Thanks Thanks:  5
Likes Likes:  40
Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910

Re: AFL Game Day R3 - 2024

Quote Originally Posted by EasternWest View Post
    If I get tackled around the waist but work out a technique to turn the tackle into a trip, should that not be called?

It's so totally bizarre to me that people think "he lifted the arm to get the free so it shouldn't be a free" exists.

Yeah go ahead, rip his head off.

Bizarre.
    Thank bloody Christ!

It's the most ridiculous contradiction in the rules. Imagine as soon as you're tackled between the knee and the waist you have to stop running just in case your leg movements cause the tackle to slip below the knees..........

Mate, I hate to break it to you but it's not just the AFL!
    Yeah I know but the AFL is all encompassing and would never ever ever separate one person over another unless ….

If I get tackled around the waist but work out a technique to turn the tackle into a trip, should that not be called?

It's so totally bizarre to me that people think "he lifted the arm to get the free so it shouldn't be a free" exists.

Bizarre.
    So I agree that it's bizarre and Ginnivan gets umpired differently to most players (he also needs to adjust to this), but they changed the wording of the high tackle rule so that this DOES exist, didn't they? You can't use your arm to lift a tackle high?

Ginnivan gets absolutely mauled at every opportunity though, and the umpires are missing legitimate free kicks.

Quote Originally Posted by jazzadogs View Post
    So I agree that it's bizarre and Ginnivan gets umpired differently to most players (he also needs to adjust to this), but they changed the wording of the high tackle rule so that this DOES exist, didn't they? You can't use your arm to lift a tackle high?

Ginnivan gets absolutely mauled at every opportunity though, and the umpires are missing legitimate free kicks.
    That's the stupidity of the entire thing.

It used to be that if you ducked or ran at someone with your head (i.e. initiated contact) then you forego your right to a too high free kick.

Now they expect everyone to pick up the ball, stand up straight immediately, not lower themselves to change direction....all the while allowing people to run out of tackles and not give away free kicks if a tackle falls below the knee. It's insane.

Reward the person who claims the footy. If a tackler (someone who doesn't have the footy) can't keep it below the shoulders or above the knees then penalise them. It's not hard, and the benefits to congestion and injury are clear.

Players now are looked at as wimping it but sometimes they can’t go for the ball due to head contact could be involved.

Bizarre.
    Hey. I'm not saying it's right just saying that is what they're trained to do. They've got a free reign to get him high. It happened last season as well.

Quote Originally Posted by G-Mo77 View Post
    Hey. I'm not saying it's right just saying that is what they're trained to do. They've got a free reign to get him high. It happened last season as well.
    Sorry, I realise it seems like I was potting you but I didn't mean to shoot the messenger. More that the whole scenario is bizarre.

There's carte blanche on decapitating one guy. It's weird.

Saul Goodman.

This is AFL reactive rule changing at it's best. I doubt they'll do anything differently. Ginnivan just needs to change, Cody seems to have who was also under the microscope last season.

Quote Originally Posted by G-Mo77 View Post
    Saul Goodman.

This is AFL reactive rule changing at it's best. I doubt they'll do anything differently. Ginnivan just needs to change, Cody seems to have who was also under the microscope last season.
    This is how fascism starts.

I for one welcome our new overlords, Dills, Macca, Chook and Boofa.

Sorry, I realise it seems like I was potting you but I didn't mean to shoot the messenger. More that the whole scenario is bizarre.

There's carte blanche on decapitating one guy. It's weird.
    He seems to have a tic, everytime he gets tackled his arm goes up.

The umpires still need to pay the ones that are legit high though.

I think out of the 20 yesterday, 2 were legit.

He seems to have a tic, everytime he gets tackled his arm goes up.

The umpires still need to pay the ones that are legit high though.

I think out of the 20 yesterday, 2 were legit.
    Ginny is quickly working out that it is a bit harder to get free kicks when you're not wearing a filth jumper.

13. Likes Dry Rot liked this post

The marking contest where he got hit over the head/ shoulder was the best of the lot.

I thought I would check in to see how you are.

Both David King and Gary Lyon agree with you and I know how much you rate their opinions.

I thought I would check in to see how you are.

Both David King and Gary Lyon agree with you and I know how much you rate their opinions.