Thanks Thanks:  23
Likes Likes:  76
Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910

Re: Always Right Match Committee Round Nine v Collingwood at Marvel

Quote Originally Posted by meenies View Post
    I hope we are clever and use West and McComb in the centre a lot as they have a good relationship and understanding with Sweet. We need to use that as an advantage.
    So boot Bont, Macrae, Libba, Smith, Treloar or Dunks out of the rotation for West or McComb?

Please… we win by dominating the middle. We don’t dominate anything with West and McComb near the middle.

2. Likes Bullies liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by MrMahatma View Post
    So boot Bont, Macrae, Libba, Smith, Treloar or Dunks out of the rotation for West or McComb?

Please… we win by dominating the middle. We don’t dominate anything with West and McComb near the middle.
    I actually hope Bevo does give them a bit of a go there. It plays to their strengths and McCombs suspect kicks are not as exposed. West is a clearance specialist at vfl level and I’m kinda confident he’d do so at afl level too if given a chance.

I think the flu is ripping through the club in much higher numbers than reported, and my expectations for tomorrow night are pretty low as a result - we can't afford for any of our 22 to be underdone, given the inexperience/youth we are putting out on the park.

I ditto the comments re: West and Mccomb in the middle though - choose the right moments, but given the issues many have voiced with our 'midfield dominance' not actually dominating I have no issue with trying something different. And if they're under packs feeding out handballs, then we don't have to watch them kick.

Quote Originally Posted by jazzadogs View Post
    I think the flu is ripping through the club in much higher numbers than reported, and my expectations for tomorrow night are pretty low as a result - we can't afford for any of our 22 to be underdone, given the inexperience/youth we are putting out on the park.

I ditto the comments re: West and Mccomb in the middle though - choose the right moments, but given the issues many have voiced with our 'midfield dominance' not actually dominating I have no issue with trying something different. And if they're under packs feeding out handballs, then we don't have to watch them kick.
    So we line up to hide the weaknesses of the last 2 picked, rather than maximising the strengths of the first few picked?

6. Likes Bullies liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by MrMahatma View Post
    So we line up to hide the weaknesses of the last 2 picked, rather than maximising the strengths of the first few picked?
    I did say 'choose the right moments' - you're not going to run a midfield of Sweet, Mccomb, West and Anthony Scott at once - but why not rotate more through there? Our midfield do not do enough defensively, and if there are others who will hold that role - then I have no issue with a Sweet, Bont, Macrae and West centre bounce, while Treloar is on a wing, Dunkley is half-forward and Libba is on the bench.

Last year we had an astoundingly low number of centre bounce attendees - I think until Dunkley's injury we had a grand total of 6 players (Martin, English, Bont, Macrae, Libba and Dunkley) attend a centre bounce. Let's get some variety, let's see the young guys use their strengths rather than sit on a flank and have no opportunity to show what they have.

8. Likes josie, Smads57 liked this post

Good ins. Am pleased and just hope that Sweet/West?/(Schack if he plays ) take the opportunity and are also given an opportunity.

Glad that Khamis gets to go round again. A St.Albans boy.....we have a good record on the boys of the red triangle...

Looking forward to seeing how Luke Cleary goes.

10. Thanks SonofScray thanked for this post
    Likes BornInDroopSt'54 liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by josie View Post
    I actually hope Bevo does give them a bit of a go there. It plays to their strengths and McCombs suspect kicks are not as exposed. West is a clearance specialist at vfl level and I’m kinda confident he’d do so at afl level too if given a chance.
    McComb would struggle as a loose man on the forward line.

Quote Originally Posted by Bullies View Post
    McComb would struggle as a loose man on the forward line.
    He would struggle to get a game for North.

Quote Originally Posted by Hotdog60 View Post
    I think Roarke has been poor for a few weeks now so understandable.
    He's has a few mates though and McComb was marginally better and injuries may have saved him.
    There were no players left to drop both. It landed on heads and Roarke was out.

He would struggle to get a game for North.
    I make a habit of watching games a second time, and it is quite revealing what you see when you are not screaming at the TV first time around. Some of our lower possession players do quite some heavy lifting around the play, which is not reflected in the stats. Robbie is one of these. Is there not still a place for "effort" players such as Roarke, Robbie and Zaine.
    The truth will set you free,
    but first it will piss you off. ... Gloria Steinem.

15. Likes bornadog, Bulldog Joe, josie liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Jeanette54 View Post
    Is there not still a place for "effort" players such as Roarke, Robbie and Zaine.
    It's a team game mate. There's room for EVERYONE.

I actually don't get the angst with McComb. Maybe we shouldn't have picked him up - but it wasn't his fault we did. And again (I had this same issue with the criticism of Gardner when he first came it) whereas once these battlers who 'did it the hard way' would be celebrated by us as supporters, these days we just run them down.

The days of us laughing about things like:

Supporter 1: "We've got the Hawks this week - can you believe Dunstall kicked another 10 last week".
    Supporter 2: "Don't worry, Crofty will take care of him".

Supporter 1 + 2: Laughing to each other and celebrating the fact that he might not be up to a task like 'that' but he would 100% die trying.

It feels like those days are done...we all want to do is celebrate the 'best' and take fire at the short-comings of everyone else. For some reason, pulling yourself up by your boot laces is no longer something that is admired.

17. Thanks Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, chef thanked for this post
    Likes bornadog, Swoop liked this post

It's a team game mate. There's room for EVERYONE.

I actually don't get the angst with McComb. Maybe we shouldn't have picked him up - but it wasn't his fault we did. And again (I had this same issue with the criticism of Gardner when he first came it) whereas once these battlers who 'did it the hard way' would be celebrated by us as supporters, these days we just run them down.

The days of us laughing about things like:

Supporter 1: "We've got the Hawks this week - can you believe Dunstall kicked another 10 last week".
    Supporter 2: "Don't worry, Crofty will take care of him".

Supporter 1 + 2: Laughing to each other and celebrating the fact that he might not be up to a task like 'that' but he would 100% die trying.

It feels like those days are done...we all want to do is celebrate the 'best' and take fire at the short-comings of everyone else. For some reason, pulling yourself up by your boot laces is no longer something that is admired.
    For me it's nothing to do with his journey or whether he had any choice in it and I'll always back a player in our colours.

It's I don't get the selection. We should've given a guy like Glass-McCasker a go as he's in an area of need. It also robs someone like West of opportunities.

And I GET that. But for McComb, he didn't choose himself...it's almost like we blame HIM because he was selected and his performances/skill/selection is held over his head. Two week's back he had 22 and kicked 2. Was it pretty? Nope. Did he 100% do his job? 100% he did.

I just don't understand why McComb is criticised (or back in the day Gardner was criticised) because we selected them as over-age players from a non-traditional pathway. He's played 3x games...it's like he has chased this dream to the end of the rainbow and he was the one who actually found the gold (it's about as likely to find gold at the end of a rainbow as be drafted age 26 from the VFL)...but rather than support his selection and celebrate the effort he has put in, everything I see/read/hear is about how he should never have been picked up and he can't kick and is no good...

As an aside - McComb isn't robbing West of opportunities. Footy sides pick themselves (well, in most cases). If West wants opportunities (and I have long supported his inclusion in the team) it is a pretty simple scenario...PLAY "BETTER" (whatever that looks like). If you do that, it's amazing how opportunity finds you.

20. Likes Before I Die liked this post

And I GET that. But for McComb, he didn't choose himself...it's almost like we blame HIM because he was selected and his performances/skill/selection is held over his head. Two week's back he had 22 and kicked 2. Was it pretty? Nope. Did he 100% do his job? 100% he did.

I just don't understand why McComb is criticised (or back in the day Gardner was criticised) because we selected them as over-age players from a non-traditional pathway. He's played 3x games...it's like he has chased this dream to the end of the rainbow and he was the one who actually found the gold (it's about as likely to find gold at the end of a rainbow as be drafted age 26 from the VFL)...but rather than support his selection and celebrate the effort he has put in, everything I see/read/hear is about how he should never have been picked up and he can't kick and is no good...

As an aside - McComb isn't robbing West of opportunities. Footy sides pick themselves (well, in most cases). If West wants opportunities (and I have long supported his inclusion in the team) it is a pretty simple scenario...PLAY "BETTER" (whatever that looks like). If you do that, it's amazing how opportunity finds you.
    Agree with your point that we should back him and in no way should he be criticised due to his pathway.

He should be criticised on performance only.

Criticising the selection is about the list management / club.

Not sure I agree re West he has been pretty good of late in seconds and they play similar spots.

Lipinski was best on every week for eg.

Not sure I agree re West he has been pretty good of late in seconds and they play similar spots.

Lipinski was best on every week for eg.
    I get that West has been good. I get that Lipinski was excellent.

Ultimately Lipinski WAS rewarded (albeit not at our club) and that's OK...better than sooking it up, getting delisted and not getting another chance.

For West, maybe good hasn't been good 'enough'. Again, play BETTER. There are always things you can do better and behind the goals vision never lies during review.

23. Likes Grantysghost liked this post