Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

What do you check the fixture against?

Reading through the fixture thread you notice that quite a few posters are either happy or sad about the clashes with other events the fixture causes.

I was a manager of a golf pennant team this year (and will probably do so again next year) so first thing I do when the fixture comes out is check for clashes between the 2.... Pennant golf is played on Sundays thru March - mid May so I have already noticed that there is a clash in rds 1 & 2 and perhaps a couple more which is disappointing.

So what do you check it against and where do your priorities lie? ie. do Bulldogs games take priority over family birthdays, etc...

Post Thanks / Like

Re: What do you check the fixture against?

In the past I have checked it for interstate trips during my 4 day weekends (had every 2nd Mon and Tues off) but that is gone now so the only thing I check is the wifes birthday.

Post Thanks / Like

My daughter competes in flat water kayaking events, which are normally on a Sunday and mostly morning, but can run into the afternoon to 2pm. 2010 there were no clashes, but in 2009 there were, so I had to rush to the game.

The first thing I do with the fixture is put into our family diary all the dates so my wife doesn't book us into anything like catchups with people etc.
    FFC: Established 1883

Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.

Post Thanks / Like

1st thing I check is how many of our games are on at the same time as Geelong games. My wife goes to all Geelong games and we haven't taken our daughter to games in the past, so some one has to miss their game. My wifes family have had the same seats in the brownlow stand for over 20 years, so don't have a seat for my daughter.