Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  26
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Re: The Monday Soap Box - Round One

I know we got a decision go our way with Khamis but I really do question the value of the goal reviews vs the time it takes to get it done.
    I question goal umpires questioning their own decision when it’s blatantly obvious.

2. Likes EasternWest liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by ledge View Post
    I question goal umpires questioning their own decision when it’s blatantly obvious.
    It's been overdone. Good concept but with the appropriate technology to support it.

I know we got a decision go our way with Khamis but I really do question the value of the goal reviews vs the time it takes to get it done.
    It really stopped the flow of the game

Okay, I was fuming when I came home but somehow I decided to watch the replay and to be honest I thought the commentary team did a great job at just calling the game. My rant is that that level of commentary needs to be the standard for the season.
    Hudson, Johnson, Lewis and Hill really worked well together.

My rant is that that level of commentary needs to be the standard for the season.
    Hudson, Johnson, Lewis and Hill really worked well together.
    The Ch 7 Saturday night coverage at Pissant Park was dire. Luke Darcy, Hame, Jobe, Ling, Erin Phillips (great player, pretty awful media talent) is about as unwatchable as the footy on the TV gets.

7. Likes EasternWest liked this post

The Doctor wants to share this with you

The Food Van at Footscray v Werribee at WO on Saturday.

For the 2nd week in a row I'm having a rant about this. Last week the ice cream van disappeared before the end of the game. It was 35 degrees and everyone wanted an ice cream. This week we had a food van selling snags in a roll for $10.
    Yes $10 for a 60c roll and one of those God awful thin sausages that cost about 60c you can buy from Woolies.
    It took 10 minutes to get it. The dude asked me if I wanted cheese. I said "yes sir" so he gave me the sausage roll without the cheese. When I said 'hey mate you forgot the cheese" he looked at me as though I was starting an argument.
    First he rips me off then he gets gnarly with me!
    Well the Doctor is bang on with this. The club should be able to organise things a bit better than this. I popped in and was surprised at the pricing especially given how poor the standard of the food was.
    I get that everything is going up but why is the quality of the food going down at the same time?

What the heck is a nibling?
    Nieces / nephews

Agree with this. Clayton Oliver had what you would call a relatively interrupted pre-season - you wouldn't have known yesterday.
    Considering his jumper was XL it was easy to spot.

Bailey Williams joking around ten mins after the game.
    I know it's irrational, yes Rocco i know, but it still pissed me right off!

I had just decided not to put my head in the oven and then saw this!

12. Likes EasternWest liked this post

My soapbox is I had to watch that sniping grub Kosie Pickett play.

He was bloody suspended in Melbourne's last game of the year.

I spent all summer content in the fact I wouldn't have to put up with his smug punchable face come round one...

Thats why I'm pissed off with round zero, nothing to do with fairness or equality...
    Last edited by azabob; 18-03-2024 at 04:46 PM.

Brave of you to watch this. I got home within 10 minutes of the game ending and I could have switched the Telly on, but was in no mood.

15. Likes Grantysghost liked this post

I was disappointed by this too. Thousands of supporters disappointed and thinking our season hopes are dashed and they don't seem to be hurting or care.
    Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

Music

1. Not necessary at a sporting event
    2. Music chosen is crap
    3. Don't sit under speakers
    One of my pet hates is music & announcements blaring. I now where noise cancellation headphones - it doesn?t block out much but at least I go home without a headache.

Add to that at MCG the still adverts were still showing on big screen when play had restarted during many passages of play, really unprofessional.

Poor grammar, sorry woofers.

Wear not where.

Edit doesn?t work for me, my whole post disappears when I try to edit.

19. Likes EasternWest liked this post

Can't stand it, and it is very loud and you can't talk to people if you are sitting near speakers.
    I'm actually not going to a game until they stop this crap.

21. Likes bornadog liked this post