Likes Likes:  30
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Re: Mitch Hannan - where does he fit into the team for 2023

I wondered who would be first.......I shouldn't have.
    It's important to be consistent.

2. Likes jeemak, Grantysghost liked this post

He plays the half forward / wing role.

When half forward he's one of the guys that goes up to the stoppage to make it a +1 when there's a secondary midfield bounce.

Baz does this as well.

I don't get the Hannan knockers, he's an athletic beast, can kick it 50 + , has an insane leap and works his arse off.

He's at least 2 x better than Oskar Baker. (who spells Oscar Oskar?)

Here's hoping he can stay injury free.
    He barely gets the footy. He has minimal impact. List clogger

4. Likes F'scary liked this post

He plays the half forward / wing role.

When half forward he's one of the guys that goes up to the stoppage to make it a +1 when there's a secondary midfield bounce.

Baz does this as well.

I don't get the Hannan knockers, he's an athletic beast, can kick it 50 + , has an insane leap and works his arse off.

He's at least 2 x better than Oskar Baker. (who spells Oscar Oskar?)

Here's hoping he can stay injury free.
    Lets see what he is capable of with a solid preseason behind him. Even if he is ends up being that spare parts player then that may suit the team. Bevo will work out how to best utilise him.

Has tricks but really does go missing for large parts of the game to be best 22. Decent depth player though.

Quote Originally Posted by FrediKanoute View Post
    I reckon he’s going to have a big year FK.

Quote Originally Posted by Jasper View Post
    Great suggestion but we have a logjam for mid sized forwards. It the track watchers think he could play wing Ill go with that.
    At worse he fills in where needed.
    Except for on the half back flank.

IIRC Mitch had a really solid 2021 finals series, kicking a few goals in each of the first three finals and being one of our better contributors. Last year was a write off with his concussion issues, and then inexplicably being thrown in at half back.

I agree with mjp that he is someone who gets picked when fit, similar to what Ed Richards always had been before getting his body right last year.

I also agree that I would like to see him have more consistent impact on the game, but I think the high half forward is one of the hardest roles to look good in - a lot of the leading patterns are not designed to get the ball, but to create space and drag the dangerous interceptors away from the ball. It can be very frustrating when you are doing everything right but only touch the ball a handful of times. (Yes I play half forward)

9. Likes Mofra liked this post

I am still scratching my head why we actually recruited him.

Hopefully he avoids injury and can play a role for us, but he is not in my best 22.

11. Likes josie liked this post

The Hannan hate is a thing.

13. Likes Mofra liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by FrediKanoute View Post
    He is also a soft receiver type who is not a great decision maker when he has the ball. I can't see him getting a game except if we have a horror run with injuries.
    Officially on the Bus-wagon

Quote Originally Posted by BornInDroopSt'54 View Post
    The Hannan hate is a thing.
    I was ok with him being picked for our AFL team based upon what I’d seen in vfl and second hand what demons supporters thought. As with all our players I want them to succeed, to make MC night a headache and prove doubters (like me) wrong.

What I’ve seen in seniors, apart from very few good games eg 2021 preliminary, is higher than average fumbling, inability to hold marks, below average goal kick and generally low impact, leading to me asking myself why is this player picked ahead of others (who I think have more talent and potential). Perhaps he makes space well for other forwards, is a great team mate and/or follows coaches instructions or other positives I don’t see. I’m guessing part of his struggles are confidence related and his recent injuries have not helped.

I really don’t hate any of our current players but I do have doubts on a handful.

16. Likes GVGjr, bornadog liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Jasper View Post
    Great suggestion but we have a logjam for mid sized forwards. It the track watchers think he could play wing Ill go with that.
    At worse he fills in where needed.
    Khamis I'll give you, but Bedendo has played two AFL games and Hannan has shown he can play a few roles forward - blocker, crumber, decoy, high, close to goal.

I suspect he's ahead of Khamis simply because of his running capacity. One of our high forwards plays as a pseudo mid anyway (Baz's role in the 2021 finals series the ideal blueprint, and Garcia/McLean will play there too) so the other has to be able to 'do it all'.

Maybe his versatility sees him don the 5th man or whatever they’re calling it in 2023.