Thanks Thanks:  14
Likes Likes:  80
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Re: How good is Libba - I declare, he is an A grader

Quote Originally Posted by RCWB View Post
    I wonder if the shorter game time/turnaround between games has helped Libba body-wise this year? I thought he was unfortunately cooked and his best may have been behind him, but his 2020 has been absolutely sensational.
    Really good point. I quite like the shorter quarters. It seems like players iced the clock less to me and there wasn't as much chipping the ball around to run the click down.

Less stress when we were in front too. You'd look at the clock and realise there was much less time to go than you thought.

Quote Originally Posted by RCWB View Post
    I wonder if the shorter game time/turnaround between games has helped Libba body-wise this year? I thought he was unfortunately cooked and his best may have been behind him, but his 2020 has been absolutely sensational.
    He attributed some of his season to the shorter quarters in an interview on SEN which BAD shared in this thread. Interesting chat, also getting plenty of time in the sea by the sounds of it, and less time on the track. He's probably getting heaps more time to invest in recovery than normal.

3. Thanks N/A thanked for this post
    Likes WBFC4FFC liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by SonofScray View Post
    He attributed some of his season to the shorter quarters in an interview on SEN which BAD shared in this thread. Interesting chat, also getting plenty of time in the sea by the sounds of it, and less time on the track. He's probably getting heaps more time to invest in recovery than normal.
    I was about to say the same thing.

I am now wondering if BAD actually listened to the interview!

I was about to say the same thing.

I am now wondering if BAD actually listened to the interview!
    Thanks mate, I did, but was in the background whilst working

The only time Libba hasn't been an A Grader since 2011 has been when he's injured and in 2017 when he took an unscheduled mental gap year. You could throw in a few weeks late in season 2012 when he took an unfortunate detour down King St at 4am on a Sunday morning, but even that was perversely impressive as he still got to training on time a few short hours later.

He is a star and still the 2nd best player on our list. His skill, vision, decision making and footy IQ are off the charts, and yet the media still think of him as little more than an in-and-under mid. He is that and so much more.

In 45 years of watching footy, I can only think of Greg Williams and maybe Sam Mitchell who have better vision and cleaner hands than Libba in traffic. That's pretty good company and well deserved.
    Well said Sedat. Agree whole heartedly.

#1 in the AFL for clearances
    #4 in the AFL for pressure acts
    #6 in the AFL for contested possessions
    #8 in the AFL for tackles

The Pressure King, Tom Liberatore.

Tom Liberatore’s output has been as important as any member of the Western Bulldogs’ midfield in 2021.

The 28-year-old hasn’t missed a game since the opening two weeks of 2020.

His performances last year saw him finish third in the Bulldogs’ best and fairest.

This year, he’s having a big impact again, and helping the likes of Marcus Bontempelli, Jack Macrae and Adam Treloar to do the same.

Liberatore is ranked among the competition’s elite in a number of areas.

His clearance work is a the top of the list.

Liberatore is the AFL’s leading clearance winner after six rounds, with 49, three clear of Hawthorn’s Jaeger O’Meara.

He ranks fourth for pressure acts with 159 – a tally led by a member of this week’s opposition, Jack Graham (167).

His ability to win the ball at ground level is fifth – just two behind four players tied for top spot – and he’s ranked sixth for contested possessions, and eighth for tackles.

On the offensive end, no midfielder has more score launches than Liberatore.

He sits eighth overall with 19 – surrounded by ruckmen from first to seventh, and ninth.

Plus being sixth in the competition for delivering the ball inside-50.

Not a bad start to the season for the influential Bulldog, who notched his 150th game back in round two.

8. Thanks josie, Topdog, Smads57 thanked for this post

Absolute gun

Irreplaceable.

The last player I want to see with a long term injury, well on a par with Bontempelli.

Please delete this post... this post is a red card offence.

13. Likes Topdog, jeemak liked this post

Please delete this post... this post is a red card offence.
    Also the guy I'd want kicking for goal after the siren to win the Grand Final...

Crap! I'm making it worse.

021 AFL League Total Clearances Leaders (Minimum 2 Games Played)
    Rank Player Team Games Clearances for Last Game Total
    1 Thomas Liberatore Bulldogs 9 12 v Port Adelaide, Round 9 84
    2 Hugh Greenwood Suns 9 7 v Brisbane, Round 9 64
    3 Jacob Hopper Giants 9 11 v Richmond, Round 9 57
    3 Jarryd Lyons Lions 9 9 v Gold Coast, Round 9 57

Turned 29 Today

16. Thanks Smads57, 1eyedog thanked for this post

It's unreal how he just charges into that danger area right under the ruckmen, right at their toenails. Other players just can't go with him, and if they dare, his hands are too good and quick.