Re: Always Right Match Committee Round 23 VS North Melbourne
Originally Posted by
Warrnambulldog
I?m in agreement
Freijah, Sanders and Macrae are no brainers, they were stiff to be dropped originally
Enoughs enough with Vandermeer, it?s one thing being a flog but he cant be a fumbly unskilled one, I don?t care how much he runs around like a headless chook. Baker could do this better
Coffield, Khamis, Garcia havent done enough
Not sure why VDM is a flog, but I agree he is fumbly and lacking in skills at times. Unfortunately we don't have anyone who can cover the ground at pace like he can, and I think a lot of the time when he misses tackles it's after a long run to put pressure on that doesn't really show up on TV.
Garcia led our tackles tonight with nine, which is great and all, but he needs to be a bit more productive and also get a few more scoring opportunities. I'd keep him in the team, even though I'm not as enamoured with him as some.
Daniel did enough for mine to get an opportunity to see if he can play a role and be productive in it in terms of finding the ball and using it. 15 touches in a quarter and a half is all you can ask for from a sub, so he's earned a full game for mine.
All that said, I want to see how we can reward both Jacko and Sanders for good VFL form the past two weeks and fear one will be the sub, and one will miss out. An injury omission is their likely chance for inclusion unless we decide to omit a Coffield or Khamis and shuffle things around.
Khamis is the one who I don't think has a genuine role in the back six if Lobb and Jones are firing.
Originally Posted by
Not sure why VDM is a flog, but I agree he is fumbly and lacking in skills at times.
I don't agree with calling VDM a flog either, but he doesn't help himself with some of the way he lambasts team mates. I can't remember who it was, but he baked someone early for not dropping the ball on a pin when he was going back deep inside forward 50 against two Crows. It was a bloody hard kick to make and he probably wasn't marking it anyway - there was just no need to give a verbal bake to the kicker.
I think it might be glossed over if he was a Bailey Dale with the ball, but he's regularly putting it to the wrong side of leading forwards as well.
McNeil moved ahead of VDM yesterday for me and I thought Laith was really lucky not to be subbed out. There was a few minutes in the third when he missed a tackle on half-back and gave up a shot at goal, then fumbled an easy one in our goal square. Not good enough.
In Freijah, O'Donnell and Macrae
Out Khamis, Coffield and Vandermeer
Originally Posted by
I don't agree with calling VDM a flog either, but he doesn't help himself with some of the way he lambasts team mates. I can't remember who it was, but he baked someone early for not dropping the ball on a pin when he was going back deep inside forward 50 against two Crows. It was a bloody hard kick to make and he probably wasn't marking it anyway - there was just no need to give a verbal bake to the kicker.
I think it might be glossed over if he was a Bailey Dale with the ball, but he's regularly putting it to the wrong side of leading forwards as well.
McNeil moved ahead of VDM yesterday for me and I thought Laith was really lucky not to be subbed out. There was a few minutes in the third when he missed a tackle on half-back and gave up a shot at goal, then fumbled an easy one in our goal square. Not good enough.
It was ok led by Weightman. Van gave him a bake.
Originally Posted by
It was ok led by Weightman. Van gave him a bake. It was as a 45m kick off one step and your running back away from ok the ball. A good for add would have lead to the ball dragging how opponent away from ok the goal face. I see VDM as having small man syndrome. I?m sick of him giving fr the kicks away and the. Mouthing off and bumping the recipient. It?s just dumb and news flash that?s not tough footy.
He was as versatile coy not to give50 away having a shot on goal after they got a free half back also.
JOD for Khamis. If we're going to get beaten at least JOD can kick.
Gallagher for VDM
Freijah for Coffield
JOD for Khamis
Daniel for Garcia (Gacia sub)
Four changes are too many but I am not sold on either Coffield or Khamis. I would prefer not to see them at senior level again in 2024.
JOD to take the third banana and Freijah to help provide run off our half back line which we truly lacked yesterday.
Clearly the match committee likes VDM repeated defensive efforts but when he gets the football, he makes very poor decisions. I would bring in Gallagher and have him play VDM role - hopefully is decision making is a bit better than VDM.
I would love to bring Macrae in for his toughness at the contest, but that would mean dropping Liberatore. If Libba isn't 100% with his ankle I would make that change.
Daniel deserves a full game so he comes into the 22 and Garcia as the sub. I would not be too upset if Sanders came in for Garcia especially now Sanders is starting to hit the scoreboard at VFL level - something he has not been able to do at AFL level yet.
If Naughton needs a week off, give it to him FFS.
As an aside I found interesting Garnder played forward on the weekend in the VFL. Not sure what that means if anything, but interesting none the less.
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 3 Likes
Should Weightman be under consideration for being dropped? He's been poor/average for an extended time although he has played well against North in the past.
Originally Posted by
Should Weightman be under consideration for being dropped? He's been poor/average for an extended time although he has played well against North in the past.
I think he still has enough credits but he was horrible yesterday. I wouldn’t be losing sleep if we did it.
Originally Posted by
It's a good call.
He has gone back to some bad habits with continually going to ground and missed tackles. I thought we should have pushed him up the ground yesterday given how out of touch he was.
His conversion is a concern.
I wouldn't drop him but I'd be giving him a reminder that we need a lot more from him.
Originally Posted by
It's a good call.
He has gone back to some bad habits with continually going to ground and missed tackles. I thought we should have pushed him up the ground yesterday given how out of touch he was.
His conversion is a concern.
I wouldn't drop him but I'd be giving him a reminder that we need a lot more from him.
Cody can't play with a hard tag which is what he got yesterday. His opponent had no intention of getting the ball but just stopping Cody. He needs to learn how to play with a tag.
We also have no smalls able to convert or look like converting which is a worry. What we would give for a Ginnivan/Watson type.
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes
Buku can?t play next week, that is all I?m sure of right now.
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 4 Likes
Originally Posted by
Buku can?t play next week, that is all I?m sure of right now.
Cannot believe he got me again. This is like the 6th time I’ve talked myself into him being AFL standard.
OUT: Buku, Garcia, Coffield
IN: JOD, Sanders, Macrae
Originally Posted by
Cannot believe he got me again. This is like the 6th time I’ve talked myself into him being AFL standard.
Yeah, enough is enough.