Thanks Thanks:  56
Likes Likes:  433
Page 61 of 92 FirstFirst ... 11515253545556575859606162636465666768697071 ... LastLast

Re: Ekers

I remember that day. Five goals from Daw I couldn't watch in the end. And as you say. Living off that performance ever since

Way too good at his peak to be considered.

Ours has to be Crozier right?
    I was thinking Tom Campbell is ours.

So many vacancies...

Crows- Kyle Cheney
    Lions- Josh Walker
    Blues-
    Pies-
    Dons- Shaun McKernan
    Freo-
    Cats-
    Suns- Daniel Currie
    GWS- Dawson Simpson
    Hawks-
    North- Majak Daw
    Dees-
    Port-
    Tigers- Shaun Hampson
    Saints- Sam Gilbert
    Swans-
    Eagles-
    Bulldogs-

Quote Originally Posted by chef View Post
    I was thinking Tom Campbell is ours.
    Tough one. I'm leaning towards Jack....

Redpath 7 seasons for 34 games
    Campbell 7 seasons for 42 games.

So many back up ruck Ekers. Harder to do it as a big old key forward.

Both taken at the same rookie draft (along with Jong!).

5. Likes chef liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Ghost Dog View Post
    I remember the day Majak Daw kicked so many goals v us I had to look away. He's been cashing in on that performance for years since.
    Quote Originally Posted by S Coast Simon View Post
    I remember that day. Five goals from Daw I couldn't watch in the end. And as you say. Living off that performance ever since
    I remember being at the game watching my North supporting mate getting so excited "we've found a star!" he was saying. I had to tell him to calm down and relax because Majak would never get to play on opponents like Lukas Markovic and Mark Austen in an AFL game ever again.

7. Likes macca, Ghost Dog, Smads57, Dry Rot liked this post

I remember being at the game watching my North supporting mate getting so excited "we've found a star!" he was saying. I had to tell him to calm down and relax because Majak would never get to play on opponents like Lukas Markovic and Mark Austen in an AFL game ever again.
    Laughed when I Read that TwoD. I've counselled many a North fan in my time behind goals. Perhaps there is some reciprocal 'small club' kindred spirit there. You sort of let them have their fun for a bit, then when reality sinks in, try not to cheer too hard for your own boys. It's a complex task that requires sensitivity!

I felt so sorry for Marco at one point that season I wrote to the club to try and encourage him and I got a reply! haha.
    Brad Scott often used to say " On his day, Majak is unstoppable". Providing he had paddocks of space to run straight lines in and battler like Marco turtling behind him, that may have just been the case.

Cheesy was in the team at that point from memory. My favourite Bulldog eker of all time.

Quote Originally Posted by Rocco Jones View Post
    So many vacancies...

Crows- Kyle Cheney
    Lions- Josh Walker
    Blues-
    Pies-
    Dons- Shaun McKernan
    Freo-
    Cats-
    Suns- Daniel Currie
    GWS- Dawson Simpson
    Hawks-
    North- Majak Daw
    Dees-
    Port-
    Tigers- Shaun Hampson
    Saints- Sam Gilbert
    Swans-
    Eagles-
    Bulldogs-
    Apeness a candidate for Freo? 4 years for 7 games. Very injury affected but well on the way to following in the footsteps of big man eker royalty like Currie.

Daniel Currie usually manages to snag a goal here and there. This part of his skill set keeps him front and centre in the MC's deliberations whenever his name crops up.

Quote Originally Posted by Rocco Jones View Post
    So many vacancies...

Crows- Kyle Cheney
    Lions- Josh Walker
    Blues-
    Pies-
    Dons- Shaun McKernan
    Freo-
    Cats-
    Suns- Daniel Currie
    GWS- Dawson Simpson
    Hawks-
    North- Majak Daw
    Dees-
    Port-
    Tigers- Shaun Hampson
    Saints- Sam Gilbert
    Swans-
    Eagles-
    Bulldogs-
    Surely Josh Cowan gets a Guernsey for Geelong? 8 years for 16 games as a midfielder is HOF material!
    Western Bulldogs: We exist to win premierships

Quote Originally Posted by Greystache View Post
    Surely Josh Cowan gets a Guernsey for Geelong? 8 years for 16 games as a midfielder is HOF material!
    As I posted on the previous page he's sadly been delisted so the eker title at the Cats is up for grabs.

Apeness a candidate for Freo? 4 years for 7 games. Very injury affected but well on the way to following in the footsteps of big man eker royalty like Currie.
    Cam McCarthy??? If not for the man-bun alone !!
    WOOF Member 422

Rhys Stanley and Lachie Henderson have been bog standard for the majority of their careers and have both been at multiple clubs. Reckon they are both eker-worthy.

15. Likes Testekill liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Scraggers View Post
    Cam McCarthy??? If not for the man-bun alone !!
    Man bun wearers are the polar opposite of ekers. Ekers are good honest hard working types, just lacking in talent. Man bun wearers are far too assured of themselves (often misplaced) to be a humble eker.

Besides McCarthy has played 20 and 19 games in the past 2 seasons he's played - hardly eker stats.

If we were compiling a biggest flog list at each club he could potentially be right up there though.

17. Likes Topdog liked this post

Rhys Stanley and Lachie Henderson have been bog standard for the majority of their careers and have both been at multiple clubs. Reckon they are both eker-worthy.
    I feel both have played too many games to qualify, particularly Henderson who will likely end up a 250 game player.

19. Likes Topdog liked this post

I feel both have played too many games to qualify, particularly Henderson who will likely end up a 250 game player.

Indeed. They may have the talent of an eker but they break the rules by playing too much.