Thanks Thanks:  14
Likes Likes:  124
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

Re: Best home and away games I have seen live

Quote Originally Posted by merantau View Post
    I remember a game at the "G" v Richmond in the 80s. Jim Edmond kicked 5 in the first quarter and we led by 63 points at half time.

But the 2nd half was a different story. Richmond hit back and they might have even led briefly before we got back on top to record a narrow win.
    Anzac Day in 1983. We kicked 10.3 in the first to Richmond 0.3, then in the second they kicked 8 to our 2 and we ended up winning by 2 points. Jim ended up with 7 and Steve Wallis was the top mid.

2. Thanks merantau thanked for this post
    Likes SquirrelGrip liked this post

Anzac Day in 1983. We kicked 10.3 in the first to Richmond 0.3, then in the second they kicked 8 to our 2 and we ended up winning by 2 points. Jim ended up with 7 and Steve Wallis was the top mid.
    A great day. Gorgeous autumn sunshine, and after the disastrous Royce Hart era, we were a team on the up. Remember when Collingwood and Essendon didn’t hog Anzac Day at the G??

4. Likes bornadog, merantau liked this post

Don't remember the year (maybe 2008?) but when we beat Adelaide at the G and Cooney kicked 5 and had 30 touches was a fun one to see live

6. Likes WBFC4FFC liked this post

This one was completely awesome.

8. Likes jeemak, WBFC4FFC, Bulldog Revolution liked this post

I tried to watch this video but the text translation of the commentary was too distracting.

Also, sigh, Jake Stringer. What might have been.

Quote Originally Posted by EasternWest View Post

I tried to watch this video but the text translation of the commentary was too distracting.

Was that Clay Smith? He could crack a few rectums i reckon.

Quote Originally Posted by EasternWest View Post

That was the stock standard Jake performance though... do SFA for most of the game, but get involved for 5-10min and turn the game in that time.

Agreed, but players that can actually turn games with a few touches can be worth it, if they're not complete dickheads outside of that.

Sat in the old Southern Stand as an eight year old. Beautiful day.

14. Likes SquirrelGrip liked this post

At least his 5-10 minutes used to come when it mattered.

Look st the difference in his body composition between then and now. If you got a picture of him without his head in it now you’d think he was 45 years old. And this wasn’t even him at his best.

16. Likes EasternWest liked this post

At least his 5-10 minutes used to come when it mattered.

Look st the difference in his body composition between then and now. If you got a picture of him without his head in it now you’d think he was 45 years old. And this wasn’t even him at his best.
    Yep, he's not in the best shape is he?

I guess the bad thing about those super spongy floors out at The Hanger is the sense that you're still light on your feet which probably doesn't ring true for the Package.

18. Likes EasternWest, Sedat liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by angelopetraglia View Post
    Sat in the old Southern Stand as an eight year old. Beautiful day.
    Yeah I was up there as well. 51k there that day - considering we were a bottom team

Yep, he's not in the best shape is he?

I guess the bad thing about those super spongy floors out at The Hanger is the sense that you're still light on your feet which probably doesn't ring true for the Package.
    Very good.

I remember that day very well. My wife dragged me to meet our neighbours cause our daughters had made friends at kindy. Sounded sucky but I went. The wife neighbour was there but not the husband! I'd been stitched up. He decided to go the races rather than this lame meet and greet. Fair play. I was trying to be polite while also keeping an eye on scores. The husband was going to be home about half time. I figured maybe we'd bond over a beer and the 2nd half. He then text his wife to say he wasn't coming cause he was continuing his drinking at the rugby/rugby league match happening that afternoon. I had to admire that.

We've since become very close mates and watch footy together every weekend.

22. Likes jeemak liked this post