Thanks Thanks:  81
Likes Likes:  553
Page 26 of 50 FirstFirst ... 161718192021222324252627282930313233343536 ... LastLast

Re: Jamarra - How excited are YOU???

Interesting how important Bruce has been and answered questions about his ability to score against good opponents. In these three games:

Bruce 7.4
    Naughton 4.1
    English 2.0 (in two games)
    Please don't count the 3 junk time goals vs Melbourne.

Exactly. That was one of the best goals I have seen from a guy 197cm, running flat out along the boundary, 50m wrong side of goal for a left footer and split the goals.
    Given the way he kicks it he was probably on the right side for him, a bit like Buddy in that he isn't a hooker of the footy......but that's splitting hairs and you're right, it was a cracking goal.

Didn't he kick one in the second against the Dees?

Were you happy with his game Friday?

Kicked a junk time goal the following week against Fremantle but he was very good against the Cats
    He's kicked goals in every game this year which is a great achievement.

Didn't he kick one in the second against the Dees?

Were you happy with his game Friday?
    I've only watched the first quarter so it's hard to comment.

Friday I had work till 7pm then juniors (14yo) after that on Friday...and the thought of staying up until midnight to watch us lose to an after the siren goal kicked by Rohan was not inspiring. I had work and footy to coach Sat then work and footy to watch Sunday.

I watched the 1st q last night and he didn't do much but hope to watch the rest of the game tonight.

A Geelong mate has been whinging to me non-stop about the umpiring (specifically lack of HTB calls and Libber throwing it) but I didn't see much of it in what I watched (maybe a throw on the camera side wing late in the last). Surprised more hasn't been made of the clear holding free not paid to Weightman tho in q1 - how did the umpire not pay that?? Off topic so apologies.

6. Likes SonofScray liked this post

Surprised more hasn't been made of the clear holding free not paid to Weightman tho in q1 - how did the umpire not pay that?? Off topic so apologies.
    Cody is a living emoji and I love him heaps but he's kinda made his own bed here by going down just a little too easily/obviously/frequently/

8. Likes Ghost Dog liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Vred View Post
    I'm just not sold on JUH.
    Before Covid hit he wasn't even top 10 talks, then suddenly covid hit, no one is playing any football and the media start blowing smoke up his ass and propel him to number 1 in a matter of months (same thing I'm seeing happening with Sam Darcy, from not even top 40 to all of a sudden being touted as potential top 5).

JUH's VFL games have been average, at best, really bad work rate in some games, doesn't really impact contests as much as he should be, the only thing going for him is his a great shot at goal. Couple this with the off-field stuff, the constant partying, clubbing, reports of drug taking at festivals, and *!*!*!*!ing Fev as some type of mentor, and I just don't see it. I get the feeling his gonna be one of the worst number 1 picks in a long time.

I hope he proves me wrong but I'm just not sold.
    That's absolute nonsense he was viewed as a top 5 prospect all through 2019 in AFL Draft Watch, in AFL Draft Central (assumed he'd go @ 1 dated September 2019), even the HUN were calling him the next Buddy Franklin in 2019.

Where are you hearing he's on the bickies at parties? He comes and was raised in Framlingham, an old Aboriginal Mission north-east of Warrnambool with ZERO drug tolerance i.e. no drugs anywhere ever allowed in the Mish. He does not have a history of being a party animal, or of ever taking drugs. Perhaps he's changed over the past two years but I have followed him closely for my own reasons and nowhere have I seen anything that connects him to a party lifestyle, or drug taking, no word of mouth, no-one who knows him (and I have spoken to quite a few people from Framlingham), and no word of this from any social media around him?

Where are you getting your info from please?

You should have a look at this to help you break down the stereotypical view.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_KmdbHF5AI

Jamarra is a solid citizen.
    Last edited by 1eyedog; 21-06-2021 at 02:19 PM. Reason: Bolded relevant sections

10. Thanks jeemak thanked for this post

Quote Originally Posted by Vred View Post
    I'm just not sold on JUH.
    Before Covid hit he wasn't even top 10 talks, then suddenly covid hit, no one is playing any football and the media start blowing smoke up his ass and propel him to number 1 in a matter of months (same thing I'm seeing happening with Sam Darcy, from not even top 40 to all of a sudden being touted as potential top 5).

JUH's VFL games have been average, at best, really bad work rate in some games, doesn't really impact contests as much as he should be, the only thing going for him is his a great shot at goal. Couple this with the off-field stuff, the constant partying, clubbing, reports of drug taking at festivals, and *!*!*!*!ing Fev as some type of mentor, and I just don't see it. I get the feeling his gonna be one of the worst number 1 picks in a long time.

I hope he proves me wrong but I'm just not sold.
    Have you got any links to these reports? I've seen nothing anywhere even indicating it

BTW a link to an article from February last year

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl...746807b9011871

And one nominating him as a likely top draft pick from 2019

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/...27-p53eow.html

Cody is a living emoji and I love him heaps but he's kinda made his own bed here by going down just a little too easily/obviously/frequently/
    Yeah he smiles a bit to much. Like a kid trying to steal the candy.

He'll come good. Have some faith.

Quote Originally Posted by Ghost Dog View Post
    Yeah he smiles a bit to much. Like a kid trying to steal the candy.
    Yeah he's gonna annoy the hell out of opposition supporters.

I forgot we don't count 'junk time' goals.

16. Likes jeemak liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Ozza View Post
    Deduct one that was kicked in the second quarter.

2021 AFL League Total Goals Leaders (Minimum 3 Games Played)

Most Goals kicked by a Bulldog for some time

Quote Originally Posted by Ozza View Post
    We don’t count junk time goals or goals against North or goals where someone else passes the ball to the goalkicker or goals where the commentary thinks that the goalkicker wasn’t trying to kick.

So Bruce has actually kicked zero goals this year. What a bust.

We don’t count junk time goals or goals against North or goals where someone else passes the ball to the goalkicker or goals where the commentary thinks that the goalkicker wasn’t trying to kick.

So Bruce has actually kicked zero goals this year. What a bust.
    Love it.

It’s like when talking cricket….”yeah but if you take away that double century he hit, then he’s only averaging 30 on this tour”

Yeah….but you don’t take away the double century….because it happened.