Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Re: Things you don't see at the footy anymore

Simon Beasley being listed as a late withdrawal due to the potential for rain at some stage in the afternoon.

Not true, I saw him at the Adelaide game in round 1
    Yeah but I still want see him soaring over packs. I miss Chris. I wish there was an icon I could attach to represent deep and sincere sadness.

Quote Originally Posted by Dancin' Douggy View Post
    Yeah but I still want see him soaring over packs. I miss Chris. I wish there was an icon I could attach to represent deep and sincere sadness.
    Here you are DD.

Helen Damico running nude at Bruce Doull

3/4 time oranges

Umpires in white
    For those who were always the underdogs and wore it as a badge of honour.

Watching players break through the banner,ripping it in half. Does anyone know why we now go under it?

Quote Originally Posted by The Coon Dog View Post
    Here you are DD.

Thanks Coon Dog. But it's still only scratching the surface.

Quote Originally Posted by ledge View Post
    Watching players break through the banner,ripping it in half. Does anyone know why we now go under it?
    Because like everything else in footy it's become an over bloated version of the original idea. Players CAN'T run through it any more. It's so big it needs so much tape to hold it together to be windproof etc. That 22 of the strongest athletes in the country aren't powerful enough to do it. That tape is pretty damn strong. And there's Kilometres of it in every banner.

Who was Super? I'm guessing he had the jumper 27
    Steve Macpherson.

Arrived from Tassie as a 16 yo in the early 80's and played until mid 90's. 180 or so games. Tough bugger (solid but not tall) who handed it out. A good mate of Doug Hawkins who didn'y exactly live a temperate life off field.

There's probably a thread on him in The Doug Hawkins Wing. If there isn't there should be.

Quote Originally Posted by Sockeye Salmon View Post
    Steve Macpherson.

Arrived from Tassie as a 16 yo in the early 80's and played until mid 90's. 180 or so games. Tough bugger (solid but not tall) who handed it out. A good mate of Doug Hawkins who didn'y exactly live a temperate life off field.

There's probably a thread on him in The Doug Hawkins Wing. If there isn't there should be.
    I played schoolboy footy with Super. He was jaw droppingly incredible. He'd take every clearance and Play on and kick a goal. If there was a bad bounce and the other team went forward he'd sprint into defence and take the mark. Then play on and kick a goal. We won the Herald Shield that year on his back. We did have some other good players but having Super was like having a Bren gun against Slingshots. He was............super!

The 2nd Siren allowing you to have a kick at the MCG the NOT so peoples ground. I would also say telstra dome but we all now thate the Corprates ground.

I played schoolboy footy with Super. He was jaw droppingly incredible. He'd take every clearance and Play on and kick a goal. If there was a bad bounce and the other team went forward he'd sprint into defence and take the mark. Then play on and kick a goal. We won the Herald Shield that year on his back. We did have some other good players but having Super was like having a Bren gun against Slingshots. He was............super!
    So you played at St Johns or was it Chisholm college then, that was when the bulldogs sent all theyre under 19s to that school, i remember Dodemaide went and played too.

Chisholm

Chisholm
    The 'Red Backs'.

Also Mark Noble was sent there too. Came across from SA & did stuff all.

Ciggies at full time, geez in some instances ciggies at half time