Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  26
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

The Monday Soap Box - Round One

It's time to have a rant about something.
    It could be the AFL, umpiring, Kane Cornes, Channel 7 commentary, Rules, Opposition players etc

The Doctor wants to share this with you

The Food Van at Footscray v Werribee at WO on Saturday.

For the 2nd week in a row I'm having a rant about this. Last week the ice cream van disappeared before the end of the game. It was 35 degrees and everyone wanted an ice cream. This week we had a food van selling snags in a roll for $10.
    Yes $10 for a 60c roll and one of those God awful thin sausages that cost about 60c you can buy from Woolies.
    It took 10 minutes to get it. The dude asked me if I wanted cheese. I said "yes sir" so he gave me the sausage roll without the cheese. When I said 'hey mate you forgot the cheese" he looked at me as though I was starting an argument.
    First he rips me off then he gets gnarly with me!

2. Thanks Yankee Hotel Foxtrot thanked for this post
    Likes Grantysghost liked this post

Re: The Monday Soap Box - Round One

For me

I caught a glimpse of Tom Morris having a crack at Bevo and the club about our performance yesterday.
    Luckily James Bartel added some proper context to the performance but it was typical form from Morris and it should be a timely reminder to us all that he is a poor excuse of a journo.

This is another one from The Doctor

This stupid nominating the ruck rule.

Get rid of it. It is amatuerish and stupid. It happened in the Saints v Geelong game when they held up the game and waited for Marshall to make it to the contest. He was only wearing one boot as he limped up. Then eager to get on with it he put his boot behind the contest area. A Geelong player then hurled it away. The umpire got cranky! Held up the game again while the boot was retrieved. What a fiasco. The in our debacle Lobb got in trouble for blocking Gawn presumably trying to get to the contest while everyone was waiting. It cost us a penalty downfield and a goal. Stuff it if the ruckmen aren't ready. Ball it up and get on with it. No nominations either. Just 2 players go up. If a 3rd joins in. Penalise them.

Interrupted pre season . Fair dinkum a player misses a week of pre season and that’s an excuse used before the season starts in case he has a bad game.
    Uninterrupted pre season , the reason he played a great game first up.
    Pick and choose what suits your agenda.

Music

1. Not necessary at a sporting event
    2. Music chosen is crap
    3. Don't sit under speakers

7. Likes GVGjr, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot liked this post

Music

1. Not necessary at a sporting event
    2. Music chosen is crap
    3. Don't sit under speakers
    Nice one BAD, It's getting over the top isn't it?

Can't stand it, and it is very loud and you can't talk to people if you are sitting near speakers.

Trading for a tagger with veneers and then not using him to tag or bite anyone.

Hahahaaaaaa.

Thanks HD needed a good laugh!

It's time to have a rant about something.
    It could be the AFL, umpiring, Kane Cornes, Channel 7 commentary, Rules, Opposition players etc

The Doctor wants to share this with you

The Food Van at Footscray v Werribee at WO on Saturday.

For the 2nd week in a row I'm having a rant about this. Last week the ice cream van disappeared before the end of the game. It was 35 degrees and everyone wanted an ice cream. This week we had a food van selling snags in a roll for $10.
    Yes $10 for a 60c roll and one of those God awful thin sausages that cost about 60c you can buy from Woolies.
    It took 10 minutes to get it. The dude asked me if I wanted cheese. I said "yes sir" so he gave me the sausage roll without the cheese. When I said 'hey mate you forgot the cheese" he looked at me as though I was starting an argument.
    First he rips me off then he gets gnarly with me!
    Why can't they open the bloody brand new awesome food outlet in the north east corner??!

I go to watch my niblings run at a little athletics meet with a few people and they have a proper full canteen setup. Bah.

Why can't they open the bloody brand new awesome food outlet in the north east corner??!

I go to watch my niblings run at a little athletics meet with a few people and they have a proper full canteen setup. Bah.
    What the heck is a nibling?

The goal review:

What was the deal with the review in our game where they stopped live play to check if the ball had crossed the line? I don't think I've ever seen that before. But it's stupid. You stop live play to see if the ball crossed the line for a point. In this instance it hadn't and we were denied a potential goal because live play was halted. In saying that the re-bounce was favourable to us but it still seems silly. I don't know what the solution is but halting live play for a review is crap.

15. Likes GVGjr liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by ledge View Post
    Interrupted pre season . Fair dinkum a player misses a week of pre season and that’s an excuse used before the season starts in case he has a bad game.
    Uninterrupted pre season , the reason he played a great game first up.
    Pick and choose what suits your agenda.
    Agree with this. Clayton Oliver had what you would call a relatively interrupted pre-season - you wouldn't have known yesterday.

Depending on your world view you could argue that he had the best, most chemically assisted pre-season possible.

18. Likes bornadog liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by bulldogsthru&thru View Post
    The goal review:

What was the deal with the review in our game where they stopped live play to check if the ball had crossed the line? I don't think I've ever seen that before. But it's stupid. You stop live play to see if the ball crossed the line for a point. In this instance it hadn't and we were denied a potential goal because live play was halted. In saying that the re-bounce was favourable to us but it still seems silly. I don't know what the solution is but halting live play for a review is crap.
    I know we got a decision go our way with Khamis but I really do question the value of the goal reviews vs the time it takes to get it done.