Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  28
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Re: Three things you've learned. Round four 2021 v Brisbane at Ballarat.

We would have to give up a fair bit for Nankervis. A first rounder I reckon. We've already given up our second and third rounders from this draft I would think that we'd be looking at trading out a couple of first team players to get back in the draft than giving up draft choices.

Hopefully Martin will be keen and capable of going on next year.
    We need to find someone who is serving an apprenticeship now but capable of being a number 1 ruckman in 2 years.
    I just glad that it's been proven to Bevo that ruckman still have a place in our side and I hope that he knows we need to add someone who can play that role during the trade and recruiting periods.

2. Likes josie, Sedat liked this post

We need to find someone who is serving an apprenticeship now but capable of being a number 1 ruckman in 2 years.
    I just glad that it's been proven to Bevo that ruckman still have a place in our side and I hope that he knows we need to add someone who can play that role during the trade and recruiting periods.
    What are the options?

I don't think we need a superstar- a player similar to Martin (even age wise) would be fine.

Quote Originally Posted by The Bulldogs Bite View Post
    What are the options?

I don't think we need a superstar- a player similar to Martin (even age wise) would be fine.
    We could go down the the road of topping up with experienced types each year or two or make an investment in a ruckman much like we did with English.
    The other options is to go hard at a player like Ladhams or Darcy.

The important thing is that for years we have resisted this approach and now I think most of the supporters see the merit in having some depth in the role especially when English has proven he has a lot of ability up forward.

It sounds like Jordan Sweet if he was at another club.

I'm OK with a player who is an actual ruckman. Not a bloke who happens to be the right height and plays a bit of time as a ruckman when they aren't playing in defence of attack. If Martin has taught us anything, it's that ruckmen are a specialist players who spend years learning their craft. They aren't just tall.

We would have to give up a fair bit for Nankervis. A first rounder I reckon. We've already given up our second and third rounders from this draft I would think that we'd be looking at trading out a couple of first team players to get back in the draft than giving up draft choices.

Hopefully Martin will be keen and capable of going on next year.
    Martin has an option in his contract to trigger another year, very good chance he stays on in 2022
    "Its always good to win the Ashes test match'' - Libba, AFL Grand Final, 2016

Quote Originally Posted by Vred View Post
    Martin has an option in his contract to trigger another year, very good chance he stays on in 2022
    It's a games trigger as well, so I don't think he'll be wanting to take any weeks off if he doesn't feel like he needs to.

I don't mind the English style ruck - someone that can offer a contest in the ruck to stop the controlled, uncontested hitout to advantage, like we conceded when putting Dunkley/Jong in the ruck, without winning the hitout count, but hurt them elsewhere on the ground. Bruce as 2nd ruck is fine with Naughton up forward and means another runner in for Martin. I think we've been put off a bit by some of the lamb to the slaughter stuff we've seen with English rucking by himself whilst still developing

9. Likes jeemak liked this post

1. We can change our game to meet needs. Our tackle count and our general ability to defend the game was decisive across the four quarters. Brisbane were stifled in close and wide and couldn't use their run

2. Players can sacrifice themselves for the greater good. I didn't see too many acts on the day and then on the replay of players putting their own needs ahead of the team's needs

3. System based footy versus free flowing footy is opposition dependent. The good teams will keep it tight across the ground always but may open it up if they are playing less credentialed opposition, and when two good teams play each other things will tighten up a lot. That's how modern footy should be.

Quote Originally Posted by The Bulldogs Bite View Post
    What are the options?

I have a feeling Grundy could be a gettable in 24 months time in a fire sale type scenario. the pies have screwed up their salary cap and signed him on a mega deal. Its going to take them a few years to sort out. Sydney has shed some of their senior players(eg mitchell, Jones, alir alir ) to clear up salary cap and prepared to play the kids. They have lost a few players due to the Franklin mega deal . So I see pies following in the same way, maybe not sydney like results .

Bucks doesn’t rate hit outs , Grundy has had something like 50+ big outs each game in his last 3 weeks but the pies have not dominated the clearances . I don’t have the stats on hand but it’s a sign their midfield needs rejuvenation . They have lost Adams due to injury and Pendlebury and sidebottom are in their twilight years. They spent all their money on winning hit outs but lose out on midfield depth .

If we come with salary cap relief and maybe 1st or second round picks with some sort of swap I reckon we in with chance. Also treloar put in a good word how great the club is and our premiership chances .... anything is possible ???

Question for Grundy would be want to be a potential premiership player and earn 200k less ?

Quote Originally Posted by macca View Post
    I have a feeling Grundy could be a gettable in 24 months time in a fire sale type scenario. the pies have screwed up their salary cap and signed him on a mega deal. Its going to take them a few years to sort out. Sydney has shed some of their senior players(eg mitchell, Jones, alir alir ) to clear up salary cap and prepared to play the kids. They have lost a few players due to the Franklin mega deal . So I see pies following in the same way, maybe not sydney like results .

Bucks doesn’t rate hit outs , Grundy has had something like 50+ big outs each game in his last 3 weeks but the pies have not dominated the clearances . I don’t have the stats on hand but it’s a sign their midfield needs rejuvenation . They have lost Adams due to injury and Pendlebury and sidebottom are in their twilight years. They spent all their money on winning hit outs but lose out on midfield depth .

If we come with salary cap relief and maybe 1st or second round picks with some sort of swap I reckon we in with chance. Also treloar put in a good word how great the club is and our premiership chances .... anything is possible ???

Question for Grundy would be want to be a potential premiership player and earn 200k less ?
    7 x $1m contract, I don't think we bite. Back in a Martin replacement with an English 60/40 split

1. Lewis Young is a highly mobile, tall marking defender that offers a lot to the side. Will be interesting to see how he matches up on King this week;

2. Our pressure is intense - something that has been lacking for a long time - tackles, smothers, bums, harassing, getting from contest to contest a a group. The score flattered Brisbane as they were never in the contest;

3. English has a great pair of hands and is a pretty neat kick for goal. Releasing him forward hasn't overcrowded the forward line rather its provided another serious aerial threat for sides to think about.

1 - The rumours of Dunkley not being happy about still being at the club or problems with team mate can't be true. He is in terrific form.
    2 - Young still has plenty to off us and his best football is still in front of him.
    3 - Timmy just needed support over the last couple of years. He's going to sort out a few teams this year up forward.

1. Always thought Treloar was good but he really is sublime. He just complements our team so well.

2. Our defensive structure is working nicely. Keath has been excellent both intercepting but also at one-on-one defence (what I thought was a perceived weakness); Gardner and now Young competing well - really pleased with Young’s efforts this week; the Baileys - good readers of the play, plenty of run and excellent disposers; Duryea composed and provides experience; Daniel whilst down on form still provides run and general disposal is excellent; Wood another who is back playing well.

3. I was non-plussed about Dunks leaving. So glad he didn’t as he is a critical part of our midfield.

I don’t see the hip issue with Bont and think he’s getting across the ground well.. he has had a bit more time out into him by the opposition, but in a stacked midfield I don’t see a concern as it’s allowing others to get off the chain. Was still a very effective game yesterday and in a territory game his metres gained stat was very important.
    Yeah don't see any issues with Bont and think that suggestion of a hip injury has no basis. Kicking the ball further than ever, and ran 15kms on Saturday which was a game high.

We need a readymade ruckman also for either 2022 or 2023

Let’s just trade for Nankervis and be done with it.
    We'll have Martin and English in 2022
    We'll have English and Sweet in 2023.

Simples.