Simon Beasley was the Bulldogs full forward in its Team of the Century.He played 154 games & kicked 575 goals.
TCD: Simon, welcome to WOOF.
SB: Thanks, I’ve had the pleasure of checking out WOOF & I must say it’s a pretty impressive website.
Thanks for that. A lot of people have put a lot of time into making it what it is today. Now, when did you start playing football & who with?
I grew up in the Swan Valley area, about 7 or 8 miles out of Perth & played for my school, Guildford Grammar on Saturdays & Guildford Junior Football Club on Sundays.
Did you follow a team in the WAFL?
Yes, Swan Districts.
What about the VFL?
No, not really. In WA we used to watch ‘The Winners’ on the ABC & most people were more interested in how the Western Australian boys had performed.
When did you play for Swan Districts?
From 1977-1981.
So, how did you become to be a Bulldog?
Most VFL sides approached me. Footscray had initially spoken with me in the late 70’s. At the time I was working at the stock exchange in Perth & knew to succeed I had to go to Melbourne. Footscray again approached me after I made up my mind to head east. The timing was perfect.
What were your initial thoughts of Footscray?
It was very similar to my old club back in WA, very blue collar, so that made it easier for me. I copped a bit of flack initially as I lived in South Yarra.
Who was the coach of Footscray when you first arrived?
Royce Hart, but part of the way through 1982 he was sacked & replaced by Bluey Hampshire. It was a difficult season in 1982, Kelvin Templeton’s knee was sore, we had many younger players, but as the season progressed I started to find my feet & ended kicking 82 goals.
Do you remember you debut for Footscray?
It was awful; we lost by 138 points to Essendon at Windy Hill.
1984 saw Mick Malthouse arrive as senior coach. Is it true he thought you couldn’t play in the rain & dropped you whenever it got wet?
That’s a bit of an urban myth to be honest. It happened once when we played Essendon at the Western Oval. Both sides managed to kick 3 goals including a late one by Peter Bradbury for Essendon which won them the game.
There was another wet game in 1984, where we played Collingwood at the Western Oval. Do you remember it?
How could I forget it? Gubby Allen was awarded a free kick in the back pocket in front of the John Gent stand. I expected him to kick along the boundary line as Collingwood led by a point at the time. For some reason he decided to kick across the ground to my opponent, Greg Phillips. Gubby kicked it a little like a wedge shot in golf. It just seemed to hang in the air & I ran backwards & collided with Greg Phillips as the ball arrived. I managed to hold onto the mark, went back & kicked the goal. It was a great feeling!
How close were you & Les ‘Lally’ Bamblett?
Very close. Where I grew up in WA, many of my friends were aboriginal children. Lally was shy, but we had a strong report. I used to take him home from training to his home in Collingwood.
Is it true Lally was partial to McDonald’s?
Yes, on Thursday’s after training I’d drop him off at the McDonalds in Collingwood & he’d make his own way home from there.
Gee Lally was good in 1985!
Yes, his strength was his electrifying pace, even tho he was heavy. Unfortunately he burst his appendix in 1985 & whilst he returned to play that season, he just wasn’t the same.
Speaking of 1985, that season saw you kick 105 goals for the season. You brought up the ton against North Melbourne in a final.
That’s right. I took a pack mark in the third quarter. It was a great moment personally, but more importantly we won the game. Hawk was on fire that day.
Then the following week we lost by 10 points to Hawthorn in the Preliminary Final.
It was such a shame. We had struggled with Hawthorn that year, much the same as Essendon had struggled with us. Leigh Matthews had this never say die attitude & was able to impose his will on the game when it counted with a couple of late goals, which enable the Hawks to claim a 10 point victory.
Were you as critical of Brad Hardie as some that day?
No, Brad had played really well all day, maybe in hindsight Brian Cordy might have been a better match up.
You had a shot for goal after the siren against the Brisbane Bears at Cararra. Take me through it.
I had marked the ball on an extremely acute angle on the wrong side for a right footer. The siren sounded & we were 2 points down. It was incredibly dark, tho the TV doesn’t show that. The crowd had spilt onto the ground & to make matters worse the Bears decided to be creative & instead of a man on the mark, they created a human pyramid, with my old Swan Districts team mate Mark Richardson perched at the top. The league changed the rules after that, banning players from climbing atop their team mates on the mark. After all that I missed & we lost by a point.
When did you retire?
July 1989. I’d had a good innings at Swans & Footscray, but my back was just too sore to go on.
Were you ever reported?
Yes twice, for striking Barry Stoneham of Geelong & Scott Clayton of Fitzroy, but was cleared both times.
Who were some of the better players you played with?
• Doug Hawkins – The most brilliant player I played with by a long way. His skill level was unparalleled, particularly when under pressure.
• Brian Royal – A real terrier. Very unselfish & terrific in & under.
• Steve Wallis – He was only young but had a big heart, very dependable one on one.
• Andrew Purser – A man mountain who led our ruck brigade. Ben Hudson reminds me a bit of Polly, similar work ethic.
What about those you played against?
• Rod Carter – He was all over you, physically intimidating, just hard to compete against.
• Kelvin Moore – Very athletic & strong defensive skills.
• Gary Malarkey – A rock of Gibraltar. Very dependable & held his ground.
• Chris Langford – One of the younger brigade to come through. Quickest of all the full backs I played on.
Did you ever play on Rick Kennedy in match practice?
Yes, unfortunately. Kennedy loved to play on me because he was a pincher. It used to drive me mad, he’d just do whatever it took, including pinching.
Full forward in the club’s Team of the century. Must have been a huge honour?
Yes very much so, it was a great honour to have bestowed upon me, particularly when you look at quality of players in that team.
The plane trip in 1985?
Ah, yes, there’s no doubt a few of the boys mucked around, but quite frankly it was blown out of all proportion in my view. I reckon the staff from Qantas over reacted so we had to go into damage control. When Robert Groenewegen got onto one of the speaker phones & advised that he was the Captain & we were about to crash, it upset the staff more than anyone. Most of the passengers were asleep & those who were awake knew it was just a bit of fun.
Do you still attend the footy?
Yes, I have 3 children, 18 & 17 year old daughters & a 13 year old son. My eldest daughter & son love the footy & we regularly attend Bulldogs games.
Does your son play footy?
Yes, he’s in year 8 at Geelong College & represents the school as well as his local club in Glen iris on weekends.
How do you see the Bulldogs ending up this season?
I can’t see why we won’t finish in the top 4. There appears to be a real resolve, they are men on a mission. It’s like were playing this season how we were expected to in 2007.
So since you retired from football, what have you been up to?
I was a stockbroker from 1976 – 2000. After 24 years I felt I needed a change & an opportunity arose in 2001, so I got my bookmakers license. I’ve always loved horse racing, my father raced horses in WA & I loved going to the races at Belmont & Ascot in Perth.
What’s your website?
www.simonbeasley.com.au
Thanks Simon, I really appreciate your time.
It was a pleasure.
* Last January YHF did a write up on Simon. The link is below.
WOOF Profile