What was the taunting in the prelim?

Sounds like it might be time for me to watch that game again

2. Likes Twodogs liked this post

Re: John Patton in big strife

Quote Originally Posted by Topdog View Post

There's a point, I think in the 3rd or 4th quarter, where Patton marks and goals. I think he took the mark over Boyd? Either way Boyd was in the area and Patton rubs it in his face after kicking the goal. It was directed straight at Boyd.

4. Thanks Topdog thanked for this post

Quote Originally Posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot View Post
    Normally I'm pretty happy to give blokes the benefit of the doubt, especially when their career has been curtailed by injury. But not in this case. Patton has been a flog of the highest order, and he strikes me as one of those who by dint of his size, lorded over others, and was pandered to by junior coaches.
    I've had first hand experience with those types in Qld, being in the same class as Julian O'Neil.
    They get a free pass for their behaviour from those who could hold them to account because they don't want to risk them going elsewhere.
    It does those kids a disservice later in life.
    I'll never forget how Parton cruelly taunted Tom Boyd in the preliminary. So glad that it backfired.

Patton will not be missed by me.
    Is that the rugby league Julian O’Neill? Quality bloke wasn’t he!!! Urinating in a casino; defecating in a teammate’s shoe - the infamous ‘poo in the shoe’ incident. I digress. Back to Patton - his behaviour has been appalling and he should have been sacked (not just stood down) immediately by Hawthorn (and the AFL) for his indiscretions as what he did was abhorrent. Assuming he is still facing criminal charges for his actions.

I’d take any excuse to watch that game again.

7. Likes Topdog liked this post

One of the reasons I couldn't stand him:

I remember reading that quote and thinking that particular group of GWS players would never win a flag*. That statement screams entitlement and an attitude that success would just happen for them without sacrificing anything or working hard.

*I didn't think that we would at the time either but that's another story!

I remember reading that quote and thinking that particular group of GWS players would never win a flag*. That statement screams entitlement and an attitude that success would just happen for them without sacrificing anything or working hard.

*I didn't think that we would at the time either but that's another story!
    Also funny how so many of them ended up leaving anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by bulldogsthru&thru View Post
    There's a point, I think in the 3rd or 4th quarter, where Patton marks and goals. I think he took the mark over Boyd? Either way Boyd was in the area and Patton rubs it in his face after kicking the goal. It was directed straight at Boyd.
    I think it was Rory Lobbe who was rucking at the time pushing forward to take what was a pretty good mark running back and across into a pack with Boyd trailing a bit behind.

Anyway, you can clearly see Patton taunting Boydy Boydy or something similar.........not the worst thing that's happened on a footy field.

I think it was Rory Lobbe who was rucking at the time pushing forward to take what was a pretty good mark running back and across into a pack with Boyd trailing a bit behind.

Anyway, you can clearly see Patton taunting Boydy Boydy or something similar.........not the worst thing that's happened on a footy field.
    No not the worst, but it really smacked of schoolboyish bullying, where Patton makes an inane comment and all his droogs laugh slavishly at his 'wit'.

Don't get me wrong I hated him for it and think he's a massive wanker.

He franked it at Marvel the next year from memory.

Just an average player.

Ah that’s what happened. I’ll need to rewatch the game in it’s entirety to refresh my memory.

The incident on its own is nothing. But it serves to point to the type of person Jono is, conforming his comments about Boyd earlier on.

The conversation has certainly moved away from the reasons why he is now out of the game. The rest of it is a bit irrelevant to be honest. The fact is he just isn't a decent bloke

16. Likes Max469, Happy Days liked this post

So Jon Patton forced out for lewd photos and disrespect. Good.

Wayne Carey has been guilty of sexual assault and violent incidents towards women. He is front and centre of channel Seven commentary where everyone fawns over his opinions, and has a weekly column at the so-called leftie publication The Age.

Good riddance to Patton ( I also remember him taunting our Lewy Young) but we still have a long long way to go.

Quote Originally Posted by The bulldog tragician View Post
    So Jon Patton forced out for lewd photos and disrespect. Good.

Wayne Carey has been guilty of sexual assault and violent incidents towards women. He is front and centre of channel Seven commentary where everyone fawns over his opinions, and has a weekly column at the so-called leftie publication The Age.

Good riddance to Patton ( I also remember him taunting our Lewy Young) but we still have a long long way to go.
    I do what I can to not listen too him. I'm hoping enough enough people acknowledge he's been a despicable man the ratings will push him out. Not sure I've got enough mates to make that happen though

19. Likes Yankee Hotel Foxtrot liked this post

The conversation has certainly moved away from the reasons why he is now out of the game. The rest of it is a bit irrelevant to be honest. The fact is he just isn't a decent bloke
    I don't know about that. The point started out being that Patton is a dispicable wanker and got himself in this situation. The conversation hasn't verged far from the point that he virtually blew up his career himself because he is a dispicable wanker I reckon.