Page 18 of 21 FirstFirst ... 89101112131415161718192021 LastLast

Re: The Saints in trouble - very broad topic

Anywhere I can get more info on this? Sounds shocking...

Quote Originally Posted by Lantern View Post
    You mean 'Riewoldting'?

Anyone still doubting a very serious culture problem down there needs to get their heads out of the sand. Even THIS is still 'tip of the iceberg' stuff.

Believe. Me.
    Given what has developed in the media, it's not hard to imagine that there are problems at St Kilda.

Knowing some of your posting history Lantern, I don't doubt that it's possible/probable that you have heard more than what has been said, and I don't mean to sound disrepectful to you. But.

I don't see any point just saying "believe me, the problems go deeper". It's a little bit like New Idea quoting "a source close to the couple". I'd be more interested in making a decision based on what can be revealed or said here rather than just accepting something because someone on a forum says "believe me".

Again, I'm not taking a pot at you, and if it sounds like it I apologise, because that isn't my intent.

Quote Originally Posted by dfa4pm View Post
    Given what has developed in the media, it's not hard to imagine that there are problems at St Kilda.

Knowing some of your posting history Lantern, I don't doubt that it's possible/probable that you have heard more than what has been said, and I don't mean to sound disrepectful to you. But.

I don't see any point just saying "believe me, the problems go deeper". It's a little bit like New Idea quoting "a source close to the couple". I'd be more interested in making a decision based on what can be revealed or said here rather than just accepting something because someone on a forum says "believe me".

Again, I'm not taking a pot at you, and if it sounds like it I apologise, because that isn't my intent.
    "Ben Cousins has never tested positive for drugs".

Sometimes you can't say where you got information from so the credibility of the poster needs to be considered. If the poster is someone you know - in this context anyway - and if you know that what he says is usually correct, then this probably is too.

Equally if you know that this guy usually posts bollocks then there's a good chance this information is also bollocks.

The question you need to ask yourself is, "is Lantern credible?"

WTF is wrong with some of these individuals, let alone the club itself?

Seriously.

That's messed up.

Suppose the Ainters will pick up Fev, just to get another wanker at the club so as to disgrace them

From Moderator - Fig Booty

Re: Hinch says huge new scandal to rock Saints and AFL.
    I have heard rumous of this video over the last few months. I have sought confirmation that it is true. One or two persons have told me that it is "real" but no-one has ever claimed to have a copy of the video and only these two persons have claimed to have seen a snippet of it. This is anecdotal - it is not evidence as far as I am concerned. I seriously doubt it exists. These rumours are as persistent as the rumours of Collingwood's cheating with human growth hormone in 2010. The AFL have assured us that those rumours are false.

If it is true - then my information is that the "promiscuous girl" who has allegedly feigned a pregnancy, allegedly stolen images from a player's computer, allegedly released pornographic images on the internet with no restrictions to protect minors, allegedly having done so because her alleged $20,000 blackmail attempt failed, she allegedly engaged in sexual relationships with a policeman and ruined his career, and she allegedly engaged in sexual entrapment to punish a player manager hoping to ruin his career but is allegedly innocent because she is 17.

Ghost Dog will believe it when he sees it.

Quote Originally Posted by Sockeye Salmon View Post
    The question you need to ask yourself is, "is Lantern credible?"
    Well, I tried to be clear in my original post. I have found Lantern to usually be pretty fair minded, so I believe it's possible/probable that he's not talking malarkey.

The crux of my post is more, if you've got something or know something but can't reveal it, then it's better off not mentioning anything.

I'm a bit torn with this.

If you read into everything thats either come out in the media - or been speculated on - then the St.Kilda footy club is a deadset circus.

Having said that, a close mate works at St.Kilda and speaks highly of the vast majority of the players and their characters. And lets face it - over the last couple of years they've made 2 (well - sort of 3) Grand Finals whilst dealing with situations like Andrew Lovett, Milne/Malthouse, the bungling of Luke Ball, and then their best player having a serious injury. And they were within the ball bouncing the other way from winning a premiership.

Their may be 'cultural issues' off the ground at St.Kilda - but what I do know is that they currently have a very resillient football culture that has got them very very close to two premierships. So I'm not going to be bagging them, personally.

Well, I tried to be clear in my original post. I have found Lantern to usually be pretty fair minded, so I believe it's possible/probable that he's not talking malarkey.

The crux of my post is more, if you've got something or know something but can't reveal it, then it's better off not mentioning anything.
    Hey dfa, absolutely spot on mate, this is not New Idea and baseless gossip can be damaging. It's something I would normally never do but I'm so sorely tempted to spill some beans because:

a. It's the Saints, and
    b. The place is SO f*****-uped it has to be seen/first-hand knowledge to be believed.

But I can't, so 'believe. me.' was the best I could do...

I can post a bold prediction though -- the Saints will miss the finals this year. They'll start crazily to try and 'prove' something, then fall away mid year. From what I've been reading they've been going gangbusters in the NAB cup that no one else cares about.. they'll burn out (if they don't kill each other first).

Quote Originally Posted by Lantern View Post
    Hey dfa, absolutely spot on mate, this is not New Idea and baseless gossip can be damaging. It's something I would normally never do but I'm so sorely tempted to spill some beans because:

a. It's the Saints, and
    b. The place is SO f*****-uped it has to be seen/first-hand knowledge to be believed.

But I can't, so 'believe. me.' was the best I could do...

I can post a bold prediction though -- the Saints will miss the finals this year. They'll start crazily to try and 'prove' something, then fall away mid year. From what I've been reading they've been going gangbusters in the NAB cup that no one else cares about.. they'll burn out (if they don't kill each other first).
    Lantern, can you pm me details

Quote Originally Posted by Desipura View Post
    Lantern, can you pm me details
    Me too mate

Quote Originally Posted by chef View Post
    Me too mate
    You may have to PM everyone on here!

No details I can really share -- suffice to say it's basically the crazy insular Bloods culture that Lyon tried to import from Sydney minus the 'no dickheads' rule and without as strong and mature leaders as Roos had. In fact, it's exactly what the Bloods culture would be WITH dickheads; over-the-top macho crap, misplaced masculinity and out-of-control braggadacio, a very dangerous mix when coupled with an oversized sense of entitlement and plenty of people happy to go along for the ride (while the fun lasts) or take advantage of it, legality or morality be damned.

Pardon the US-reference, but think 'rich college kid fraternity' and you'll be in the ballpark.

Did anyone just notice capt. Diver having a whinge to Giecschen on the bench
    Spare me Pleeeeeeease!

Quote Originally Posted by Remi Moses View Post
    Did anyone just notice capt. Diver having a whinge to Giecschen on the bench
    Spare me Pleeeeeeease!
    I did, talk about having your head up your own arse! He's the most looked after player since Gavin Wanganeen.
    Western Bulldogs: We exist to win premierships