Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Fremantle - New Jumper & Logo

FREMANTLE will embark on an ambitious new era on the field with a new club jumper and logo, but its contentious team song will remain unchanged for now.

In an overhaul of the club's 16-year image, Fremantle has removed the anchor and the red and green panels from its jumper, replacing them with three white Vs on a purple home strip and three purple Vs on a white clash strip.

The changes follow the conclusion to a 15-year battle with clothing giant Levi Strauss and Co, which now allows the club to refer to itself as the 'Fremantle Dockers' and the 'Fremantle Dockers Football Club'.

Link
    85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse!

Re: Fremantle - New Jumper & Logo

The new jumper looks very good.

Has come a long way from the ridiculous 4-colour panels. Clash jumper still looks horrible, but then again I hate all-white guernseys.

Looks great - I'm a fan of it.

At least they look like real footy jumpers.

A nana can knit them and a 7yo can draw them, so they meet all the criteria.

PS. I love white clash jumpers as long as they still look like footy jumpers. Ours is great, Carlton's is great.

Brisbane's white one with the piss stain around the bottom is terrible.

Pardon my ignorance, but what did they officially refer to themselves as, before the changes? I thought they were already the Fremantle Dockers?

Quote Originally Posted by AndrewP6 View Post
    Pardon my ignorance, but what did they officially refer to themselves as, before the changes? I thought they were already the Fremantle Dockers?
    Not for clothing merchandise they weren't.
    85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse!

I like

Much, much better.

Now that they've gotten rid of that bloody anchor and have a good team, Freo aren't the laughing stock of the AFL anymore.

Thank god for Richmond. And Michael Voss.

Helps to recognise some South Freo roots with the design I suppose as well, beside the colours of course.

Good look.

Someone was trying to tell me that the green and red parts at the top of their jumper were devised to appeal to the large Italian community in Perth - WA based posters, anything in that?

Quote Originally Posted by The Pie Man View Post
    Helps to recognise some South Freo roots with the design I suppose as well, beside the colours of course.

Good look.

Someone was trying to tell me that the green and red parts at the top of their jumper were devised to appeal to the large Italian community in Perth - WA based posters, anything in that?
    I though it was something to do with Port and Starboard.

Looks like my Ascot Vale Primary School footy jumper! Might have to get one.

Quote Originally Posted by Sockeye Salmon View Post
    At least they look like real footy jumpers.

A nana can knit them and a 7yo can draw them, so they meet all the criteria.

PS. I love white clash jumpers as long as they still look like footy jumpers. Ours is great, Carlton's is great.

Brisbane's white one with the piss stain around the bottom is terrible.
    Hey! You stole my nana line.

I totally agree with all that. The best jumpers are those that remain simple while being unique. I love Freo's. Ours was great but I really can't stand logos on jumpers, I do like monograms though.

Looks crap. I liked the old one, had some originality this one is plain and boring!

Last edited by Grantysghost; 01-10-2010 at 07:25 PM. Reason: Add picture

Looks heaps better than the old one.
    No anchor around the neck.
    Betterthan with no green.

I reckon this one was worth keeping - had some tradition at least... alas a thing of the past *sigh*

Good to see the green gone though, agree with that.