Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  20

Flea ready for finals fever

link

Livewire forward Cody Weightman can’t wait for his first taste of finals footy.

The 20-year-old will get that opportunity on Sunday afternoon, as the Western Bulldogs take on Essendon in an elimination final at UTAS Stadum in Launceston.

Weightman has become an important member of the Bulldogs’ forward line in only his second season at AFL level.

He has kicked 21 goals in his 13 AFL games in 2021, after breaking into the side in round nine.

“I’m super excited. It’ll be my first final and I can’t wait to see what finals football is like,” Weightman said.

“The boys have been really good at splitting up the disappointment of the last couple weeks, moving on straight away and building a new energy.

“It’s a different year in a way, finals.

“Strange things have happened in our past in our club’s history and we’re excited and looking forward to the opportunity we’ve got ahead of us.”

Weightman has endured a strange opening to his AFL career.

His first year was spent largely in the Gold Coast hub and his second has again been impacted by Covid changes, largely playing in front of no fans or limited fans.

Despite not being able to play at Marvel Stadium in front of a full house of Bulldogs supporters this week, Weightman is pumped to be running out at a sold out UTAS Stadium.

“We got a little taste test of Launceston against the Hawks – it was great to play in front of fans and hopefully we’ll get even more Dogs fans this time,” Weightman said.

“We’ve got such a great supporter base and particularly in times like these, we play for them.”

2. Thanks josie thanked for this post
    Likes WBFC4FFC, DOG GOD, Dry Rot liked this post

Re: Flea ready for finals fever

We need some snags Flea.

Didn't play last time against Bombres, and we did miss him

Hope he kicks one or two and gives Stringer an earful. Would be fun to watch.

Went down media street and then backed it up. Actions > Words.

Awesome first final Flea.

7. Likes azabob, bornadog liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by angelopetraglia View Post
    Went down media street and then backed it up. Actions > Words.

Awesome first final Flea.
    He was terrific. Best final debut I've seen from a bulldog player. One of the best I've seen full stop.

10. Thanks bulldogtragic thanked for this post

Josh Bruce went on Cody’s Instagram to give the trolls a metaphorical black eye. Absolutely loved to see it.

If there’s a kid on our list that can handle some haters, it’s Cody I reckon. The guy is a ray of sunshine in human form.

Watch his reaction to Vanders laying the big HtB tackle in the last, absolutely frothing for his teammate.

A Dogs champ in the making.

13. Likes bulldogtragic liked this post

If there’s a kid on our list that can handle some haters, it’s Cody I reckon. The guy is a ray of sunshine in human form.

Watch his reaction to Vanders laying the big HtB tackle in the last, absolutely frothing for his teammate.

A Dogs champ in the making.
    Or when Naughts marked at the top of the goal square when the game was as good as dead. He just loves life and playing footy. A bunch of flogs online isn’t going to make a big dent, I absolutely agree.

The practical over correction by umpires is the only concern I have.

Or when Naughts marked at the top of the goal square when the game was as good as dead. He just loves life and playing footy. A bunch of flogs online isn’t going to make a big dent, I absolutely agree.

The practical over correction by umpires is the only concern I have.
    The over correction will happen from the umpires but I can also see defenders crap themselves a bit when he’s near the ball, not knowing if he’ll draw one or not so hesitating or giving him some extra room.

That's one

The over correction will happen from the umpires but I can also see defenders crap themselves a bit when he’s near the ball, not knowing if he’ll draw one or not so hesitating or giving him some extra room.
    He’s going to be a handful either way. At the GABBA with great conditions Pagans Paddock could be on and leading may not have too much umpire impact. But that first quarter vs North shows he has different ways to skin oppositions. How lucky we are to have got him!

He's just what we needed in the forward line. His strength over head, anticipation, kicking accuracy and love of team are a great skillset for us. He will learn to get front and centre to contests involving English, Naughton, Shaq and Bruce as his career progresses too because he's a smart footballer.

He has had nominations for Goal of the year, (Port over his head to seal the game), Mark of the year, on top of Gawn and a rising star nomination.

He is exciting to watch.