Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  1
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Re: Interview With Les Bamblett

Yes, many memories of that blistering speed. Roving off the pack and running into an open goal. I do remember a great piece of play against Sydney when he got the ball out of the centre and ran straight down the ground, bouncing the ball and eventually kicking a goal.

His 50th goal was also great, in the 1985 1st semi final, more because it was 50 and I think not long after the 100 from Beasley.
    Yep...if I recall correctly it was a very ordinary game. That goal he kicked was like a beacon amongst a match of sheer drabness. he lit up the field and it was as if he had decided that he needed to give the crowd something worth watching.

Great interview TCD, that brought back some great memories especially the year of '85. Lelly was special, a real shame when the injuries curtailed his brilliance.

Quote Originally Posted by Remi Moses View Post
    Great to hear from one of our favourites. His best was that steal against Collingwood and goal on the run from the boundary line. Close to goal of the year ,Lelly just lit the place up in 85 everytime he got the ball something happened.
    I was at that game at'The G' and remember it well. It was as if Lelly was clairvoyant. He anticipated the handpass a couple of seconds before it was given so when he made the intercept he was MOVING! Slammed the ball through while all around him were thinking "WTF was that!" A special player. Another great goal was at Geelong when he took a handpass between wing and centre dashed forward, had two bounces and slammed it through from the 40 metre line. Les could really play. Fond memories. Thanks Les and thanks TCD for the interview,

Was at the Veterans carnival up here last Easter and watched as a very large player in the aboriginal vets picked up the ball, burst the pack, spin around and plant it on the chest of a teammate 40 metres away.
    I said to my mate he had unbelievable skills for a bloke his size and he mentioned it was Lally Bamblett.
    “It’s better to die on our feet than live on our knees.”

5. Thanks Twodogs thanked for this post
    Likes bornadog liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by KT31 View Post
    Was at the Veterans carnival up here last Easter and watched as a very large player in the aboriginal vets picked up the ball, burst the pack, spin around and plant it on the chest of a teammate 40 metres away.
    I said to my mate he had unbelievable skills for a bloke his size and he mentioned it was Lally Bamblett.
    I can see it in my head as you describe it. Lal was one of a kind.
    Most people I played against don’t like me and I don’t blame them. I’m quite frustrating

I can see it in my head as you describe it. Lal was one of a kind.
    FFC: Established 1877

8. Thanks KT31, Twodogs thanked for this post

Royal should have gone with the handball to Lally alongside of him instead of kicking it into the back of Tony Buhagiar's head at the sixty second mark.
    Most people I played against don’t like me and I don’t blame them. I’m quite frustrating

Before my time, but was Lelly our best indigenous player of all time?

Bamblett's first half of '85 was the best block of footy played for us, but I reckon Magic McLean was a better all round player. He was a bit like Wanganeen in the way he exploded off the mark and moved through traffic.

Unfortunately he had groin or ankle trouble and was perennially injured in 88 & 89 and the club lost patience. A pity, because he was a popular clubman who went on to win Brisbane's 91 & 92 b&f's.

Yep, Madge easily

It's a shame both careers were curtailed by injury.

I wonder why we've struggled to nurture indigenous talent over the years? Lelly and McLean were obviously very good players, but that was 2 decades ago.

Another impressive indigenous player who also left in unusual circumstances, for us was Charlie Stewart. His career was short. His first season was 1961. Played the first 20 games in the centre but was relegated to 20th man for the Grand Final replaced in the centre by Bob Spargo. He never played again for us.

I remember Charlie Stewart well. Came from Lemnos. But I think you'll find he played most of his games for us off half-forward. Bob Spargo was pretty much a fixture in the centre that year. It was a crying shame he went to the West when he still had a lot of good football left in him. Charlie Stewart was a beautiful left foot kick and why he did not play more games for us I'll never know.

Quote Originally Posted by merantau View Post
    I remember Charlie Stewart well. Came from Lemnos. But I think you'll find he played most of his games for us off half-forward. Bob Spargo was pretty much a fixture in the centre that year. It was a crying shame he went to the West when he still had a lot of good football left in him. Charlie Stewart was a beautiful left foot kick and why he did not play more games for us I'll never know.

Les Bablett was from Lemnos too.

Quote Originally Posted by merantau View Post
    We were each half right. According to Charlie himself in The Bulldogs Heritage Historical Player Register" I played about 12 games in the centre, which was my preferred position, because I was very fit and could run all day. Bill Findlay, Ted's assistant coach, was against me playing in the centre. He wanted Bob Spargo because he was a better high mark and towards the end of the season I was moved to the half forward flank".