Thanks Thanks:  17
Likes Likes:  30
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Re: Western Oval Memories

I could write a book on Western Oval (Whitten Oval) memories. I saw my first game there in 1956. It was Charlie Sutton's last game at the ground. I remember the Peanut Man with his ginormous bag of peanuts, the peppercorns, collecting Boon Spa bottles and cashing them in, getting off the bus and walking past the Tweddle Baby Hospital and the Drill Hall, rushing into the ground to get a good spot, the Hyde Street Band, the mounted policeman and women, the race results going up on the scoreboard, the half-time scores from other games too, the endless procession of vehicles crossing Mt Mistake, the guys who used to set up a barbeque on the railway foot bridge and sell snags, the can bar below the Whitten Stand, the gamut of emotions felt during a game, the roar of the crowd, the crush of the crowd exiting the ground all eager to get on the first bus back to Braybrook and points further west.
    And then there were the games. I remember carving up Fitzroy in 1958. We were rock bottom and they were in the four. We won by 15 goals. One of the trainers stood in front of the grandstand and waved a towel for what seemed like the entire last quarter. Ray Baxter came on in the last quarter and kicked three goals. I remember Ted Whitten coping an elbow in the guts from Alan Morrow as they contested a boundary throw-in in front of the grandstand. The eruption of vitriol directed at Morrow was volcanic. We won the game. I loved standing out in the elements barracking for the Dogs. One of my favourite games was against Carlton when we kept them goalless until the 27 minute mark of the last quarter. Mark Arceri got a very dubious free kick paid against Super at the Geelong Road end. I was very close to it and there was no way he was collected high. It was an absolutely freezing day. Rain pelted down in the second half. The ground was awash but, by god, did you feel proud of the players for the effort they put in. Libber was an absolute Titan in the wet. The nonpareil wet weather footballer. I drove down from Bendigo to the last game against West Coast. It was snowing at Leonards Hill. (I took the scenic route via Daylesford) Famous last victory at the ground. I'm sure Michael Gardiner will never forget it! The last home and away game in '61 against Geelong was epic. Ted Whitten kicked two drop kick goals in the second quarter which Lou Richards said, in Monday's Sun 'went 85 yards' Truly, they were the two longest goals I ever saw kicked. He was out on the EJ Smith Stand side of the ground I remember this Geelong supporter saying, "Look at the idiot. He's going to have a shot!" Me, a 12 year old kid snapped back, "He'll kick it!" And he did. Can you imagine how I felt when I said to the bloke, 'Who's an idiot now?' And then a few minutes later he did it again. We won the game and the rest is history. I remember a young bloke who used to stand in front of the EJ Whitten. He was very funny. Had a deep voice. Felt Simon Beasley lacked mongrel, not courage. Whenever Beeser got near an opponent he'd bellow, "You're an animal Beasley. You'll hurt someone one day you mongrel!" All in jest. We used to piss ourselves laughing. Simon was a great favourite with the crowd. An out and out champion. Loved footy at the Western/Whitten Oval.
    Last edited by merantau; 15-07-2015 at 07:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by merantau View Post
    I remember the Peanut Man with his ginormous bag of peanuts, the peppercorns,
    Matty Boyd's Grandfather

Really? That is great. I must tell a mate of mine who also remembers the Peanut Man.

Everyone remembers the peanut man .. I swear he had dopplegangers he seemed to be at VFL games AFL games all
    At the same time.

Great post Merantau. It all came rushing back as I read.

Quote Originally Posted by ledge View Post
    Everyone remembers the peanut man .. I swear he had dopplegangers he seemed to be at VFL games AFL games all
    At the same time.
    Just on the peanut man, i remember watching A Current Affair in the 80's. Mike Willesee introduced a story on sex shops and they then crossed to an intrepid reporter outside one. Well he ventured inside with the cameraman in tow and who should be behind the counter... the peanut man.

7. Likes WBFC4FFC liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by HOSE B ROMERO View Post
    Just on the peanut man, i remember watching A Current Affair in the 80's. Mike Willesee introduced a story on sex shops and they then crossed to an intrepid reporter outside one. Well he ventured inside with the cameraman in tow and who should be behind the counter... the peanut man.
    The name of the business was Wathen's newsagency. I remember walking in there one morning after being asked to collect their newspaper orders for the week. The shop had explicit porno magazines hanging from lines across the shop by clothes pegs. Johnny Boyd would hand me the orders and kindly offer me a paper bag to put them in. I would walk out of the shop with a paper bag which everyone would assume contained porno magazines. Quite a character Johnny Boyd.
    I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

Just talking to a mate over here and he remembers The Peanut Man being at Port Melbourne games in the 60s.

Quote Originally Posted by merantau View Post
    Just talking to a mate over here and he remembers The Peanut Man being at Port Melbourne games in the 60s.
    He was a regular at Port throughout the 70's and early 80's when I followed them also.
    [CENTER][B]WOOF Member 315[/B][/CENTER]

Quote Originally Posted by ledge View Post
    At the same time.
    There were actually twin brothers who covered Vic Park and Princes Park on the same day. True story. A pair of older, portly gentlemen. It caused a great deal of confusuin and some arguments.

Quote Originally Posted by always right View Post
    The name of the business was Wathen's newsagency. I remember walking in there one morning after being asked to collect their newspaper orders for the week. The shop had explicit porno magazines hanging from lines across the shop by clothes pegs. Johnny Boyd would hand me the orders and kindly offer me a paper bag to put them in. I would walk out of the shop with a paper bag which everyone would assume contained porno magazines. Quite a character Johnny Boyd.
    Was Johnny Boyd the peanut man?

Yes....John was the peanut man.
    I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

14. Thanks Twodogs thanked for this post

Quote Originally Posted by always right View Post
    Yes....John was the peanut man.

Wonder if he's any relation?

Matty Boyd's Grandfather
    Wonder if he's any relation?
    Relation to who?

I was thinking Tom. Didn't think about Keithy until after I posted.