016.

Quote Originally Posted by EasternWest View Post
    Worst moment of 2021 was seeing him in raptures after their win over us.

BAD I've actually only ever seen us beat them live 3 times!
    Damn same for me. 2003, 2007 and 2018.

Looking back at those years maybe its a good thing we didn’t beat them this year.

I saw a win at Kardinia Park in 1995. We came from behind at half time and from memory we came from a long way back.

I was 23 and nearly got killed in the toilets after the game I kid you not I feared for my life. I nearly got the absolute crap punched out of me for simply wearing my beanie and scarf and I only escaped because the guy that tried to king hit me was pissed enough to miss. Never have I ventured into the toilet there again. Geelong is Compton.

Funnily enough the same thing happened to me deep in the last on Grand Final day. A bloke with a South jumper that read 'Wombat' on the back kept running up and down the aisle screaming off his head every time the Swans kicked a goal. When Tom kicked 'that goal' I ran up and down the aisle doing the same thing to which Wombat, who was sitting at the edge of the aisle proceeded to stand up and take a swing. He missed, fell over in front of me right in front of two coppers who failed to notice me dig my toes in as I jumped over him to take my seat. I do have a habit of stoking the ire of opposition supporters.

Unfortunately Wombat didn't get to see our drought breaking win because he was escorted out of the ground for being a nuffy who was able to dish it out but not take it.

6. Thanks Happy Days, jeemak thanked for this post
    Likes ratsmac, merantau, Bulldog4life liked this post

I saw a win at Kardinia Park in 1995. We came from behind at half time and from memory we came from a long way back.

I was 23 and nearly got killed in the toilets after the game I kid you not I feared for my life. I nearly got the absolute crap punched out of me for simply wearing my beanie and scarf and I only escaped because the guy that tried to king hit me was pissed enough to miss. Never have I ventured into the toilet there again. Geelong is Compton.

Funnily enough the same thing happened to me deep in the last on Grand Final day. A bloke with a South jumper that read 'Wombat' on the back kept running up and down the aisle screaming off his head every time the Swans kicked a goal. When Tom kicked 'that goal' I ran up and down the aisle doing the same thing to which Wombat, who was sitting at the edge of the aisle proceeded to stand up and take a swing. He missed, fell over in front of me right in front of two coppers who failed to notice me dig my toes in as I jumped over him to take my seat. I do have a habit of stoking the ire of opposition supporters.

Unfortunately Wombat didn't get to see our drought breaking win because he was escorted out of the ground for being a nuffy who was able to dish it out but not take it.
    Not sure why, but I feel really let down by Wombat. Assumed he'd be an altogether solid citizen

I'm sure he was fine when he wasn't drinking and his team wasn't losing a Grand Final.

Wombat sounds a bit like the bloke I saw In his Swans jumper at Harvey Norman in Braybrook on Grand Final day in 2005. He was *!*!*!*!ing massive and had actually bought an eskie full of stubbies into the store with him to watch the game on the biggest screen and the most comfy couch he could find. The last I saw the staff had formed a huddle in order to try and work out who was going to ask him to move on.

We got into some running fights up at Geelong in the late '70s and early '80s with the red haired, buck toothed local farmboys because they insisted on calling us western suburbs scum and we kept calling them cousin *!*!*!*!ing inbreds. Happy days.

10. Likes ratsmac liked this post

That sucks but I had to see Chris Grant do his knee in 2003 so I think my story is worse.

That’s so surprising about Wombat, usually adults who go to the footy in customised jumpers are very cool, chill and well-adjusted guys with loads of mates.

12. Likes azabob, jeemak, 1eyedog liked this post

What were South Melbourne supporters actually like? In ye ol' days.....

2009 was a good one - gave us so much promise for the finals…

I never had any issues with any of the other supporters with the exception of Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton in that order.
    But back then they were the power houses with the arrogant, entitled wanker supporters.

Also the Swans, Lions and the Dogs were all basically just trying to survive.

16. Thanks jeemak thanked for this post
    Likes bornadog liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Hotdog60 View Post
    I never had any issues with any of the other supporters with the exception of Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton in that order.
    But back then they were the power houses with the arrogant, entitled wanker supporters.

Also the Swans, Lions and the Dogs were all basically just trying to survive.
    I would've put Saints fans in that category too, when I was a kid. But from the early 2000's through to their flag missed against Collingwood and Geelong and their subsequent demise, I've found their supporters increasingly to be quite bitter, and resentful of the Dog's success. Probably with reason too; it's hard work as a supporter not having success, and then just missing out creates some bitterness.
    My two best mates are Saint's supporters, and I've noticed they can find it hard to acknowledge the Bulldogs when we're doing well. If the subject of the Dogs winning the 2016 flag comes up they always have to find a way imbue the conversation with a negative qualifier..as to why we were lucky, or we 'jagged' a premiership, or the field wasn't that strong that year....etc...
    And some of the behaviour and comments from fans around us at the Elimination Final last year, were just the worst and full of real bile.
    Last edited by GVGjr; 27-07-2021 at 10:04 AM. Reason: Fixed quote issue

18. Thanks jeemak, Topdog thanked for this post
    Likes 1eyedog liked this post

There's something quite nasty about some of the Saints fans, and it really came out to me at the 2009 preliminary final. A real white bogan, Nepean Hwy vibe about them.

I have always thought they weren't too bad. After the Gf they were coming up and congratulating us.