Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Re: Carlton off-season strife

This goes higher than Judd. Kernahan, Pratt, Collins and Elliot just a short list of crooks/drunks. Buckley & Johnson as players.
    My dad says that in 1961, John Nichols was in Pentridge for armed robbery but still played on Saturdays.
    They wons premierships with this mentality, someone tried to change it (Pagan) and he was shown the door.

Quote Originally Posted by ErnieSigley View Post
    This goes higher than Judd. Kernahan, Pratt, Collins and Elliot just a short list of crooks/drunks. Buckley & Johnson as players.
    My dad says that in 1961, John Nichols was in Pentridge for armed robbery but still played on Saturdays.
    They wons premierships with this mentality, someone tried to change it (Pagan) and he was shown the door.
    No offence Ernie but to suggest that Pagan is the only person to try and change Carlton is a very general statement and just not correct. Yes, they have issues and their problems run deep into the club but someone like Parkin was a leader and innovator in educating & improving players off the field. It is also well known that under Brittain Fevola was as good as gone due to his poor behaviour and attitude yet only to be given a reprieve by Pagan.

Quote Originally Posted by Swoop View Post
    No offence Ernie but to suggest that Pagan is the only person to try and change Carlton is a very general statement and just not correct. Yes, they have issues and their problems run deep into the club but someone like Parkin was a leader and innovator in educating & improving players off the field. It is also well known that under Brittain Fevola was as good as gone due to his poor behaviour and attitude yet only to be given a reprieve by Pagan.
    Who suggested Pagan was the 'only' person to try and change Carlton?
    Parkin coached in an era when when salary cap rorts and having a drunken/crook president was all ok.
    Last edited by LostDoggy; 26-12-2009 at 03:25 PM.

So while all other clubs spend the preseason getting game plans right and working on players fitness, skills, etc, Carlton are busy trying to round up the hooligans and stop from imploding.

Wooden spoon material maybe??

Eddie Betts has been doing a placement at Assumption College, for his PE Teacher course. He was well liked by all the kids there, and came across as a genuine person. It is a shame he has got himself into this strife.

Quote Originally Posted by ErnieSigley View Post
    Who suggested Pagan was the 'only' person to try and change Carlton?
    Parkin coached in an era when when salary cap rorts and having a drunken/crook president was all ok.
    The point I'm trying to make is for some reason you have identified Pagan as trying to recitfy the culture when you yourself highlight that the problems date back for many years before that era. The problem stems from the core and has been rotten for some time, I still don't understand the reference your making about Pagan as I'm sure many have attempted to provoke change in their time at the club, Parkin was merely an example.

Quote Originally Posted by Swoop View Post
    The point I'm trying to make is for some reason you have identified Pagan as trying to recitfy the culture when you yourself highlight that the problems date back for many years before that era. The problem stems from the core and has been rotten for some time, I still don't understand the reference your making about Pagan as I'm sure many have attempted to provoke change in their time at the club, Parkin was merely an example.
    ?
    And I was using Pagan merely as an example

AFL 'please explain' to Blues

THE AFL has given Carlton until January 11 to provide an explanation for the behaviour of its players during and after a boat cruise last weekend.

Earlier this week, Carlton fined Ryan Houlihan and Andrew Walker $5000 each for their role in an incident at Crown Casino on Sunday morning.

On Wednesday, the club confirmed Eddie Betts had been arrested in Melbourne's CBD on Sunday morning and would be disciplined and fined the maximum penalty once he returned for pre-season training.

the rest...

CULTURE .

It just keeps getting better and better ...

Carlton's thaw on John Elliott

CARLTON may be moving to welcome back disgraced former president John Elliott as the club reels from last week's drunken player rampage.

Blues president Stephen Kernahan lunched with Mr Elliott and club heavyweights at a city restaurant 10 days ago, just hours after the drunken night of shame that has so far netted four Carlton players.

Mr Elliot, a former club president, was banned by Carlton in June after claiming the club had paid hush money to women who had been sexually assaulted by players.

Mr Kernahan confirmed he had lunched with Mr Elliot and five former Carlton board members in the week before Christmas - just days after the club's notorious booze cruise.

Full article here ...
    WOOF Member 422

Well Mr Kernahan you are looking more and more like a little lamb in a field of wolves.
    Kick him out then go lunch with him? whats with that? wonder who the others were?

I've said many a time. Elliott is the pin-up boy of the Carlton FC, he lied. cheated and stole just them. Yes he is disgraced and a criminal but should never be in Carlton FC's eyes.
    All the sackings, stand name change and banning from the club is just to apease the AFL and general public.

What a corrupt sleazy joke of a sporting club they are, they havent learned a thing from their mistakes. Instead they have proved they have no shame or moral bottom.

Just associating with the man proves they havent reached their nadir yet. It's going to be fun watching them fester away in their own crapulance over the next few years.

I hope they keep Kernahan as president and Ratten as coach until the end of days because they are the worst coach and the worst president currently performing those duties in the AFL by a long way-it's just a shame that they have already made the remake of Dumb and Dumber because those two would be perfect for the lead roles.

Media management strategies 1a

Dealing with a crisis

Situation
    The media doesn't want to cover anything else and will hound you and drag the matter on interminably if you let them. What you need is to create time and to use distractors so as to recapture the initiative while not appearing to do so.

There are two key principles: you can't go from the cesspool to the perfume factory in one leap; you should look to move one step at a time. Secondly you can't appear to be trying to manage the media; you have to appear to be surprised by this new matter coming to their attention.

Aim
    Try to keep yourself in the spotlight, but try to change the focus away from the current problem.

Strategy
    Use a leak about something inconsequential (it doesn't even have to be true, could be a leaked rumour) and pretend that you are not interested in the new topic/direction.

Anticipated reaction
    The journos will feel that you are covering up something import and that there is more to it. Certain to get a run.

Follow up strategies

Depends on the issue you have chosen but the short answer is more of the same. If the issue bites deny even more strongly if it just makes a small impact, you've begun to turn things around so think up new issues to consume and confuse them.
    I believe there's nothing on this earth that we own. All we do is look after it for our children - Terry Wheeler

Well done AAD because I think you are spot on.

Years back I was privy to strategy to divert attention away from a big issue so they created the innuendo that there was even a bigger story brewing as well. That subsequently became the focus of attention giving them the time to address the original issue before burying the furphy issue as unsubstantiated gossip.

Before anyone asks, this was not the Bulldogs.