Thanks Thanks:  16
Likes Likes:  137
Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 45678910111213141516 LastLast

Re: AFL reaches in-principle agreement with Tasmania for 19th team

What happens to gather round, one team misses
    You just clocked the internet.

Seriously though, by then it will be held in Victoria so we'll get the bye and have to travel to Perth each side of it. Which is only fair.

3. Likes bornadog, chef liked this post

20 teams probably - they maybe have one year where a team just goes and does clinics or something before the 20th team comes in.

I believe the indigenous name for Tasmania is Iutruwita.

How about some other indigenous fauna, combined with Iutruwita...The Iutruwita Dragons? The Iutruwita Wombats? The Iutruwita Bandicoots? The Iutruwita Scrubtits?

Or if Iutruwita is too much, google tells me (and the people in charge would need to do more research!) that the indigenous name for the Tassie Devil is purinina. So the Tasmanian Purinina, with an emblem of a 'Tassie Devil'.

As a country we do a poor job of promoting and learning the indigenous languages, and the history of genocide in Tasmania in particular is shocking. This could be used as a stepping stone to larger conversations and appreciation of first nations culture.

Love it.

I personally like the idea of having both the indigenous and current names.

Like Iutruwita Tasmania Wombats.

Although it's probably not practical in terms of length.

Also love the idea of Wombats.

Totally under appreciated marsupial. I mean they have square crap. You can't top that.
    Last edited by Grantysghost; 04-05-2023 at 11:04 AM. Reason: name wrong

7. Likes EasternWest liked this post

While it's still a few years away there was some talk that a home team might play on a Thursday and then front up again on the following Wednesday.

Quote Originally Posted by jazzadogs View Post
    I believe the indigenous name for Tasmania is Iutruwita.

How about some other indigenous fauna, combined with Iutruwita...The Iutruwita Dragons? The Iutruwita Wombats? The Iutruwita Bandicoots? The Iutruwita Scrubtits?

Or if Iutruwita is too much, google tells me (and the people in charge would need to do more research!) that the indigenous name for the Tassie Devil is purinina. So the Tasmanian Purinina, with an emblem of a 'Tassie Devil'.

As a country we do a poor job of promoting and learning the indigenous languages, and the history of genocide in Tasmania in particular is shocking. This could be used as a stepping stone to larger conversations and appreciation of first nations culture.
    If you think the Channel 7 commentary team are going to be able to pronounce Iutruwita or say Scrubtits without giggling like 11 yo boys you just don't know them. Besides, doing this would be more like action rather than lip service, and that's not how the AFL works.

10. Likes EasternWest liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by The Underdog View Post
    If you think the Channel 7 commentary team are going to be able to pronounce Iutruwita or say Scrubtits without giggling like 11 yo boys you just don't know them. Besides, doing this would be more like action rather than lip service, and that's not how the AFL works.
    I thought the Iutruwita Footy Factory was almost as strong as the Calder Cannons?

12. Likes Grantysghost, The Underdog liked this post

It's great that a heartland state will now have a team but the hard work is now in front of all concerned
    For starters they'll need to fix and strengthen the local competition and develop a strong junior football program.
    Then set-up a VFL side and in time start drafting and recruiting players.

5 years sounds like a lot of time but there is so much to get done and they'll need to get things set-up quickly.

It's true.

I like Wurundjeri Footscray Bulldogs as a name. I focus grouped it with some bogans I know (good ones) and they said it's too long.

Probably right.

15. Likes The Underdog liked this post

You mean like how Tom Browne said last night that it'd be wonderful to have the 20th team in the NT as an indigenous all-star team would be fantastic?

Quote Originally Posted by bulldogsthru&thru View Post
    You mean like how Tom Browne said last night that it'd be wonderful to have the 20th team in the NT as an indigenous all-star team would be fantastic?
    It's well known that all indigenous players are from the NT and would be happy to go back there to play. Tom is very smart.
    Of course Eddie Maguire mentioned that it will be difficult due to the current social upheaval in the NT, because he watches lots of Sky after Dark.

18. Likes hujsh, Grantysghost, jeemak liked this post

Tasmania Forests, Tasmania Loggers, Tasmania Bob Browns, just spit balling.

Or (stay with me here)...the Lambies

20. Likes Grantysghost, jeemak, Sedat liked this post

I did have a giggle to myself about how bogan white Australia would react - 'woke culture GONE MAD' - but I think we can do better than Melbourne renaming themselves Naarm for one week each year.

22. Likes Grantysghost, The Underdog liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by jazzadogs View Post
    I did have a giggle to myself about how bogan white Australia would react - 'woke culture GONE MAD' - but I think we can do better than Melbourne renaming themselves Naarm for one week each year.
    Melbourne :