Thanks Thanks:  4
Likes Likes:  19
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Re: Has Luke Beveridge made the most of the Western Bulldogs' talent, or is he all smoke and mirrors?

Quote Originally Posted by Flamethrower View Post

Just watch a ball kicked high into the forward line, and Naughton. Ugle Hagan, Lobb, English, Bontempelli and Weightman all compete against each other to try to mark it. Where are the blocks? Where are the crumbers to the front and back of the pack? They are there but they are all wearing opposition jumpers.
    Spot on. What you've omitted, probably tactfully, is what happens when the ball inevitably spills, the opposition then waltz out of F50. Where are your "Naughton. Ugle Hagan, Lobb, English, Bontempelli and Weightman" ? Wandering 'round, hands on hips, at best jogging in the direction of the escapee. Job done. Disgraceful yet Bev's head ?
    Last edited by D Mitchell; 24-08-2023 at 07:26 PM.

Re: Has Luke Beveridge made the most of the Western Bulldogs' talent, or is he all smoke and mirrors?

Every one makes these accusations but is there proof ?
    Plenty of evidence is there from 2015. No tagging, selection policy, rucking options, Naughton as a forward, drafting Gowers, etc etc. It was a good thing too until it stopped working.

Quote Originally Posted by JanLorMill View Post
    Plenty of evidence is there from 2015. No tagging, selection policy, rucking options, Naughton as a forward, drafting Gowers, etc etc. It was a good thing too until it stopped working.
    Sorry you didn’t answer the question

No worries The evidence is all wrong then.

Evidence?

Evidence?
    It was silly to draft Gowers even though he led our goal kicking. It was ridiculous to push Naughton forward even though he averages ~45-50 goals the past few years. Even though he's played decent rucks when we've had them and especially since ruck oriented assitants have left the club, he hates rucks.

And don't get me started on how he almost ruined James O'Donnell's career by playing him forward for a few weeks, or picked fringe players in weird spots that I didn't agree with and lost countless games because of it because fringe players played in odd spots make the world of difference......

7. Likes bornadog, Mofra liked this post

Evidence?
    I think we ended up talking about two different things

No worries again. We’re going sensationally, Bevo is great at accepting advice, changing his ways that aren’t working and not stubborn at all.

Can't take the L? You just listed a bunch of things you don't like. Whether they're working or not you didn't give any evidence to BAD that Bevo is ignoring his senior assistants.

I think this might be Jant's first call out for the Nets. BAD, get ready, it's Nets time!

12. Likes EasternWest liked this post

Can't take the L? You just listed a bunch of things you don't like. Whether they're working or not you didn't give any evidence to BAD that Bevo is ignoring his senior assistants.
    Yeah mate

No worries again. We?re going sensationally, Bevo is great at accepting advice, changing his ways that aren?t working and not stubborn at all.
    Did anyone catch this? Brad Johnson is fairly adamant Beveridge has a big summer of contemplation. Starts about the eight minute ten second mark.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FETuii9Jv4g&t=501s

Clearly something is wrong at the club.

It is probably a combination of everything players, footy department, coaching team and something needs to change over summer.

Reality it is the three people who need to shoulder the blame is Luke Beveridge, Christ Grant and Marcus Bontempelli.

Did anyone catch this? Brad Johnson is fairly adamant Beveridge has a big summer of contemplation. Starts about the eight minute ten second mark.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FETuii9Jv4g&t=501s
    Didn’t he have a big summer of contemplation ahead when we bombed out of the finals after leading by 6 goals last year? We were sold a more accountable game plan which lasted 4-6 weeks and since then it’s put too much onus on the performances of our best players and rotate the hell out of our bottom 4-6.

It’s just rinse & repeat.

17. Likes azabob liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Flamethrower View Post
    Most overrated list of all time. Football is a TEAM sport, not a sport of 18 individuals fighting for the same ball at the same time.

Just watch a ball kicked high into the forward line, and Naughton. Ugle Hagan, Lobb, English, Bontempelli and Weightman all compete against each other to try to mark it. Where are the blocks? Where are the crumbers to the front and back of the pack? They are there but they are all wearing opposition jumpers.
    One of if not the most dysfunctional forward line in the AFL.