Thanks Thanks:  213
Likes Likes:  888
Page 41 of 122 FirstFirst ... 31323334353637383940414243444546474849505191 ... LastLast

Re: List Management for 2020/21

You'd have to be a complete moron to even suggest trading Dunkley...….

2. Thanks chef thanked for this post
    Likes SquirrelGrip, 1eyedog, azabob, GVGjr liked this post

I like what you did there.

FWIW Dunks really is Bevo's darling and Bont's best mate there is no way he is going anywhere.

4. Likes jeemak liked this post

Maybe start a thread to gauge how people will react?

6. Likes jeemak liked this post

Maybe start a thread to gauge how people will react?
    It's a bit early in the day for that...….or late in the day.

8. Likes azabob liked this post

So apparently Andy Maher raised Hunters name as a possible trade.

For mine Hunter is our 2nd most important midfielder behind Bontempelli.

Oh yeah...…..because why?

Because we need less two way running in our midfield? Because we're flushed with elite wingers? Because things didn't go perfectly after he shat the bed by getting hammered and smashing up a bunch of cars? Because he finished clearly top ten in our best and fairest after playing half a season?

DOOR REMAINS OPEN FOR GUN DOG TO DEPART

Western Bulldogs star Lachie Hunter has yet again been linked with a trade away from the Whitten Oval.

In August, veteran AFL journalist Caroline Wilson reported Hunter’s relationship with the Bulldogs had broken down, leading to talk of a possible move at the end of the season.

However, despite Luke Beveridge being taken back by the ‘made up’ speculation at a press conference, SEN’s Andy Maher believes the door remained ajar.

“He (Hunter) is contracted until 2024 but I’m told that it may not be out of the question,” he said on SEN’s Bob and Andy.

https://coupler.foxsports.com.au/api...mpression=true

Oh yeah...…..because why?

Because we need less two way running in our midfield? Because we're flushed with elite wingers? Because things didn't go perfectly after he shat the bed by getting hammered and smashing up a bunch of cars? Because he finished clearly top ten in our best and fairest after playing half a season?
    It seriously is a rubbish article.

13. Likes jeemak, Bulldog4life liked this post

Hmm, the only reason I worry about that is he works with Bob.

If it’s player driven what can we do ? Hopefully talk him around, if there’s any substance.

I stopped reading after the name Caroline Wilson .

It seriously is a rubbish article.
    I hate journos writing bs articles just to get a reaction

Yep. Like all trade talk a lot of it is clutching at straws. Yet we all fall into it, hook line and sinker.

18. Likes bornadog liked this post

Ahhh that golden period between the final round of home & away and trade week when journos can cheekily plop any old turd they please into the bowl safe in the knowledge it'll make the requisite splash.

We need a thread of mooted moves we can revisit later for amusement purposes.

20. Likes azabob liked this post

Finals always throw up some interesting selection dilemmas and one caught my eye. Richmond dropped Jake Aarts for last night game and for me would suit us to fill our glaring small pressure forward weakness. Played 14 games and impressed me as I thought he was nothing more than your average VFL level player. Knows where the goals are and comes in a bit older than your average TAC graduate. Has obviously got lost amongst Richmonds glut of his type (Rioli, Pickett, Higgins, Castagna, Baker and Bolton) similar to Butler last year and may be a bit pissed off and possibly gettable. Thoughts?

22. Likes GVGjr liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Mitcha View Post
    Finals always throw up some interesting selection dilemmas and one caught my eye. Richmond dropped Jake Aarts for last night game and for me would suit us to fill our glaring small pressure forward weakness. Played 14 games and impressed me as I thought he was nothing more than your average VFL level player. Knows where the goals are and comes in a bit older than your average TAC graduate. Has obviously got lost amongst Richmonds glut of his type (Rioli, Pickett, Higgins, Castagna, Baker and Bolton) similar to Butler last year and may be a bit pissed off and possibly gettable. Thoughts?
    I don't mind Aarts but I think there's more upside to someone like Higgins. Think there's a relationship with Bailey Smith there somewhere too. Considering his recent health problems if he wanted to go I dare say the Tigers would make it happen pretty easily.

Edit : Excerpt from article re Bailey and Higgins friendship.

BONDING WITH BILLY AND ‘HIGGO’

It’s this footy camaraderie that has kept Smith more motivated about the game than anything else — a camaraderie he first felt in Year 7 when he was running water for the Xavier College first XVIII team. At the time, Billy Gowers — who was the Western Bulldogs’ leading goalkicker in 2018 — was the team’s pin-up boy — and Smith’s hero.

“He learnt my name one of those days and from then on he’d always say hi to me. That was probably the most memorable moment, honestly, of my young football journey,” Smith said.

One day in the same year, Smith came across another footy-mad kid after an East Malvern Knights training session.

“Do you want to have a kick?” Jack ‘Snags’ Higgins — Richmond’s 2018 cult hero — asked Smith at the time.

Jack Higgins gave Tigers fans lots of joy in 2018.

And a friendship was born. Albeit, their definition of friendship — covering anywhere from 10 to 13km in three or four training sessions a week during summer at Gosch’s Paddock — is very different to how others would define it. But Smith wouldn’t change a thing, as it helped develop an extraordinary work ethic.

“It was draining and so hard, but I’m so thankful for him taking me under his wing … I just wanted to follow him,” Smith said,

“We created such a good bond because we have such similar interests. We both want to get the best out of our footy and we’re willing to do almost anything for it.”

And Smith’s not joking when he says “almost anything”.

24. Likes SquirrelGrip liked this post