Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Re: Anti social Behaviour at the footy

I've found Eagles supporters at Subi to be pretty bad. In 2009, two young blokes — 20-something, big boys, looked like tradies — sat behind the cheer squad drinking all day — the Eagles only allocate two rows of seats to the cheer squad, the rest of the bay is opposition — and started abusing the hairstyles of cheer squad ladies, calling them fat and ugly, etc.

I stood up and told them to shut up, and they wanted to belt me! I had my three kids there! The cops came down and escorted them out, then the rest of the crowd started hurling abuse at us for “getting them kicked out”.

Another incident, this one last year, I was taking my babies to the toilets at half time, and we were all decked out of course in Dogs gear and the boys were totally thrashing them, this older guy — maybe 40-45 — slams into the back of me as he walks past. I've called after him, “Oy, that's a bit unnecessary, you idiot” and he turned around and pushed me, screaming, “Come on mate, let's go!” I told him if my kids weren't there I'd like nothing more than to watch him bleed all over his Eagles guernsey, and to rack off before I called it a day on him with the cops. He called me a c---head and stormed off. My little girl asked me what a c---head was. I told her “that fella that just walked off” and said no more

Swans fans last year in Canberra were very well behaved. Absolute credit to them. Best interstate crowd I'd ever been in.

Quote Originally Posted by BornAScragger View Post
    Another incident, this one last year, I was taking my babies to the toilets at half time, and we were all decked out of course in Dogs gear and the boys were totally thrashing them, this older guy — maybe 40-45 — slams into the back of me as he walks past. I've called after him, “Oy, that's a bit unnecessary, you idiot” and he turned around and pushed me, screaming, “Come on mate, let's go!” I told him if my kids weren't there I'd like nothing more than to watch him bleed all over his Eagles guernsey, and to rack off before I called it a day on him with the cops. He called me a c---head and stormed off. My little girl asked me what a c---head was. I told her “that fella that just walked off” and said no more

Swans fans last year in Canberra were very well behaved. Absolute credit to them. Best interstate crowd I'd ever been in.
    Listening to that makes me feel that you are know better than Eagles fan who is making a dill of himself.

Would have to agree with this.....

I was vaguely threatened by a Collingwood fan round one 2006 in the GSS standing room - we got a decent spot 20 mins before first bounce, mate (who's a Pies man) went to the gents, this bloke and a few of his mates muscled into our spot with me still standing there. Exchange went

Me : mate, someone's standing there
    CF : I don't see anyone
    Me: they're just at the gents, will be back in a tic
    CF: (turning to me, standing almost nose to nose) well you'll just have to stand somewhere else then

Which I did....was pretty happy we ended up winning that game

Other than that, footy is great to go to. There are nuffies, but more often than not you can enjoy some banter with opposition fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Dancin' Douggy View Post
    Can you tell us which team the offending louts were supporting?
    Might speak volumes.
    Generally I have no trouble at the footy, though me and my mates were physically attacked by a crazed Swan supporter at a final at the MCG a couple of years ago. He literally came out of nowhere swinging haymakers with the look of a spanish fighting bull in his half glazed eyes. Screaming like a banshee.
    His friends apologised, said he does it all the time and forcibly led him away (to some prison bound future no doubt). By the time security arrived the maniac was long gone and WE got hassled by security as some women had pointed to us saying we were the ones involved! We nearly got kicked out.

In the last quarter his friends came back again, thanked us for our composure, apologised again and wished us all the best in the finals. Must be hard work having a friend like that.
    How so? There are trashy human being supporting all AFL clubs as far as I'm concerned. I've experienced the best and worst of all supporters from Collingwood types through to so called cultured Melbourne types. Both have turned me off those clubs at times.

At the NAB last year I had the worst problems with people who were not the slightest bit interested in the footy. Sitting up the back, being d*** heads and shouting abuse / primed with grog. They wore no colours and didn't seem interested in the game at all.

Agree 100%.

Feral idiocy is not limited to any one club. If you think we don't have our own share of idiots, then you're blinkered to reality.

Quote Originally Posted by dfa4pm View Post
    Agree 100%.

Feral idiocy is not limited to any one club. If you think we don't have our own share of idiots, then you're blinkered to reality.
    I heard Mark Fine say once that Collingwood have the most ferals purely because they have the most fans.

I also 100% agree

I was at Etihad one night when we were playing the Pies and there were guys standing up behind the seats yelling abuse at Gilbee saying they were glad his dad was dead. having lost my parents a touch earlier than one would like I was very close to losing my shit. Thankfully I am a coward and turned the other cheek.

I have rarely felt as sickened as I did that day and to think of it I still get upset.

Quote Originally Posted by Desipura View Post
    Would have to agree with this.....
    Hey, if some bloke wants to smash me in the back, then push me, he can fairly expect a smack in the face mate. Being 6'4" and 115kg, he'd no doubt be bleeding. I don't go looking for fights but I'll stand up for myself.

In this particular instance, with my kids present, I turned the other cheek. He's damned lucky, and I consider that a fair call.

Go picking fights, you might one day find yourself in one.

Quote Originally Posted by Maddog37 View Post
    I was at Etihad one night when we were playing the Pies and there were guys standing up behind the seats yelling abuse at Gilbee saying they were glad his dad was dead. having lost my parents a touch earlier than one would like I was very close to losing my shit. Thankfully I am a coward and turned the other cheek.

I have rarely felt as sickened as I did that day and to think of it I still get upset.
    Come on mate. You are not a coward. think about it. What would your parents have wanted you to do in that situation? I'm pretty sure most parents would encourage their sons / daughters to walk away. You did the right thing. Going to the footy is like this. This is how it is. No need to involve yourself in their bad karma. Shows more strength to walk away IMO and I see them as being the cowards.

Hey, if some bloke wants to smash me in the back, then push me, he can fairly expect a smack in the face mate. Being 6'4" and 115kg, he'd no doubt be bleeding. I don't go looking for fights but I'll stand up for myself.

In this particular instance, with my kids present, I turned the other cheek. He's damned lucky, and I consider that a fair call.

Dont really care how big you are.
    The last thing I would do is call someone an idiot (especially with my kids present, regardless how rude they were). I like to think I set a good example for my kids.
    Also referring to someone as a*ckhead in front of your daughter........hope I dont sit near you at the footy.

Quote Originally Posted by Maddog37 View Post

My Dad passed away in 2007 and I would've been most upset if I was anywhere near those idiots. You did well not to lose it. I don't know what I would've done in that situation.

I got into a disagreement years ago at the Western Oval, with another female Bulldogs supporter. I was standing behind her and in front of two North Melbourne supporters. They were harmless, just supporting their team. She kept turning around and abusing them. In the end I got sick of seeing her face & told her to watch the game, that they have every right to support their team. I don't usually say much, but I felt she was being very unfair.

Quote Originally Posted by Desipura View Post
    Dont really care how big you are.
    The last thing I would do is call someone an idiot (especially with my kids present, regardless how rude they were). I like to think I set a good example for my kids.
    Also referring to someone as a*ckhead in front of your daughter........hope I dont sit near you at the footy.
    OP was about if you think its getting worse or better. Bit off track here guys.
    Last edited by Ghost Dog; 06-04-2011 at 04:45 PM.

And when he falls over backwards and hit his head on the concrete and dies?

David Hookes says hello.
    For those who were always the underdogs and wore it as a badge of honour.