Thanks Thanks:  159
Likes Likes:  1,293
Page 88 of 118 FirstFirst ... 38787980818283848586878889909192939495969798 ... LastLast
Results 1,306 to 1,320 of 1762

Thread: Essendon

Re: Essendon

Robbo is Hindenburg at the end when he just dribbled due to Dementia.
    It's funny (probably not that funny) how history turns. If Von Papen had gone to see Hindenburg sooner and Hindenburg hadn't died the World would have been a much different place.

2. Likes Grantysghost liked this post

It's funny (probably not that funny) how history turns. If Von Papen had gone to see Hindenburg sooner and Hindenburg hadn't died the World would have been a much different place.
    It was an amazing amalgam of events that got them into power.
    The allies ruining their economy with reparations that were insanely over the top, then the Americans loaning them money to get back on their feet which they were doing until the crash of 29 and America called in all their loans.

Maybe that little corporal guy was right all along (43. 9 percent) they thought.

My understanding is they made him chancellor to try and control him... That went well!

Not a bad line up with more to come.

5. Likes Go_Dogs liked this post

Come for the drama, stay for the history lesson haha.

Do you reckon Campbell got in trouble for stealing Hird's haircut? It looks terrible on him.

7. Likes Grantysghost liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Boots View Post

Do you reckon Campbell got in trouble for stealing Hird's haircut? It looks terrible on him.
    For sure. He obviously went to Hird's hairdresser to get all the gossip and the powers that be at Essendon worked it out.

Quote Originally Posted by Boots View Post

Hair growth peptides.

10. Likes josie, Bulldog4life liked this post

The folly of Essendon and the completely flagrant disregard with which their coteries and executive treat their members is on display for all to see, and it beggars belief that no matter what the club dishes up the anger is so easily appeased through media mollycoddling and the odd sacrificial lamb offered up.

If we or the Saints and North dished twenty years of this dysfunctional bullshit up the entire competition would be calling for our relocation or cancellation from the league as we simply don't have the base support from complete fools to carry us on. The wastage of $600K in salary paid to a coach not to coach plus the soft tax would be enough for all league assistance to be pulled with total agreement from all clubs. There would be no mercy.

So culture aside, we cannot let whichever type of shit show it is that is happening at Essendon ever happen to us. We need to be a smart club that innovates and sweats its infrastructure/ assets and human resources, ensuring each are deployed as effectively/ efficiently as possible.

But mostly, we need to lift our game and make sure we offer our supporters the best experience our club can afford because we simply don't have the numbers they have to piss fart around with poor performance and poor treatment.

I really hope the club is watching what the Bombres are doing and making sure in whatever way they can it never happens to us.

12. Likes EasternWest, Bulldog4life, merantau liked this post

The folly of Essendon and the completely flagrant disregard with which their coteries and executive treat their members is on display for all to see, and it beggars belief that no matter what the club dishes up the anger is so easily appeased through media mollycoddling and the odd sacrificial lamb offered up.

If we or the Saints and North dished twenty years of this dysfunctional bullshit up the entire competition would be calling for our relocation or cancellation from the league as we simply don't have the base support from complete fools to carry us on. The wastage of $600K in salary paid to a coach not to coach plus the soft tax would be enough for all league assistance to be pulled with total agreement from all clubs. There would be no mercy.

So culture aside, we cannot let whichever type of shit show it is that is happening at Essendon ever happen to us. We need to be a smart club that innovates and sweats its infrastructure/ assets and human resources, ensuring each are deployed as effectively/ efficiently as possible.

But mostly, we need to lift our game and make sure we offer our supporters the best experience our club can afford because we simply don't have the numbers they have to piss fart around with poor performance and poor treatment.

I really hope the club is watching what the Bombres are doing and making sure in whatever way they can it never happens to us.
    Well it kinda sorta did happen to us.......

Whilst we didn't go to the same degree as what the bombers did/are. We had a very tumultuous time, Coach, Captain, CEO etc

Certainly one of the worst periods for the club this side of 2000.

Shows however, once you do get the right people, what can and does happen.

14. Likes azabob, hujsh, EasternWest liked this post

Terrific post Jee, I think most of the troubles we have experienced over the years was because we were a struggling club from a financial perspective and decisions were often made because of the financial pressures the club was under.
    All the turmoil we had during the Rose and Smorgan era as an example actually helped get the club to where it is now.

If we can manage ego's and keep the board united we have a bright future but the Essendon experience does highlight that groups within a club with their own agendas can contribute is a slow destruction of a club.

What makes the Essendon example so unique, in a sad and pathetic way, is that financially the club is one of the strongest in the competition but the internal arm wrestling since the peptide debacle has dragged them down.

Who knows if all these changes helps or hinders them but things can turn quickly in footy land and 12 months ago I was predicting that Collingwood would struggle on-field for the foreseeable future.

16. Likes josie liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by ReLoad View Post

Whilst we didn't go to the same degree as what the bombers did/are. We had a very tumultuous time, Coach, Captain, CEO etc

Sort of but no, because we had a strong administration with Peter Gordon heading the board, we were able to recover from those setbacks quickly.

I also think we have a strong administration at the moment and hopefully that will keep us strong into the future.

18. Likes josie liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by ReLoad View Post

Sort of but also sort of not.

I think a lot of our issues have been from an under resourced and low on confidence club trying to find a pathway to success but making bad decisions due to those two reasons. Cheap (Rohde) and limited (BMac) coaching appointments, lack of belief that we can be a big boy, constant fear that we are never far from slipping into North oblivion off field, we are either doing well for ou size a club or struggling.

Essendon on the other hand despite having all the advantages of being a big club, having amazing resources behind them and a "winning culture" continually make the same clearly misguided and borderline arrogant decisions that they think will "short cut" their way to their rightful position at the top of the tree, but continually get this shit wrong and refuse to learn from their mistakes and course correct.

20. Likes Sedat, jeemak, josie liked this post

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kfEXNDyKrlg

Essendon's 18 years since winning a final BIRTHDAY PARTY!!!

22. Likes josie, merantau liked this post

James and Tania Hird embroiled in alleged $30,000 scam after being ‘preyed on’ by tradies in organised crime group
    The AFL great and his wife Tania have allegedly been duped in bizarre circumstances.

https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/james...roup-c-8164144

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog4life View Post
    James and Tania Hird embroiled in alleged $30,000 scam after being ‘preyed on’ by tradies in organised crime group
    The AFL great and his wife Tania have allegedly been duped in bizarre circumstances.

The only way to right this wrong is to give the man a 5 year contract to coach Essendon

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog4life View Post

Dodoro Roofing apparently...
    "I'll give him a hug before the first bounce and then I'll run into my pack and give them orders to rip him apart."

26. Likes Mofra, Twodogs, The bulldog tragician liked this post