Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  52
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Re: Every game is related...which means we will lose to Carlton this week.

Quote Originally Posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot View Post
    I was positive against the grain of this thread right up until 2 minutes ago.... and I heard David King and Jonathon Brown laud us and talk up our chances, so that's done it.
    We're really up against it now. If we pull this off now it will be one for the ages.
    Nah, they are dickheads

2. Likes Yankee Hotel Foxtrot liked this post

Have we made up our minds about quoting ourselves?

Go for it mate, go for it

5. Likes jeemak liked this post

Is this a snitch positive thread?

7. Likes EasternWest, jeemak liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot View Post
    I was positive against the grain of this thread right up until 2 minutes ago.... and I heard David King and Jonathon Brown laud us and talk up our chances, so that's done it.
    We're really up against it now. If we pull this off now it will be one for the ages.
    I'm standing by this.. we nearly did find way to sit on our own balls and lose this game...and then we seemingly found a new desire to say nope, we're not doing this again and got back to real hard work. Our pressure in the last 7 or 8 minutes was immense. That could prove to be one for the ages, if not in beauty, but in importance.

9. Likes GVGjr, jeemak, josie liked this post

Go for it mate, go for it
    Is this a snitch positive thread?
    I feel like Admiral Ackbar would have some pretty strong views on Aza's post.

Stop helping Jee. Last week you got BAD all riled up with me and now this week you’re setting some dude called Admiral Ackbar onto me.

Happily WRONG!

13. Thanks kruder thanked for this post

It's a trap!

15. Likes jeemak liked this post

Happily WRONG!
    Lolz

Happily WRONG!
    You and me both.

I reckon this was a very significant win in terms of our maturity and mental capacity to respond when seriously challenged - whilst it is concerning that we are still conceding big run-ons, we are showing great resolve to wrest the momentum back and grind out some tough wins. The lessons of the 2021 GF and 2022 EF look like they have been learnt.

We are also clearly a tougher all-ground defensive unit to score against - it has come at the expense of our more free-wheeling attacking ball movement instincts but it is keeping us competitive in all games this year since R2, and it will hold us in good stead if we can secure a finals berth when the time and space are drastically reduced in September.

18. Likes hujsh, GVGjr, EasternWest, WBFC4FFC liked this post

You and me both.

I reckon this was a very significant win in terms of our maturity and mental capacity to respond when seriously challenged - whilst it is concerning that we are still conceding big run-ons, we are showing great resolve to wrest the momentum back and grind out some tough wins. The lessons of the 2021 GF and 2022 EF look like they have been learnt.

We are also clearly a tougher all-ground defensive unit to score against - it has come at the expense of our more free-wheeling attacking ball movement instincts but it is keeping us competitive in all games this year since R2, and it will hold us in good stead if we can secure a finals berth when the time and space are drastically reduced in September.
    I'll take being a better defensive side over a more entertaining attacking side if we win more games everyday of the week

20. Likes Sedat, EasternWest, MrMahatma, WBFC4FFC liked this post

Happily WRONG!
    Thought it was a bloody good post - its only possible to stay up in AFL footy for so long, the competition is just that, fiercely competitive

But also wrapt you weren't quite right on this way - have I mentioned I hate losing to Carlton!

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog Revolution View Post
    have I mentioned I hate losing to Carlton!
    Once or twice

23. Likes Bulldog Revolution liked this post