Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Re: Western Bulldogs tried to sell games to New Zealand

That makes a lot of sense. The eroding of our 'brand equity' in Darwin with the introduction of two more teams (and Port Adelaide guaranteed 2 games per year) staking their claim up there is very disappointing and should be considered as a fail mark for our administration.
    I understand the economic reasons and the need to look elsewhere and I'm not really that precious on what area we need to play some games in but they change the deck of cards as often as the Crown Casino does.

The spiel is always the same, an exciting opportunity for the club, a chance to grow our brand and attract new members etc etc etc. A couple of years later we apparently see more opportunities elsewhere and we start all over again. It's a classic 'blue sky' management approach and never really having to commit to something for the long haul. It's far easier and sexier to talk about the opportunities elsewhere than it is in rolling up the sleeves and delivering on the rewards the original plan apparently had.

It's just another grab for cash as far as I am concerned.

Quote Originally Posted by alwaysadog View Post
    The trouble is we don't have a context for this. For the point of argument let's accept that Cam has actually written, which has yet to be established, then why would he do so?
    We don't have the context because Rose declined to respond. All I want to know is why all the other ventures have been cut short and why this one will work? I just don't want to hear the same spiel as has been mentioned in every other announcement.

Also I'd rather no games be sold but if we have to then its best we get the highest bidder. As for the gypsy theory, I'd rather not establish a base outside of Melbourne because its means we are one step closer to relocation besides once the AFL sees $s coming in they try to get a foot in as well.

Quote Originally Posted by ErnieSigley View Post
    We sell 2 games interstate already. I don't see a difference if instead we sell them to New Zealand at a better price as well.
    If it's a grab for cash then they need to say it. If it's under the guise of growing the club base etc then that's just not correct.

If this article has any legs then club is taking the supporters for granted or worse.

If it's a grab for cash then they need to say it. If it's under the guise of growing the club base etc then that's just not correct.

If this article has any legs then club is taking the supporters for granted or worse.
    But all these interstate games are cash grabs? Not sure how supporters are taken for a ride when its obvious Rose is trying make the club more profitable. Travel to Darwin or Travel to NZ no difference for me.

Quote Originally Posted by ErnieSigley View Post
    But all these interstate games are cash grabs? Not sure how supporters are taken for a ride when its obvious Rose is trying make the club more profitable. Travel to Darwin or Travel to NZ no difference for me.
    That's not the way it's sold to us.

I want them to make one of these relationships work. We are burning bridges too quickly and once we step away from them we won't get back. What happens when a better offer doesn't present itself? Sooner or later they need to establish something for the longer term or make our bite the bullet and make our own home region work.

How are we burning bridges when every tom dick and harry want and are playing in Darwin now? We wanted more games but they weren't granted, bit hard to build a relationship with Darwin when the AFL whore them to everyone.
    We wanted Monday night - no dice, we want NZ and watch again as we miss that to.
    As for 'selling to us' we all know why they do it is for the money. No one is lieing there.

Quote Originally Posted by AndrewP6 View Post
    Whilst some of the feedback was a bit ill-informed, the idea does have a slightly "desperate" ring to it. Cam Rose and Co. have done terrific things in the front offices, but we're looking overseas to flog games...

This isn't a good option in my opinion and decisions like this should have been run by the members first.

I think it's a great option. Let's face it we already sell games interstate, Wellington is closer than Darwin and probably more interesting than Canberra. The AFL are going to play home and away overseas sooner rather than later, let's tie up the closest most convenient, cheapest to travel to and culturally similiar country to Australia before the rest move in and make it our own. Look what Hawthorn have done in Tassie and use it as our blue print.

Quote Originally Posted by DaDruid View Post
    As long as the club doesn't try to more money than it already does from pokies. Hate the things. Still upset the WBFC was the first location outside the Casino to pokies in the state.

Pokies were at the Victorian Rugby Leagues club on the Maribyrnong on Sims road since the '60s. Hate tham by all means but we w eerent the first, second or third organisation to inflict them on anyone.

Quote Originally Posted by Remi Moses View Post
    Sad thing is 29 people responded to a story that hasn't even a quote from anyone on it! Journalism is all about rumour,innuendo,smut. Another slow news day at the national broadsheet,reilly is as bad as Denham in his smug obnoxious pieces. The sad thing is our club is always the punching bag and will always be until we win a flag. Funny thing Reilly doesn't even mention that the club gets a special distribution fund because the absolute shocking returns the clubs get from Etihad.

The Australian have been running an agenda against us for a couple of years now. For Reilly and Smith I think it's personal-I kinow why Smith hates us and it's nothing to do with football and Reilly seems to delight in taking every opportunuity to sink the poison pen in our back.

As for Denham, I just reckon he's a lazy journalist rather than spiteful and is happy to just go along with what everyone else thinks. His biggest problem is that he has lousy contacts who feed him dodgy info and then wants to poo-poo any member of the public who contradicts him.

A caller rang him on KB's show early trade week and said that Fev was Brisbane bound-Denham virtually ridiculed the guy and offered him a million to one odds which the caller snapped up. Denham's reasoning was that Voss had said he wasnt interested. The caller rang back when the trade went through and Denham couldnt get him off the line quick enough. He's a buffoon.

I agree. This administration have been fantastic in so many areas but for too long they have been dillydallied over where our constituency really is. From my POV Darwin was a perfect second home for us. The people there really took us to heart and we let a perfect chance to make it a solid support base where we could have grown the brand in a place where some magical players come from. Imagine 10, 000 extra fanatical Bulldog supporters to sell memberships and merchandise to. We could have a special jumper that we only wear up there, the players could go up there twice during the preseason to conduct one week blocks of clinics that could double as talent ID sessions. In the end we could even convince the AFL to trade us NT draft preselections for the work we do up there. The possibilities are endless.

I think it's a great option. Let's face it we already sell games interstate, Wellington is closer than Darwin and probably more interesting than Canberra. The AFL are going to play home and away overseas sooner rather than later, let's tie up the closest most convenient, cheapest to travel to and culturally similiar country to Australia before the rest move in and make it our own. Look what Hawthorn have done in Tassie and use it as our blue print.
    It's a one off cash grab that won't be sustainable and poses the bigger question of where will be our next port of call will be. History would say that these ongoing short term fixes are just buying time and don't resolve too much.

The logic that the benefits of a deal like this is that it's closer, cooler, exciting and will grow the brand just don't ring true because I can't see them investing the time over the longer term which will be needed.

By the way, I am looking at what Hawthorn have done and I give them full marks of identifying an opportunity and then making it a sustainable solution for their club.

If I was Tasmania, I'd tell the Hawks to p off. It hasn't helped them achieved what they want and deserve in a permanent team. As well as a former Vic Premier telling them to they don't really need a permanent team.

Thats more a cash grab than what the Bulldogs do.

I have no doubt if Tassy threatened to set up an A-league and it got some of the FFA's ear then the AFL will be there quick smart.

Hey Two Dogs would that be Patricks ''run in'' with a former Footscray opening batsmen of Italian origin? Derided the area and that batsmens ethinticity If I recall.

Pokies were at the Victorian Rugby Leagues club on the Maribyrnong on Sims road since the '60s. Hate tham by all means but we w eerent the first, second or third organisation to inflict them on anyone.

The Australian have been running an agenda against us for a couple of years now. For Reilly and Smith I think it's personal-I kinow why Smith hates us and it's nothing to do with football and Reilly seems to delight in taking every opportunuity to sink the poison pen in our back.

As for Denham, I just reckon he's a lazy journalist rather than spiteful and is happy to just go along with what everyone else thinks. His biggest problem is that he has lousy contacts who feed him dodgy info and then wants to poo-poo any member of the public who contradicts him.

A caller rang him on KB's show early trade week and said that Fev was Brisbane bound-Denham virtually ridiculed the guy and offered him a million to one odds which the caller snapped up. Denham's reasoning was that Voss had said he wasnt interested. The caller rang back when the trade went through and Denham couldnt get him off the line quick enough. He's a buffoon.
    Three Bombre t**ds as well

The other perspective is that we have tried to do this but each time we commit the AFL then decides that we have proved the market is there and they send in others to exploit it so we have to move on and stay one step ahead of the rest.
    I believe there's nothing on this earth that we own. All we do is look after it for our children - Terry Wheeler