Likes Likes:  4

Bankers & Anchors: Rnd 12, 2021 vs Fremantle

This is the round 12, 2021 edition of the weekly Bankers and Anchors thread. Once the game against Fremantle is concluded post your nominations for:

The Bankers = 3 guys/aspects of the game that we banked on to do the right thing during the game
    The Anchors = 3 guys/aspects of the game that weighed us down by their errors or poor play

Please limit it to no more than three of each player or aspect of the game, but feel free to make honourable/dishonourable mentions. As usual try to make it constructive criticism.

Try and restrict it to individual players rather than aspects of the overall match - I will allow more freedom now as the thread seems to be going down more of the aspects of the game path so you can have 3 for each made up of aspects of the game and individual players.

The thread is named in honour of a popular WOOF Contributor, The Banker, who passed away on 22/04/2012 after a six month battle with cancer.

Re: Bankers & Anchors: Rnd 12, 2021 vs Fremantle

B

The win - should lock up Top 2, at least Top 4.
    Bont
    Cody
    Libba’s Goals to swing back momentum

A

Naughton’s Kicking. It’s putrid. - 29.26 plus on the fulls and other misses. He’s statistically more likely to miss. Forwards kick goals.
    B. Smith. Go play vfl and rediscover your mojo.
    Crozier. I don’t trust you based on the season, but including tonight.

Special mention. Punching a bloke in the nuts is pathetic you piece of shit Wilson

3. Likes Ghost Dog liked this post

1. Naughton's marking, he is a gem

2. Libba's first goal was a ripper after no down field was played for an easier shot. He nailed it anyway.

3. Bont's two big goals from a long way out.

1. Injury to Martin

2. Naughton's easy misses

3. Commentary barracking for Freo

4th anchor - I hate umpiring this year

5. Likes azabob, Ghost Dog liked this post

B:

Bont, what more can you say. We're blessed to be alive at the same time he's in his prime.

Keath's first half was a thing of beauty.

Cody's nut sack taking one for the team at a crucial moment

A:

Naught's finishing

Bazlenka for 3 quarters was putrid. That handball in the 3rd is worthy of a VFL spell

Lack of composure under pressure from the likes of Daniel, Crozier, Bazlenka etc. Melbourne don't cough it up like we do when the blow torch is applied.

B

DOC - terrific, meat and potatoes, with a little dash of mushroom gravy. He is good value off the half back line when he’s on, like he was tonight. Super reliable in a real defensive role, but gives a bit extra the other way where he has to as well.

CHIEF - was like a gazelle in the first half, such a competent key back. Loved his confidence in taking the game on, but still playing within his limitations.

LIIBA - very important goals. Broke the tag and signalled to the comp that you can’t just do what Melbourne did and expect it to work like a silver bullet.

A

Baz. Run of poor form continues. Skills were poor, looks scared when running with the footy. Rattled.
    Martin injury - we just look better with him in the thick of it.
    Naughty - super impressive, a joy to watch. Should have kicked 4.

Thought that was a terrific win.

Naughton's marking: never seen someone launch at the ball like him.
    Bont: Am all out of superlatives.
    Duryea: Superb, assured game in defence.

Naughton's Kicking: Many chances to keep Freo out of reach from us.
    Bailey Smith: very rarely finds a bulldogs team mate by foot. Very frustrating to have a player of his ability not kick the ball well.
    Stef's injury: Really threw us out for a while there, and we need him.

Tom Liberatore, when they think they have him, he rebounds with class, Melbourne are likely to find that out next time we meet them.
    Alex Keath, in control and dashing game from defence.
    Roarke Smith does a few unnoticed but valuable 1%'ers.

Ryan Gardner, didn't do much at all but selection on hold as 1st game back.
    Mitch Hannan just saved himself with 2 late goals.
    Stef Martin's injury.

1. Keith- great game stopping Lobb. Lobb was a non factor apart from a flukey snap on the run (was a nice goal though). Loved how Keith just run away with the ball on a few occasions.

2. Hunter- doesn't get the praise others get probably because of his kicking at times, but his work rate is top notch. He gets involved in a lot of passages of play which is a testament to his work rate and fitness.

3. I have to Banker Libba. He looked like he was going to have another quiet game by his standards, but to his credit he found a way to work himself back into the game. Those 2 goals real clutch type stuff with how tight the game was at the time. What a ripper he is.

1. Naughton's kicking for goal. For an excitement machine he really knows how to give you a real let down. Once he nails the goals he should he'll win the Coleman and probably mark of the year to boot.

2. English playing first ruck. When Stef got subbed and English took first ruck duties it was no coincidence that Fyfe was back in the game. Darcy was feeding his mids and we weren't ready for it. English really needs to figure out his ruck craft for the times like Sunday night when hes called upon.

3. Bailey Smith. That was the worst game I've seen him play I reckon. He'd better click back into gear real soon because Lippa, McLean and Richards are waiting just around the corner for a spot in the 22.

11. Likes Ghost Dog liked this post

Keath steaming out the back reminded me of a fully fit ( rare ) young Tom Williams.

Naughton in the air must have defenders crapping themselves. He's like a ninja with a mullet.
    Almost broke his ribs in one attempt.

Anchors- Naughton has something going on between the ears with his kicking. Needs to be eradicated immediately so we can fully enjoy the show.