Thanks Thanks:  5
Likes Likes:  88
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Re: The Moment: Rnd 9, 2023 vs Carlton

I (obviously) wasn't there but Foxtel chose to show some shots of Carlton fans streaming out of the venue...I clearly remember thinking at the time that:

1/. They still have time, they just need ONE goal.
    2/. You don't beat the traffic leaving 5 mins early...

If you are 5 goals down I get it but it was still game on wasn't it?
    That’s intergenerational trauma at work my man. Couldn’t ever happen at my consistently successful and well-run club.

2. Likes hujsh liked this post

Arty. And ok, Libba. But I also liked Baz's goal. Sped through the middle and looked like a casual kick, I wondered if it would make the distance but EASILY

4. Likes EasternWest, GVGjr, azabob liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by bulldogsthru&thru View Post
    Thought the same. They were only down 14pts with 3 min left at that stage. Shows how frustrated they are.
    They came to the game a very frustrated and angry supporter base.
    Really turned on McKay from early in the game.
    When they did get up and going, were particularly visceral and aggressive and really wanted to 'get up' us as Dogs supporters.
    Had the audacity to cry blue murder about the umpiring all night - even though they certainly weren't getting the rough end (the umpiring seemed fine to me and they certainly had a good lead on the FK count).
    And then once Libba goaled, were completely dispirited and left.

Had one bloke in particular just teeing off all night on "Ah Bontempelli, don't touch Bontempelli" it was relentless. Couldn't help myself when he said "Ahh well he still hasn't won a brownlow"....."Yeah, but he's got a premiership medallion mate, I don't think he'll swap it either".

6. Likes jeemak, Bulldog4life liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Curly5 View Post
    Arty. And ok, Libba. But I also liked Baz's goal. Sped through the middle and looked like a casual kick, I wondered if it would make the distance but EASILY

8. Thanks Mofra, Smads57 thanked for this post

I don’t know exactly what’s happened but Barry’s kicking has looked all the way back to 2021 level since he’s gotten off his injury break. Considerably better penetration and the balls are going at a much lower trajectory. That finish is a perfect example of it, a really clean and pretty kick right off the boot.

10. Likes hujsh liked this post

Libba's was the moment.

Special mention to Naughton's 2nd poster in the first Qtr for an "almost moment". He kicks that and I reckon we may well have just run away with it pretty easily.

12. Likes bulldogsthru&thru liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by MrMahatma View Post
    Libba's was the moment.

Special mention to Naughton's 2nd poster in the first Qtr for an "almost moment". He kicks that and I reckon we may well have just run away with it pretty easily.
    I remember saying to my cousin that we need a midfielder to kick the goal to break their run, it just wasn't going to come from a forward at that point. Libba getting it done off one step under pressure was sublime.

Quote Originally Posted by Curly5 View Post
    I was watching from the couch and I wondered if my eyes were deceiving me as it didn't look like missing!!

I don’t know exactly what’s happened but Barry’s kicking has looked all the way back to 2021 level since he’s gotten off his injury break. Considerably better penetration and the balls are going at a much lower trajectory. That finish is a perfect example of it, a really clean and pretty kick right off the boot.
    I can't remember the game but one game at marvel he was providing the switch kick across the ground in the back half and he was nailing the targets. If he can keep his kicking efficiency 70% plus he is such a weapon.

That’s intergenerational trauma at work my man. Couldn’t ever happen at my consistently successful and well-run club.
    It's the sweet spot where intergenerational trauma and intergenerational entitlement intersect! And I couldn't be happier for them.

The harsh reality vs entitlement and unrealistic expectations.

I can't remember the game but one game at marvel he was providing the switch kick across the ground in the back half and he was nailing the targets. If he can keep his kicking efficiency 70% plus he is such a weapon.
    He did a few of those against Brisbane this year after EW spent the week talking about how he was going to trade him.

He's going just a touch below his career average of 70.3% returning 69.6%, but that's playing a more inside oriented role so it's probably OK.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...&fid1=S&fid2=C

19. Thanks azabob thanked for this post

Quote Originally Posted by Ozza View Post
    They came to the game a very frustrated and angry supporter base.
    Really turned on McKay from early in the game.
    When they did get up and going, were particularly visceral and aggressive and really wanted to 'get up' us as Dogs supporters.
    I certainly noticed how nervous and angry they were right from the start, turning on their players as well.
    For those who were always the underdogs and wore it as a badge of honour.

For me it was Libba's goal.
    It came out of no where and not too many players would be able to kick that goal.

He really is a legend.
    For those who were always the underdogs and wore it as a badge of honour.

The harsh reality vs entitlement and unrealistic expectations.
    All a bit tragic, really.

23. Likes hujsh liked this post