Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  60
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Re: School yard footy challenge - pick your side from Dogs current list.

Name Position Why?
    Gardner FB Will spoil everything
    Keath CHB Will bark directions to everyone upfield
    Crozier HBF Will fly high and kick long
    Lobb Ruck Big strange kid in the ruck seems about right
    McComb Centre Tough onballer, hard to beat in tight
    McNeil Rover What can't he do?
    Vandermeer Wing Nobody will catch him (kids don't do hammies)
    O'Brien CHF Great leap and hands, athletic to cover the ground
    Bruce Full forward Big Brucey won't be beaten 1 on 1, even if his goals don't count
    Hannan HFF Can sit on heads and kick goals from nowhere

Duryea the sub as he's going to be late getting out of detention.

Team Name: The Whipping Boys
    Haha. Love it.

Lobb the big strange kid... I can see it.

Taking on a private school it's a good sledge team name as well. Might evoke some traumatic memories for the opposition!

2. Likes Axe Man liked this post

Haha. Love it.

Lobb the big strange kid... I can see it.

Taking on a private school it's a good sledge team name as well. Might evoke some traumatic memories for the opposition!
    Funny thing is we probably only have a couple of players on the list that didn't go to private school themselves (Clarke?). Gone are the days of the public school tough kids.

Yes, the way of modern recruiting. Marra had a scholarship to one of the prestigious schools too.

Here's a stab at it

Name Position Why?
    Liberatore Centre He's going to winning it at the coal face and getting it out.
    Naughton CHF I mentioned this in another thread gives room for JUH to work in.
    Bontempelli Rover I may be getting my idea of centre and rover mixed up but the Bont is out there to distribute.
    Dale Wing Has pace is better on the outside and a good user.
    Sweet Ruck I would like us to have first use and I was always a fan of Minno and Hudson.
    Jamarra Full forward It he's natural position and hopefully not competing with Naughts
    Richards HBF Same as mentioned but if he can loose the sweetness and become more hardnosed. Rebound 50, and such a sweet kid
    Darcy CHB Good hands and he would be the biggest kid in the school
    Jones FB Backs himself providing he can get a run at it.
    West HFF Footy smarts can win the hard ball

Smith. Just not sure about his commitment.

* Sweet hasn't gone yet

6. Likes Grantysghost liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Hotdog60 View Post
    Here's a stab at it

Name Position Why?
    Liberatore Centre He's going to winning it at the coal face and getting it out.
    Naughton CHF I mentioned this in another thread gives room for JUH to work in.
    Bontempelli Rover I may be getting my idea of centre and rover mixed up but the Bont is out there to distribute.
    Dale Wing Has pace is better on the outside and a good user.
    Sweet Ruck I would like us to have first use and I was always a fan of Minno and Hudson.
    Jamarra Full forward It he's natural position and hopefully not competing with Naughts
    Richards HBF Same as mentioned but if he can loose the sweetness and become more hardnosed. Rebound 50, and such a sweet kid
    Darcy CHB Good hands and he would be the biggest kid in the school
    Jones FB Backs himself providing he can get a run at it.
    West HFF Footy smarts can win the hard ball

Smith. Just not sure about his commitment.

* Sweet hasn't gone yet
    Oh like it. Sweet in for a bit of an old state school head cracking vibe. Same with Westy.
    Dale on a wing, actually.... That's not a bad idea I. reality.

Didn't Liber play ruck in some game in overseas post 16 GF?

Is anyone gonna do it??

9. Likes Grantysghost liked this post

Didn't Liber play ruck in some game in overseas post 16 GF?

Is anyone gonna do it??
    I'm waiting for BAD's team of waifs too.

11. Likes bornadog liked this post

Yes, the way of modern recruiting. Marra had a scholarship to one of the prestigious schools too.
    Rocket was the coach

I'm waiting for BAD's team of waifs too.
    As long as both his key defenders are 200cm+, BAD has free reign from me!

14. Likes bornadog, Grantysghost liked this post

As long as both his key defenders are 200cm+, BAD has free reign from me!
    No short arses in the backline for me

Name Position Why?
    B Smith Centre catch me if you can? will smash them
    Bont CHF would dominate as CHF at this level. Unstoppable
    Daniel Rover I think an elite user of short distance will be key on this deck. Danny Boy is in
    Truck Wing Has the long kick to score from anywhere on the field and versatile enough to do a few roles.
    Lobb Ruck Bit more grunt in the middle to do some dirty work and versatility
    English Full forward Quick, deep entries - big chill with a big bag
    Richards HBF what everyone said
    Naughton CHB yeah? think this would suit him roaming and marking everything in sight
    Jones FB What Naughts doesn?t mark, Jones does. Mean spoil and great closing agility
    Dale HFF Run hard, kick sausages

Sub - trying to think of someone different to use here, but Treloar I think it has to be.

Quote Originally Posted by Go_Dogs View Post
    Name Position Why?
    B Smith Centre catch me if you can? will smash them
    Bont CHF would dominate as CHF at this level. Unstoppable
    Daniel Rover I think an elite user of short distance will be key on this deck. Danny Boy is in
    Truck Wing Has the long kick to score from anywhere on the field and versatile enough to do a few roles.
    Lobb Ruck Bit more grunt in the middle to do some dirty work and versatility
    English Full forward Quick, deep entries - big chill with a big bag
    Richards HBF what everyone said
    Naughton CHB yeah? think this would suit him roaming and marking everything in sight
    Jones FB What Naughts doesn?t mark, Jones does. Mean spoil and great closing agility
    Dale HFF Run hard, kick sausages

Sub - trying to think of someone different to use here, but Treloar I think it has to be.
    English at FF will make a few posters very happy GD!

An AA forward line spine would be pretty unstoppable.

Was waiting for a Truck nomination very nice.

Good side!

Different sport, but this reminds me of the disparity between schools in the zone I grew up in. Playing cricket vs. Mount Scopus at their school in Burwood and I was opening the batting. We'd been playing on concrete state school wickets that didn't get any bounce with rock hard composite balls in ten over per innings matches.

Anyway, I decide I won't need a helmet, and for some unbelievably stupid reason our coach and old school cricket guy had no problems with it - I guess they let 11 year old's fail hard in the early 90s. But the problem was there was a synthetic deck at Mount Scopus, and Michael Klinger was opening the bowling and at that point he (as I found out almost the hard way) wasn't just a bat.

The first ball was a half tracker quicker than I'd faced by a lot of older kids I played against, and he was a year younger than I. It climbed and I pulled back, and I reckon it missed my head by less than half a foot. I called for the helmet, and carried my bat for a solid twelve not out to set up a tight win
    I gave Tony Dodemaide a huge sledge after catching him in the slips for a relatively low score in U/16s. We'd been told how good his form with the bat.

As I walked out to bat with us 2 for not many I heard "Give. Me. The. Ball" come from the region of covers.

Luckiest duck i ever made. Couldn't get away quickly enough.

Rocket was the coach
    He was Darcy's too wasn't he?

20. Likes bornadog liked this post

BAD has to be the umpire. Very strict and no convolution of the rules.

The bit around the ground configuration really clears things up as well mate. Cheers.
    You should have seen the look on MJP's face the day we were getting ready to play touch footy and Westdog turned up to umpire.

MJP just looked at him and said "what the **** are you dressed up as?"

22. Likes jeemak liked this post