• The Coon Dog

Re: Whitten Oval - Your Unique Memory

Did anyone else slide down the bannister rail on those steps between the EJ Whitten Stand & The John Gent Stand?
    [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
      Did anyone else slide down the bannister rail on those steps between the EJ Whitten Stand & The John Gent Stand?
      I did that at a training one day, during the 85 finals series. It was also when I used to say "Rickedy Kennedy" instead of Rick Kennedy, and my word of encouragement to the boys out on the field as a kid that night caused a few of them to crack up (aparently),

Originally posted by Mofra
        Tony Campbell beating Lockett one day at WO. At halftime as he was approacing the player race, someone screamed out "you're killing him - ya big poof!"
        Only at Footscray - priceless

Bill Gunn (grand-father of Callan Ward) kicking one for Sth Melb from the centre through the goals at the score-board end thanks to a howling gale. EJ kicking one the next quarter from 10 yards further out.

Beasleys mark over Phillips from the Allen pass.

EJ running down Bobby Skilton - holding the ball

EJ breaking Neil Roberts ribs with a fair bump

EJ rubbing mud into Dick Clay's face and his argument with Tommy Hafey the next day on World of Sport.

EJ running over to Alec Gardiner and asking him his second name after being held up for the start of play by Skilton.

• The Coon Dog

I'll do another thread another time about stuff you remember that happened on the ground during a match, but I'm primarily looking at the ground & its 'uniqueness' in this thread.
          [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

When the Can bar opened we abandoned standing between the races. The can bar was a dive but great vantage point.

• Ozza

I remember that a family friend's father (now deceased) worked on the gate on match days - and we'd go in the gate and stand just inside and chat to him about how we might fare that day. I can picture all the old guys working the gate, wearing those long blue coats.

I have another off the ground memory. Mid 80s when I was a teenager. Me & a friend saw Doug Hawkins & Michael McLean up in the social club stand after the game. Dougie was recovering from his knee surgery, Magic was suspended. I have a feeling they'd been drinking all day, Dougie couldn't get down the stairs on his crutches. Me & my friend had to help him down. Magic was no help whatosever, was just laughing at him.

• Doc26
                  • Sep 2009

Always felt like I'd struck pay dirt on a cold wet windy day when i managed to land the premium spot of a bench seat that streched the boundary perimeter on the Hawkins side. The shielding from the advertising hoardings was gold when combined with an umbrella.

• Hotdog60

I used to warm the old timber bench on the half forward flank, on the fence. after watching the under 19's through to the seniors the backside got quite numb. The one thing that held it all together was the hot donut van. If memory is right I think it was $2 bucks for 1/2 a dozen.
                    Best donuts ever.

• Scraggers
                      Premiership Moderator

Waiting for Dad to quickly down two (steel) cans of Fosters so I could stand on them to watch the game.

Leigh Matthews standing out the front of the changerooms having three quick smokes before the game.

the Hyde Street Band ... loved it loved it loved it

Sitting in the Cheer Squad in the early - mid 80s

My Duffle Coat with Dougie's name and number on it

Buying a Social membership the first year I worked full time, and sitting near Russell Gilbert and Ernie Sigley

The last game at Whitten Oval versus the Eagles

In reflection the memories are more enjoyable. Visiting the Essex st milk bar and fish and chip shop at half time. We went as kids before the reserves getting in line in front of the pensioners for a seat between both races.Later memory of giving that Crook Elliot a gobful,the day they kicked 1.10.
                        Listening to the colourful language at the Barkly st end

• mighty_west
                          • Feb 2008

Myself, Flamethrower & the old man used to stand in the forward pocket, Barkly street end, and a Saturday arvo would never be complete without a walk way down the other end of the ground, waking under the coaches box, down to the scoreboard end, to grab a bag full of hot jam donuts that would never NOT ooze out hot jam on the front of he footscray jumper.

We always stood at the Geelong Road end and the standing areas had those stepped terraces. We stood on the top one.

Dad would drink his beer and each goal celebration would see him stagger down a step. If we won he would almost be over the fence by the end of the game.

• gohardorgohome

I used to love standing at the Geelong Road end with a few mates....

I remember one day when I went with four mates when we played North. Well North was well up during the third quarter and the North supporter with us went away for a while.

We presumed he was off with some other North supporters comparing each other’s body abnormalities.......

Anyway this guy was not back by half way during the last quarter so the remaining blokes in our group each put in a $5 bet at what minute mark are Kangaroos colleague would return.......before we knew it 10 other people who were standing around us also put $5 into the kitty ...........we ended up having 14 to 15 people with $70-80 riding on when this bloke would triumphantly return.........each finding another funny spin on the situation......

10 minutes after the game our mate had not returned so our group and the other people who we did not know before 3/4 time all headed to the Rising Sun Hotel for a post game discussion......

Footy was so much more fun and social at the old suburban grounds..........

Having said the I am not sure how my kids would like that type of stuff these days.

I also remember a group of ethnic fellas who used to love Duperouzel....they love a good Dupa, Dupa, Dupa chant whenever the handy veteran recruit got near the ball..

Fightback in 97 will forever be with me. Came down from Sydney for it. Also came down for last game vs Weagles. Gone dark before I finally left.
                                An earlier vivid memory, I knew how to get into scoreboard and had put a little stash in there of blanket, candles ciggies and matches. Just the place for a preteen boy to take a preteen girl for preteen romance.