Likes Likes:  44
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Re: 3 things learned from Rd9 2023

1. They CAN jump start the motor when it stalls. I hate that we keep having these massive runs of goals conceded, but at the least in the last fortnight we?ve been able to settle and hold them off for long enough, or fire up again and get the scoreboard ticking over.

2. When we have the right mix defensively, and the midfield applies the requisite physical pressure, our system can be really stifling, like it was in 2016. It wasn?t always effective, but the repeat efforts and physical squeeze we put on the contest was a foundation for the win.

3. JUH played well and could have had an even bigger impact if he was a bit more hungry in front of goal and secure with the footy. His work up the field was superb, he seemed surprised when the ball got to him deep a few times. Want him to put those opportunities in the bank.what I am taking away from that is he can still grow that aggressive component to his game in close.

2. Likes EasternWest, BornInDroopSt'54 liked this post

1. Naughton is a massive headache for defenders, which is why he is usually triple teamed. If he doesn't mark (or spoils it for someone else ) he follows through with multiple creative efforts.

2. At least one TWIN is staking his claim on permanent 22.

3. Arty is not only joyful, but smart, quick and courageous!

1. Don't agree to meet up with an old mate, back for a month from the UK, at the G for a twilight game then have a meal afterwards, when the 'dogs are playing at night.
    2. Don't follow the live score on your iPhone during a meal.
    3. Don't positively contribute to the 3 Things thread next day.

So I won't and don't.

1. The announcement that it’s ok scrag Aaron Naughton all night, and the new edict that HTB doesn’t exist, really flew under the radar.

2. We’re building very strong defensive foundations, which are important at the pointy end of the season. Our forward work, and forward entries, often let us down, though I’m not sure which is driving which. It was a surprise we rattled on those last minute goals because we’d gone back to the tried and not so true method of bomb it to a lot of tall dudes.

3. This is a new maturity and a further development in Bevo the coach. The way things have been rebuilt since we were down and out in round two has been quite spectacular and speaks of someone willing to adapt and rejig which haven’t historically been his strong points. Even hopefully for good, abandoning the blind faith in Hannan and McComb. (BUT the JOD selection wasn’t his finest moment).

6. Likes GVGjr, Bulldog4life, BornInDroopSt'54 liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by The bulldog tragician View Post
    1. The announcement that it’s ok scrag Aaron Naughton all night, and the new edict that HTB doesn’t exist, really flew under the radar.

2. We’re building very strong defensive foundations, which are important at the pointy end of the season. Our forward work, and forward entries, often let us down, though I’m not sure which is driving which. It was a surprise we rattled on those last minute goals because we’d gone back to the tried and not so true method of bomb it to a lot of tall dudes.

3. This is a new maturity and a further development in Bevo the coach. The way things have been rebuilt since we were down and out in round two has been quite spectacular and speaks of someone willing to adapt and rejig which haven’t historically been his strong points. Even hopefully for good, abandoning the blind faith in Hannan and McComb. (BUT the JOD selection wasn’t his finest moment).
    Patience. Look at Jones' 6 games. Bev ordinarily gives debutants at least 3 weeks. Whilst he's coached only 1 AFL Premiership than you or me, I still reckon he knows what he's doing.

8. Likes BornInDroopSt'54 liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by The bulldog tragician View Post

Tend to agree, with a caveat that he still needs to maintain the results and performance against teams that are in form and up the pointy end.

1. I will and the team will miss Liber when he retires. He is a GUN

2. Glad we were patient with Arty

3. Bailey Williams season has been very solid and pretty much gone under the radar. Becoming an important cog. Hope we sign him up soon.

11. Likes azabob, Boots, BornInDroopSt'54, josie liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Curly5 View Post
    1. Naughton is a massive headache for defenders, which is why he is usually triple teamed. If he doesn't mark (or spoils it for someone else ) he follows through with multiple creative efforts.
    Be nice to see him paid some of the free kicks that he?s owed down there. The manhandling and chopping of the arms is outrageous.

Credit to him that he is the competitive beast that he is and has such impact at ground level.

13. Likes josie liked this post