Thanks Thanks:  6
Likes Likes:  67
Page 1 of 12 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Always Right Match Committee Vs Carlton Round 6 2020

Welcome to the Always Right Match Committee Thread. The Match Committee threads has been named after long time WOOF member Always Right who tragically passed away in March 2018.

If you were on the Western Bulldogs match committee what changes would you make after our Round 5 match against North Melbourne for our Round 6, 2020 match against Carlton at Metricon on Sunday night?

For those new to these threads, please give a brief explanation for your changes ... this would add a lot of value to the discussion.
    WOOF Member 422

2. Likes BornInDroopSt'54 liked this post

Re: Always Right Match Committee Vs Carlton Round 6 2020

This is going to be difficult assuming Smith and Vandermeer pass the concussion test. May also depend on who decides not to go to GC. My gut feeling is Wally may decide not to go as his baby is only two weeks old.

In Hunter

Out Wallis (if he doesn't go to GC)

This is going to be difficult assuming Smith and Vandermeer pass the concussion test. May also depend on who decides not to go to GC. My gut feeling is Wally may decide not to go as his baby is only two weeks old.

In Hunter

Out Wallis (if he doesn't go to GC)
    Bevo said in his press conference that all the boys are going to GC, and they are hoping to bring partners and children. He seemed very confident that the AFL would approve families - I think the boys who are not yet married/have kids will get a few weeks of bachelor living.

He also essentially confirmed that Hunter would be coming in through the mid/forward rotations, but potentially not on a wing. He alluded to him playing an inside role during the scratch match, and performing well.

Where does that leave us for changes? I actually though Laitham had a depressed cheekbone when he was coming off, but seems to just be concussion - hopefully he gets up. Same for Bazlenka.

Lipinski and West are the last in to the mid/fwd rotations, but both played well enough to stay.

I would be happy with Jong (possibly injured anyway) for Hunter. Otherwise Vandermeer/Smith for Hunter if they don't get up.

Next in line to come in: Cal Porter, Ferg Greene (I want to see him given a chance this season), Butler. Last in line: Billy.

Would have thought Hunter replaces Vandemeer. I think it is prudent to be conservative with the recovery from concussion of a first year player, and Hunter must come in. Hopefully Baz comes up - but I'm not against him being given another week also.

I just want to say how much I miss Always Right.

He'd relish this game. To his young fella who still posts on this board, thankfully, mate what a legend your dad was.

7. Likes Scraggers, Mofra, soupman, Dry Rot, Max469 liked this post

It was in a lot of ways a pretty tough game.

Latham and Baz will most likely miss next week. Hunter to replace Baz, and I reckon Suckling will come back in for Latham.

Out:
    Smith and Vandermeer (Now days concussion usually means a week off)

In:
    Hunter and Weightman or Greene (I had forgotten about Fergus until I did the ratings thread)

If Jong doesn't come up I'd go for Butler
    Last edited by Hotdog60; 05-07-2020 at 07:47 AM. Reason: Another option

I am concerned that Crozier gets a week for the sling tackle.

Butler would probably be in line for his spot.

In Bevo's members message he noted Trengove, Porter, Hunter and Weightman playing well in the scratch match so if you can take anything out of that those 4 may be in the mix.
    Also mentioned Jong may miss some weeks even though he battled on.

I would suggest both Smith and Vandermeer will miss and Bevo flagged that Ling struggled through the game

So, in Hunter, Suckling and Hayes/Weightman

Out: Jong, Smith, Vendermeer

In: Hunter, Weightman, Porter

14. Likes azabob liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog Joe View Post
    I am concerned that Crozier gets a week for the sling tackle.

Butler would probably be in line for his spot.
    There is no way known he goes for that
    Free kick , but he had the ball

I would suggest both Smith and Vandermeer will miss and Bevo flagged that Ling struggled through the game

So, in Hunter, Suckling and Hayes/Weightman
    Bruh

I don't mind the no risk approach with concussions, but it's a real shame if Smith and Vandermeer have to miss, particularly the latter who was having a pretty incredible game up until his incident. Still we suddenly look very deep again so won't mind them being spelled.

I'd bring in Cavarra ahead of Weightman and Hayes. Get a terrible feeling we're going to get Gowers though.

Out: Jong
    In: Hunter

It was clear Jongy hurt his ankle again but he fought the game out well. I’m hoping Smith and Vanda will be fine to go. I’ll be honest, I know nothing about concussions and protocols that should be taken but their concussions where what I would consider light (from a football perspective).

And please no way known Crozier gets a week for that tackle. Please no.

The good thing is we now seem to have great depth so I’m not too worried against the blues if we have to replace a couple.

On a side note, why are we playing Sunday night before then playing Friday night against Essendon??? Surely we could have been slotted in the Saturday arvo. Or even the early Sunday game.