Re: Round 20 Bulldogs vs Carlton- Match Preview and Discussion

Pretty excited. Not even going to go into best and worst, just knew we had it in the first ten mins. Go Dogs. Two new recruits next year in Higgins and Williams. I may be wrong about Austin. Go Dogs, pretty proud.
    Last edited by LostDoggy; 10-08-2013, 10:15 PM.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
      Dogs by 26
      Great call DR, I was pumped for this game and we delivered.

It's times like these I love being a Bulldog supporter. Stood at the cheer squad end in various places and when I was walking to the players race there were high fives and hugs from people I'd never seen before and probably will never see again. It's a great feeling and memories I'll keep for a long time.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
          May still lose this but wow, our turn around since the Melbourne and GWS games has been incredible.

I have to say, I'm really excited for the future.
          Maybe we should thank Melbourne for sticking the proverbial rocket up there.

Originally posted by Mantis
          Not sure if serious... Frees are favoring Carl 23-12.

I'm tracking scores from Fiji so I have no idea.
          Lucky bugger.

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
          Consistent games from Stringer, Hrovat, Talia, McCrae & Hunter will add to the team greatly next year.
          And Prudden, and Williams, and Higgins… and whomever we draft this year. GETTING EXCITED!

I love this part, these lean years where you watch a team come together. Those who jump on when we're playing finals have missed all the magic.

Judd really got them going in the third and when they drew level, I was really starting to worry. Just before the siren looked like he rolled his ankle.

Great last quarter, Griffen with 10 disposals was the difference and you could see the boys weren't going to let this one slip.

The Carlton supporters around us were whinging about free kicks and I kept yelling yeah double ours how many do you want.
          Every free Wallis gave away was fair dinkum. Reckon Murphy might fall pregnant with the next Wallis father-son recruit.

The rest was give and take.

The fans near me, except for my Carlton mate who is actually quite good, the others were atrocious. Spent the entire game ripping into their team, then when they drew level were calling them champions, one bloke called out “Let's show these pretenders!” Then when they fell away again because they didn't have the drive or hunger, or the men on the pine, they blamed the umpires.

Made Richmond look civilised.

Anyway, very excited about another scalp, the confidence in our group is sky high at the moment, we can match it with any team out there in terms of moxy.

• Bulldog Revolution

Originally posted by Dry Rot
            Not sure who they would play on Grant who could really trouble them.

Conclusion: If we play like last week we can definitely beat this scum, weakened by injuries. Unlike the Swans, Carlton are an uneven side which can be closed down by targeting a handful of players.

Dogs by 26
            Ok, Im only doing some highlights of your overall post, but this is a post that shows DR you are in great touch - doing the match report last week obviously agrees with you

I've been a harsh judge in the past (and a doubter), but Wallis' form has been supreme the last few weeks. Love that he's not only shutting out quality players AND finding the ball himself, but he's becoming a mongrel -- annoying the opposition, hitting them hard, niggling etc.

His 'transformation' has been fantastic.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
                I've been a harsh judge in the past (and a doubter), but Wallis' form has been supreme the last few weeks. Love that he's not only shutting out quality players AND finding the ball himself, but he's becoming a mongrel -- annoying the opposition, hitting them hard, niggling etc.

His 'transformation' has been fantastic.
                Last year against the Hawks, Macca had him follow Mitchell around as part of his learning.

At one stage he annoyed Mitchell so much, at the bounce of a ball, Mitchell turned around and punched Wallis in the face. Umpires missed it as did the cameras, so no reports. I think he is becoming that annoying player and upsetting a few - love it.

• Dry Rot

Fantastic stuff DR,! So accurate it was scary.
                  Originally posted by Bulldog Revolution
                  Ok, Im only doing some highlights of your overall post, but this is a post that shows DR you are in great touch - doing the match report last week obviously agrees with you

Thanks guys. I'm really chuffed that my quick preview off the top my head was bang on the mark. Will post next week's Lotto numbers tomorrow....

And for those who haven't done one and may feel a bit insecure or lack confidence about doing one - give it a go. It's good fun and makes you think.

• Dry Rot

Originally posted by Greystache
                    Great call DR, I was pumped for this game and we delivered.
                    I was shouting at the radio call on my iMac as we scored each goal. It's great to beat that filth, and it's even better to wander onto Carlton forums - they are not happy little vegemites.

One prick said how could we (Carlton) be beaten by bums (us) like them.

Well sonny, you not going to enjoy playing us next year, and the year after, and the year after....

• Ghost Dog
                      • May 2010

Originally posted by BornAScragger
                      Maybe we should thank Melbourne for sticking the proverbial rocket up there.
                      Made Richmond look civilised.

Anyway, very excited about another scalp, the confidence in our group is sky high at the moment, we can match it with any team out there in terms of moxy.
                      The Bronx cheering of players is, I'm proud to say, something I have not heard our supporters do. I think it's an absolute disgrace, given that most of us could not give 5% of what these blokes give for the sport. Belongs at other's clubs, thanks.

Such a great win yesterday. Really enjoyed it. I don't want to get too ahead of myself but in 2-3 years time will be finals bound.

• SonofScray
                          • Apr 2008

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                          The Bronx cheering of players is, I'm proud to say, something I have not heard our supporters do. I think it's an absolute disgrace, given that most of us could not give 5% of what these blokes give for the sport. Belongs at other's clubs, thanks.
                          Jones has copped it a fair bit over his young career. Not to a massive extent, but relative to crowd size etc its there. Shameful behaviour from fans.

• Scorlibo

Originally posted by SonofScray
                            Dogs by 24pts
                            BOG Grant
                            First goal Grant
                            That's the closest prediction I've ever seen on woof I think. Four points away from being bang on! Bravo!
                            'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

Originally posted by SonofScray
                              Jones has copped it a fair bit over his young career. Not to a massive extent, but relative to crowd size etc its there. Shameful behaviour from fans.
                              Same with Cordy and even Grant last year.

I have watched some of the replay today and I just loved watching Malthouse fuming

Interesting discussion on 774 today about how the panel think Malthouse has got it wrong with the players and the positions he is trying to play them in. Stan Alves said if you look at the two clubs over the past 12 months, there are big improvements in lots of the Doggies players whereas, there are only maybe two or three Carlton players that have improved under Mick.