Thanks Thanks:  13
Likes Likes:  126
Page 37 of 43 FirstFirst ... 2728293031323334353637383940414243 LastLast

Re: WB Game Day V Brisbane Lions R11 2020

In any other season playing two top four interstate teams on their home ground and getting these results maybe more palletable? Trying to find some balance.
    I'd back us against Port and Lions at Marvel.
    I agree wholeheartedly, but I also had to walk away from the T.V. A couple of times tonight. So very frustrating
    WOOF Member 422

2. Likes Grantysghost liked this post

Scoreboard flattered us tonight. That was as poor as all our other losses with the exception of Port.

The 'handball club' is obsolete. The top teams in the comp move it quickly, gain territory and then lock it in their forward half, whereas we are the opposite relying on precision delivery and 'attractive' goals. If we can't hit a target the ball trampolines out of our F50 with ridiculous ease.

Quote Originally Posted by whythelongface View Post
    I feel that there are signs of a good team with a good core of young players. We need some complimentary players. Really need our mids to step up.
    Yeah no doubt we arent good enough to challenge for the flag but we are a young work in progress and are heading in the right direction.

Quote Originally Posted by KT31 View Post
    We had a fair crack and showed more endeavour in the 3rd and early last, well prior to cue in the rack.
    Previous weeks this would have been a 50 hiding.
    Nah cue was in the rack early in the 3rd once they got out to over 6 goals

Boys ran the game out. Credit there.

Time to clean out our coaching department. Either sack Bevo, or sack Grant, or sack King. Or Maple. Or Graham. Make a change FFS.

Our game plan is just not going to cut it with the big boys.

Scoreboard flattered us tonight. That was as poor as all our other losses with the exception of Port.

The 'handball club' is obsolete. The top teams in the comp move it quickly, gain territory and then lock it in their forward half, whereas we are the opposite relying on precision delivery and 'attractive' goals. If we can't hit a target the ball trampolines out of our F50 with ridiculous ease.
    Died circa 2017

Yeah Dunkley was awful tonight. Complete no show

Loving Bevo's move of Keath onto Hipwood in the last quarter. Talk about timely.

Quote Originally Posted by KT31 View Post
    A plus is I feel we have fought it out Tonight and not capitulated.
    Yep completely belted in the centre square in the second quarter - unacceptable - lifted in the second half thankfully

Some poor positioning and work rate at times tonight - overall too many passengers but some positive signs for some - always something to be achieved in a game of footy

Died circa 2017
    Bevo is nothing if not stubborn

13. Likes Grantysghost liked this post

As terrible as we were tonight. It’s easy to forget how weird this season is. They are living in their homes. Training in their normal environment. Playing on their home ground. It’s a massive advantage. We are like nomads. Without a home.

Even West Coast struggled with that. We should keep that that in mind as we judge the team and this year.

15. Likes Grantysghost liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by chef View Post
    Yeah no doubt we arent good enough to challenge for the flag but we are a young work in progress and are heading in the right direction.
    I reckon you are right. It takes 5 or 6 years to build a premiership list. We won 2016 literally out of nowhere which may have given us false hope for immediate sustained success. We have had a high turnover since then and it takes time to build up the list. Probably 2022 will be our next genuine tilt. I just hope some of the other teams don’t overtake us.

17. Likes chef liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by bulldogsthru&thru View Post
    Yeah Dunkley was awful tonight. Complete no show
    Both he and Naughton will take time to find form after their injuries. Due to the nature of the season they may not even be 100 %.

In any other season playing two top four interstate teams on their home ground and getting these results maybe more palletable? Trying to find some balance.
    I'd back us against Port and Lions at Marvel.
    No mate, everything's normal!

Of course we'd do these teams at Marvel. We'd do almost anyone there if playing well.

To me this isn't one to melt down over, nobody thinks we're as good as Brisbane and we really shat the bed in the second quarter through people in our team who should be leading not leading.

20. Likes Grantysghost liked this post