Flogs & Polishes
Re: Flogs & Polishes
That was the highlight of the match. In that instant when he glided past Blake it just looked like he was the classiest player on the ground and to finish like that from 52 metres, awesome. His running goal in the last sent shivers up my spine as well, just moves so Hird-like but with more pace than Hird. A beautiful change of direction and a stab pass through the big sticks followed by a real celebration. Hope he stays with us for the rest of his career, he is my new favourite player (sorry Mitch).But then again, I'm an Internet poster and Bevo is a premiership coach so draw your own conclusions.Comment
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
Harbrow had an excellent game considering he was rushed in and needs to adjust with his other players, he isnt a regular but proved he wants to be, i have some real faith in this kid coming on when given the opportunity over a few games in a row, not one here and one there.
Nothing against Eade we just have a good quality of his kind of player.
First time I saw him at preseason training in 2006 I thought he showed a bit more than your average first year draftee/rookie. The first time I saw him in match practice the following January I knew he was special and went home to think about which player on the list we could do without to get him off the rookie list ASAP. Quite a few of us preseason tragics have been on the Harbrow bandwagon for a while now.
Flog' Nafan Buckley. Seriously I reckon that Straughny would provide more incisive special comments. For about 15 minutes in the third quarter he completely lost the plot, sounded delerious(could have been jet lag I guess) and I dont think he knew he was at the footy for a while. Pllease, please do us all a favour Bucks and go into coaching.
Polish. Dale Morris. Thank God this bloke doesnt know how to give up and that no-one ever took the time to explain to him that he that blokes his size cant hope to be able to beat blokes Reivoldts size.
Polish. Cam Wight. Doesnt know how to take a backward step and now that he's getting the footy part a bit better he's got the potential to be a devasting player. Thanks to him Eade was able to stretch the St Kilda backline at times in the third and fourth quarters for height. It was close to my favorite parts of the game.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
flogs
*Our defensive set up from St Kilda's kick outs, it was as clear as a blue sky what the saints were doing yet our players didn't cotton on at all
*Umpiring, they did everything they could to give the saints a 10 goal lead.
Polishes
Gonna try stay away from the obvious polishes because I'll be here all day.
Some might say the players ive chosen are obvious but I believe they have gone missing in all of the praise.
Mitch Hahn, always wondred when he would play for longer than 5 minutes in a quarter and need a rest. Boy, he hustled and bustled all day, charged the packs and his goal in the second quarter was the catalyst.
BIG WILLY!!! I have been a vocal critic of Wil but he was fantastic on the weekend. Whilst he didn't set the world on fire with his marking up forward, he brought the ball down time and time again to a contest, skillfully palming it down to our front and square crumbers. His ruck work was very good also, gave a verty strong showing in the middle.
Crossy. This man continues to slip under people's radar. His hard running and ball winning was secon to none. He was at the bottom of every pack and gave really lifeted in the middle after quarter time.
Scott west got little praise for his game, but I thought every possesion he got was timely, well thought out and after watching the replay really appreciated how much we really miss wat he actually does out there on the park.
Gilbee, even with a tag, he still managed to rack up the possies. his chase/tackle effort in the last quarter when he was 4 0n 1 and he caused a turn over, i was up off my seat ready to take off from the 3rd level.
Dale Morris... The man is near on unbeatable. Never gives up and continues to run, spoil and play hard. He absolutely gave Roo a bubble bath on Friday, playing well above his height, i believe he is right up there with Cambell Brown as the best medium defender in the league.
Hudson, this guy is the recruit of the year. He ammassed the most hard ball gets for our side on friday all from second ans third efforts, I just love how he goes about it.Comment
Seems to me the ump anticipated what he thought would be the outcome of Aker's action rather than what actually happened.
Cost us a goal and showed how badly trained the umps are. First thing they should learn "never presume''.
Mind you they will never admit to a mistake and Gieschen will say up till all hours to prove they are perfect.[I]I believe there's nothing on this earth that we own. All we do is look after it for our children - Terry Wheeler[/I]Comment
No, he didn't anticipate. He guessed, as he had just been polaxed by Lenny Hayes!Seems to me the ump anticipated what he thought would be the outcome of Aker's action rather than what actually happened.
Cost us a goal and showed how badly trained the umps are. First thing they should learn "never presume''.
Mind you they will never admit to a mistake and Gieschen will say up till all hours to prove they are perfect.[COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]Comment
[I]I believe there's nothing on this earth that we own. All we do is look after it for our children - Terry Wheeler[/I]Comment